Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 50mm- aperture ring

  1. #1

    Default 50mm- aperture ring

    Hi guys...firstly, happy new year 2006.
    i just got a 50mm prime (1.8) last year...but am unsure how to use it.
    my aperture ring has to be locked at "22" if lowered, my camera is unable to take any pictures.i see the words"fEE" appearing on my cam....any idea why?
    i read from some where that the changing of aperture on new lens has to be from the dslr itself and not on the lens....

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Singapore land
    Posts
    176

    Default Re: 50mm- aperture ring

    Quote Originally Posted by seanlim
    Hi guys...firstly, happy new year 2006.
    i just got a 50mm prime (1.8) last year...but am unsure how to use it.
    my aperture ring has to be locked at "22" if lowered, my camera is unable to take any pictures.i see the words"fEE" appearing on my cam....any idea why?
    i read from some where that the changing of aperture on new lens has to be from the dslr itself and not on the lens....
    For most of the slr camera with autofocus has to change the aperture setting from the camera itself, you do so mostly by adjusting a dial on the slr body, the aperture ring on the lense has to be set to the minimum setting, this has mostly due to the construction of the dslr aperture prong, it has to work with the spring on the lense to spring return it back to minimum setting. So inorder to use the lense on the DSLR body always turn it to the smallest aperture or in your case is f22 then you will be able to set the aperture setting through the camera dial.

    Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Moderator Francis247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Hougang, Punggol
    Posts
    6,627

    Default Re: 50mm- aperture ring

    Quote Originally Posted by seanlim
    Hi guys...firstly, happy new year 2006.
    i just got a 50mm prime (1.8) last year...but am unsure how to use it.
    my aperture ring has to be locked at "22" if lowered, my camera is unable to take any pictures.i see the words"fEE" appearing on my cam....any idea why?
    i read from some where that the changing of aperture on new lens has to be from the dslr itself and not on the lens....
    Yap, you need to lock the aperature ring at the smallest aperature and you need to use the dial (or sub-command dial for D70/70s) to change the aperature.

    I think the aperature ring is more for SLR with manual focus.
    莫问前程有愧,只求今生无悔. Time pasts, Places changed, Beauty faded, what is left are Photos of Memories…

  4. #4

    Default Re: 50mm- aperture ring

    oh..thanks guys..still thought something wrong with lens..heehee

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Singapore, CanonGraphers.org
    Posts
    3,157

    Default Re: 50mm- aperture ring

    Quote Originally Posted by seanlim
    oh..thanks guys..still thought something wrong with lens..heehee
    Hmm..nvr RTFM again?

  6. #6
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: 50mm- aperture ring

    Quote Originally Posted by Francis247
    Yap, you need to lock the aperature ring at the smallest aperature and you need to use the dial (or sub-command dial for D70/70s) to change the aperature.

    I think the aperature ring is more for SLR with manual focus.
    Len with a aperature ring is design for using on older SLR, AF camera like F4, F90X etc, of couse also usable on MF cameras like F3, FM2, FM3A etc, modern SLR and DSLR are using cub command dial to set aperature, so has to be disable the function of apreture ring by locking it at min f-stop, if the lens is not a G lens (with aperature ring).

  7. #7
    Moderator Francis247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Hougang, Punggol
    Posts
    6,627

    Default Re: 50mm- aperture ring

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights
    Len with a aperature ring is design for using on older SLR, AF camera like F4, F90X etc, of couse also usable on MF cameras like F3, FM2, FM3A etc, modern SLR and DSLR are using cub command dial to set aperature, so has to be disable the function of apreture ring by locking it at min f-stop, if the lens is not a G lens (with aperature ring).
    Hi catchlights,

    Thanks for clarifying.
    莫问前程有愧,只求今生无悔. Time pasts, Places changed, Beauty faded, what is left are Photos of Memories…

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •