Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Partial Metering

  1. #1

    Default Partial Metering

    Hi guys,

    Can I check with u guys, when i use partial metering, which focusing point does it use to evaluate the surround ar? Is it the focusing point which u have set to example [ -] then the evaluation will take the right?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Beyond Space-Time Continuum
    Posts
    6,324

    Default Re: Partial Metering

    depending on which focussing pt you have selected.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Partial Metering

    Icic, Let say i have locked the exposures, then i reposition my view a bit, will it change the exposures that i have locked?

    I heard in some mode you can't lock the Exposures.

  4. #4
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default Re: Partial Metering

    Quote Originally Posted by bcad84
    Icic, Let say i have locked the exposures, then i reposition my view a bit, will it change the exposures that i have locked?

    I heard in some mode you can't lock the Exposures.
    If you have locked your exposure, how will repositioning your view change the exposure when it's locked?

    I don't know about you, but I'm able to lock exposure on P A S M modes.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Partial Metering

    Icic thanks... i try again...

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Bt Batok
    Posts
    768

    Default Re: Partial Metering

    use the afl/ael button instead of holding down the half-press, it only locks focus not exp

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    In the Shepherd's hands
    Posts
    690

    Default Re: Partial Metering

    if you're using canon partial metering, metering should be based on the centre circle no matter which af point is selected. check your camera manual.

    I heard in some mode you can't lock the Exposures
    yes, check manual... the idiotproof modes on some cameras won't allow AE-lock
    Last edited by d7t3; 30th December 2005 at 04:59 PM.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Partial Metering

    okay a newbie question here. Why use an AE-lock instead of letting the camera decide your exposure? so you'd constantly get the same amount of light for like a series of portrait? i'm very curious how to take advantage of this function cos its always found in the most convenient placements on the camera.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    223

    Default Re: Partial Metering

    Quote Originally Posted by antitrust
    okay a newbie question here. Why use an AE-lock instead of letting the camera decide your exposure? so you'd constantly get the same amount of light for like a series of portrait? i'm very curious how to take advantage of this function cos its always found in the most convenient placements on the camera.
    Well sometimes indeed you can just let the cam decide your exposure, but that's the case when lighting throughout the entire picture is more or less the same. ie flat lighting.

    However most of the times this is not the case. Take for example you have one part of the picture very bright and one part very dark. The bright part is your main subject but it happens that it's at one corner of the picture, and the centre is mainly quite dark. If you simply meter straight with your camera your camera will try to compensate for the dark area. What do you get? A correctly exposed middle portion but your subject (the bright area) will be blown out.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Partial Metering

    Quote Originally Posted by ronnie_sjr
    Well sometimes indeed you can just let the cam decide your exposure, but that's the case when lighting throughout the entire picture is more or less the same. ie flat lighting.

    However most of the times this is not the case. Take for example you have one part of the picture very bright and one part very dark. The bright part is your main subject but it happens that it's at one corner of the picture, and the centre is mainly quite dark. If you simply meter straight with your camera your camera will try to compensate for the dark area. What do you get? A correctly exposed middle portion but your subject (the bright area) will be blown out.
    ah okay. i think i'm getting what you mean.

    so what i can do is that i can zoom in on the subject, meter, AE-lock, zoom out, and snap? so that my subject will be correct exposed?

    its more for what they would call a tricky light situation right?

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    In the Shepherd's hands
    Posts
    690

    Default Re: Partial Metering

    use AE lock when you think the lighting in the scene may fool your camera's auto exposure. after all, the camera aims to avoid extreme dark or bright results (simplistically speaking). it doesn't know what it's being pointed at. you, however, can choose a suitable spot (perhaps not even in the scene) as a reference for exposure, if the scene contains "extreme" lighting.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •