Thread: Telezoom Lens for Wildlife?

Default Telezoom Lens for Wildlife?

Hey all! Im rather new to DSLR Photography, and now I'm trying to figure out which lens to get, especially for wildlife photography..

Right now, I'm mostly considering the
    1. Tamron 18-400mm for a rather diverse range, and so I can bring just one lens overseas. Also, this is about half the price and weight of the other 2 lenses, meaning I could have slightly more money for a better tripod/bag/etc.

2. Tamron 150-600mm G1, which would mean a further range, but would require bringing one more lens overseas ie. Nikon 18-140

3. Sigma 150-600mm C, which may (?) produce a sharper picture than the Tamron at a slightly higher price.

Honestly, I'm not sure if the bringing of 2 lenses may be a factor to compare, but it's there too..
    I'm trying to get the lens to bring to my trip to Australia this year end, so I could get some really clear images of the wildlife there..

If there are any other lenses I may have missed, do suggest it? Thanks a lot!

(Note: I'm currently using a D7200 with the 18-140mm kit lens provided, handheld)
    Last edited by tyubhunhg; 24th August 2017 at 11:37 PM.

Default Re: Telezoom Lens for Wildlife?

Since you already have the D7200 and 18-140, just get either of the zooms. I personally like the Sigma 150-600C better and the 150-600S even more. Try the used shops at Peninsula Shopping Centre/Adelphi area to see if any has these zooms, and save some money for maybe a decent tripod.

get the 200-400mm f4. you wont regret it.
    09 Oct 09 officially marks the date I become a canon convert.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by tyubhunhg View Post
    Hey all! Im rather new to DSLR Photography, and now I'm trying to figure out which lens to get, especially for wildlife photography..

Right now, I'm mostly considering the