Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

  1. #1

    Default Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    Hey guys!
    I will be going Korea tomorrow,just wanna ask whether my non-3G phone i.e Nokia 6100 can be used there...
    Heard from some that only 3G phones can be used.
    Can anyone share their experiences?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    Quote Originally Posted by RtOaNn
    Hey guys!
    I will be going Korea tomorrow,just wanna ask whether my non-3G phone i.e Nokia 6100 can be used there...
    Heard from some that only 3G phones can be used.
    Can anyone share their experiences?
    Nope on 2G n nope on 3G =( U need a loan CDMA set from your provider to go roam to korea, the GSM sets we're using in SG doesnt work in korea.

    Would suggest u contact ur provider ASAP to see if they can get u a loan set by molo hehe also loan sets cant SMS.

    Hope it helps hehe n gd luck on ur trip!

  3. #3

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    Quote Originally Posted by RtOaNn
    Hey guys!
    I will be going Korea tomorrow,just wanna ask whether my non-3G phone i.e Nokia 6100 can be used there...
    Heard from some that only 3G phones can be used.
    Can anyone share their experiences?
    no

    u must use 3G phone

  4. #4

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    I asked Singtel before and they said Nokia N70 will be able to work there. Anyone tried?

  5. #5
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    Quote Originally Posted by gremlin
    I asked Singtel before and they said Nokia N70 will be able to work there. Anyone tried?
    Yo dude, LTNS!

    N70 is a 3G phone and to use it requires a 3G card, therefore, confirm can work in Korea

  6. #6

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    Quote Originally Posted by espn
    Yo dude, LTNS!

    N70 is a 3G phone and to use it requires a 3G card, therefore, confirm can work in Korea
    Heh, yup LTNS

    Erm, the thing is, the singtel dude told me its ok to use a 2G card on the N70. Still can use in korea. But not many people can confirm this... so just wondering.. hehe

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Jurong Lake District - West
    Posts
    897

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    Quote Originally Posted by gremlin
    Heh, yup LTNS

    Erm, the thing is, the singtel dude told me its ok to use a 2G card on the N70. Still can use in korea. But not many people can confirm this... so just wondering.. hehe
    Tell the Singtel guy to fly kite.

    3G phone + 2G card cannot use in Korea coz Korea uses CDMA and 3G network.

    2G card uses 2G network and NOT available in Korea

  8. #8
    Senior Member wrx_sti_22b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Compassvale Lane
    Posts
    4,952

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    If i have a PDA phone tat cliams to be quad band. And the advertisement says can use in anywhere in the world, so does it do CDMA also? Doesn't right? Coz Quad band only means all the different type of GSM net work, once it's CDMA, means it's not the GSM type of system... am i right?
    From Pentax to 4/3, back to Pentax and then back to M4/3 !?!?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Jurong Lake District - West
    Posts
    897

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    Quote Originally Posted by wrx_sti_22b
    If i have a PDA phone tat cliams to be quad band. And the advertisement says can use in anywhere in the world, so does it do CDMA also? Doesn't right? Coz Quad band only means all the different type of GSM net work, once it's CDMA, means it's not the GSM type of system... am i right?
    but then u need the sim card that supports quad band network as well

  10. #10

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    Dun think the 3G phone here can work in Korea, when u arrived in Incheon just go to KT or the other telco booth to rent a cell phone... much cheaper and better to use... ^^

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    Quote Originally Posted by wrx_sti_22b
    If i have a PDA phone tat cliams to be quad band. And the advertisement says can use in anywhere in the world, so does it do CDMA also? Doesn't right? Coz Quad band only means all the different type of GSM net work, once it's CDMA, means it's not the GSM type of system... am i right?
    Quad band? Check up the specs and see whether its:
    GSM800, GSM900, GSM1800, GSM1900

    If it is, u are out of luck. GSM, CDMA, UTMS do not talk well to each other.
    Dun be deceived by the words 'quad-band'. I can advertise it as "100-band" phone and claim that u can use it anywhere in the world. But unless its a satellite phone or a UTMS/GSM compatible phone, u are out of luck in Japan & South Korea.

    Sales talk like these really screw the mind out.
    Last edited by jsbn; 26th December 2005 at 06:26 AM.
    "Wonders of the Human Mind. Unfathomable to the highest degree."

  12. #12
    Senior Member Canew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    2,229

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    Quote Originally Posted by espn
    Yo dude, LTNS!
    Sorry guys (OT), but what's 'LTNS'?

  13. #13

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    Quote Originally Posted by espn
    Yo dude, LTNS!

    N70 is a 3G phone and to use it requires a 3G card, therefore, confirm can work in Korea
    LTNS = long time no see.

    espn's info is correct. Tried and tested in Japan.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    So far I never heard anyone use his/her SG phone in Korea or Japan.
    But you can loan a phone from service provider to use in these two countries. Proven in Japan with handset from Starhub...

  15. #15

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    Btw, you can retain your SG phone number with the loan handset....meaning people can still reach you with your existing SG number without dialing any IDD number, calling from SG. I guess the service provider is doing some sort of call forwarding...

  16. #16

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    the rented handset can still SMS right?
    anyone knows the charges?

  17. #17
    Senior Member Canew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    2,229

    Default Re: Can i use my 2G handphone in Korea?

    Quote Originally Posted by melnjes
    LTNS = long time no see.
    melnjes, thanks.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •