Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: scanning negatives with flatbed scanner?

  1. #1

    Default scanning negatives with flatbed scanner?

    is it possible?

    i put some negative on my flatbed scanner and nothing really came out of it. the colours were still, well, negative. and the details were lacking severely. i,e. in a portrait shot, all i could see and make out were just the outline of the body, no eyes, no ears, no mouth.

    i've read that some people were able to do it. my dpi was quite high already. my scanner is hp all in one psc1350.

  2. #2
    Senior Member sammy888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    1,568

    Default Re: scanning negatives with flatbed scanner?

    That is because your "all in one" HP unit is not really an "all in one" hehehe...meaning it lacks the device and mechanism to do NEGATIVE and SLIDE Scanning. That is why you are getting all those dark impressions and other negative results.

    A average-ly "good" quality negative or slide scanner that only does scanning will already cost you about S$1,800+ and upwards from brands like Nikon. If you are looking for quality, an "all in one" wonder device will not make it and where near possible.

    A good flat bed that does allow some kind of low quality scanning of negative or slides will have either built in or you need to buy as an attachment..a kind of back light device. You can't scan a slide or negative from the front like your typical scanner. It has to be backlit from the back of the film toward the capturing sensor of the scanner. And due to its size, the scanning is done in micro sizes. There are a few of those in the market that is cheap but usually are a huge waste of money. To really get it done right, you need to be sending it in to some pro shop to do it cheaply if you can;t spare the funds to buy a dedicated table top scanner like a Coolscan from Nikon...if not get ready to spend abit more on getting one if you are using it alot and am serious about quality.

    Personally I would not even waste my money on any "all in one" machine for printing or scanning or faxinf or photcopying or access my CFs heheh.. My company boght so many units all these years and they keep spoiling easily..if one part spolit..the whole thing is about junk. I have 6 units sitting in my store as evidence of how bad they are. Canon and HP are the worst culprits when it comes to longevity usage heheh...sorry to say.
    Last edited by sammy888; 23rd December 2005 at 02:43 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    3,287

    Default Re: scanning negatives with flatbed scanner?

    What did you expect? You just cannot use any scanner and scan your negatives. You need a proper film scanner.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    2,522

    Default Re: scanning negatives with flatbed scanner?

    I have done B&W neg with normal scanning, meaning without special hardware attachment, on my canoscan lide 80. I think B&W neg can be scanned in any generic scanner (scan in greyscale, then inverted and adjusted in PS), but do not expect images to come out excellent/good. It works for those who aren't fussy.

    Slide scanning definitely needs a backlight. For colour neg, u must have the software to convert the negative + orangy colour cast into positive. I've found a couple of 3rd party vendors on the web that does that, maybe u can try it out and post some results for analysis.

    http://www.softpedia.com/get/Multime...yDevelop.shtml
    http://www.topshareware.com/PCFoto-download-13962.htm

    more info; kodak photo cd:
    http://tedfelix.com/Photography/ColorNegative.html
    http://tedfelix.com/PhotoCD/PCDBasics.html

    dealing with orange colour cast:
    http://www.scantips.com/basics12c.html
    http://www.acecam.com/photography/3393.html
    Last edited by foxtwo; 23rd December 2005 at 03:38 PM.

  5. #5

    Default Re: scanning negatives with flatbed scanner?

    My all in one Epson has built in capabilities to scan negatives and slides, so they arent all that bad. But of coz...its only for less-fussy users.
    D300s D200 350D | N18-200VRII N18-70 N50 TK12-24 S70-300 TR18-200

  6. #6

    Default Re: scanning negatives with flatbed scanner?

    Quote Originally Posted by jbma
    What did you expect? You just cannot use any scanner and scan your negatives. You need a proper film scanner.
    chill dude. just checking out.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    sing
    Posts
    3,353

    Default Re: scanning negatives with flatbed scanner?

    my epson can do it
    too lazy to try
    if one day do it, upload for you to check out

  8. #8
    Member patch17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    here and there
    Posts
    728

    Default Re: scanning negatives with flatbed scanner?

    it can be done with b&w negatives. i used photoshop to adjust the levels and curves before inverting. here's a couple of samples done with my old HP scanner. you can get quite surprising effects.





    shot on ilford Delta 400
    Today is a gift; that's why it's called the present.
    The toys

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •