Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 10th December 2005   #1
soma

Default Urgently need to check out this lens

Hi ppls,
Good morning, going to decide on this two lens today. Was suppose to purchase 80-200mm Nikkor f2.8 yestersday until i try out the sigma 100-300mm f4. Both are around the same price.

After trying out i find the 100-300 is also a very sharp lens.

Check the comment on this lens and the feedback is great too.

got offer for grey set nikkor f2.8 80-200 for $1450 incl. GST

which should i get. all opinion will be greatly appreciated.
Old 10th December 2005   #2
espn

Default Re: Urgently need to check out this lens

80-200 f/2.8 2nd hand $1.2k, new is 1.6K. Grey set don't look enticing.

I would go for the Nikkor.
Old 10th December 2005   #3
roti_prata

put on a tc1.4 and u can still get 100-300f/4. take off the tc u get a f/2.8 tele.
Sponsored Link
Old 10th December 2005   #4
wiz23

Oh man, this is a tough decision ... I've not tried the sigma 100-300 before, but I liked my cousin's 80-200 f2.8 when I borrowed from him some weeks back. Sharp piece of glass

As u said, the fast f stop of the 80-200 is good to have ... If u don't need the extra reach of the 100-300, then go for the Nikkor
Old 10th December 2005   #5
F5user

Nikkor 80-200 2.8

I've personally been using that lens to "tan-jiak" for almost er.... 15 + years, from the manual ones to the push-pull af ones, and now the 2 touch af-d ones.

shiok shiok piece of glass.. sharp as a tack, and is much much more durable than the 70-200 VR.

Try to avoid the grey sets... the new one's arond 1.6 k,but it comes with a 5 yr warrenty.

Old 10th December 2005   #6
behyx

yes, get the Nikkor.
Old 10th December 2005   #7
ricohflex

i do not have both lenses
i thought no contest
Old 10th December 2005   #8
smallaperture

Originally Posted by roti_prata
put on a tc1.4 and u can still get 100-300f/4. take off the tc u get a f/2.8 tele.
Yes, yes, I have been doing that for quite a while. Only thing is that with the TC, it is a tad slow for sports. Few months back, used the combo for the Powerboats and then, later for the wakeboard as well. Pic quality good inuf for me.

With the Sigma, you get HSM, but then, it's a Sigma, not a Nikkor.

The Nikkor is a hell of a solid piece of glass - readily last you a good 10 years especially for an amateur. Dunno for a pro.
Old 11th December 2005   #9
F5user

Originally Posted by smallaperture
Yes, yes, I have been doing that for quite a while. Only thing is that with the TC, it is a tad slow for sports. Few months back, used the combo for the Powerboats and then, later for the wakeboard as well. Pic quality good inuf for me.

With the Sigma, you get HSM, but then, it's a Sigma, not a Nikkor.

The Nikkor is a hell of a solid piece of glass - readily last you a good 10 years especially for an amateur. Dunno for a pro.
My pushpull version of the 80-200 i think more than 10 years liao... metal parts worn out until like the green old m16s you use at range, but still functioning with images as sharp as the day i first owned it.
Old 11th December 2005   #10
zoossh

Originally Posted by F5user
Try to avoid the grey sets... the new one's arond 1.6 k,but it comes with a 5 yr warrenty.

i kept seeing the lenses comes with "grey" sets. what is meant by grey sets? the cover is grey in color or does it mean something else?

sorry, i'm not familiar with some of the terminology.
Old 11th December 2005   #11
TMC

parallel import, not warrantied by the maker itself but by the shop.
Old 11th December 2005   #12
erictan8888

dun know about the sigma, but if the 80-200 is the same glass as the 70-200vr minus the VR, then get the nikkor.....

it is not sharp, it is VERY sharp..... and f2.8 is just fantastic....
Old 11th December 2005   #13
roti_prata

Originally Posted by erictan8888
dun know about the sigma, but if the 80-200 is the same glass as the 70-200vr minus the VR, then get the nikkor.....

it is not sharp, it is VERY sharp..... and f2.8 is just fantastic....
and the afd does not flair as much as the 21/15 vr lens
Old 11th December 2005   #14
donchua

I settled down with Nikkor after going a round..
So get Nikkor!!
Old 11th December 2005   #15
mohgui

confirm get Nikkor. can never go wrong.
Old 11th December 2005   #16
espn

Originally Posted by roti_prata
and the afd does not flair as much as the 21/15 vr lens
Pro comment sia...
Old 11th December 2005   #17
kegler

i only use the 80-200afd before.... only problem is focusing slow at low light.... think might be me or the body im using.... hee... other than that i love this lense.... like the finishing n builts and blah blah... alot better than sigma in terms of built
Old 11th December 2005   #18
soma

seem like the answer are in flavour of the nikkor lens.
lots of expert advice should not be wrong..

TAL ppls..
Old 11th December 2005   #19
Voyage

I have the nikon 80-200mm n its dame sharp, by the way I'm up grading u can get good price 2nd hand from me, two touch 1.1k
Old 11th December 2005   #20
TMC

get it get it get it!!!
Closed Thread