Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 9th December 2005   #1
infusia

Default Advise: 28-300mm or 70-300mm??

Hi guys,

newbie of D50. been using it for awhile now. find that the kit lens dosen't zoom as much and macro shots are pretty difficult at 55mm.

didn't wan to get the $199 55-200mm as i read alot of bad reviews about it.
So am considering the Sigma 28-300mmF3.5-6.3 DG Macro or the Sigma APO 70-300mm F4-5.6 DG Macro.

The 28-300 has a "zoom" factor of 1:10.7 and macro at 1:3(min 50cm)
The 70-300 has a "zoom" factor of about 1:10 and macro at 1:2(min 150cm) and macro 1:2.3-1:2(min 95cm) for 200-300mm

i pretty much decided on the 70-300 APO but i need some comments.
Finally do i really need to cover the range between the missing range?
My kit lens is 18-55mm giving me good wide at 18mm but if i get the sigma 70-300, i missed out some range on the 60mm. Is it important?

Thanks to all in advance
Old 9th December 2005   #2
espn

Default Re: Advise: 28-300mm or 70-300mm??

Neither, get 70-200VR.
Old 9th December 2005   #3
infusia

i know that is good! but but but... very ex ar!
no moonies already... the sigma fits my budget and needs though
sigh dilemma...
Sponsored Link
Old 9th December 2005   #4
espn

Originally Posted by infusia
i know that is good! but but but... very ex ar!
no moonies already... the sigma fits my budget and needs though
sigh dilemma...
Problem is... after a while you itch again... then u sooner later end up with 70-200VR. Might as well one shot... get over the pain
Old 9th December 2005   #5
kitkat

Hi guys,

i pretty much decided on the 70-300 APO but i need some comments.
Finally do i really need to cover the range between the missing range?
My kit lens is 18-55mm giving me good wide at 18mm but if i get the sigma 70-300, i missed out some range on the 60mm. Is it important?

Thanks to all in advance
I have no problem with the 70-300 sigma , using it for over a year and no regrets. It is value for money.
Old 9th December 2005   #6
infusia

Originally Posted by espn
Problem is... after a while you itch again... then u sooner later end up with 70-200VR. Might as well one shot... get over the pain
i agree lah... but i read the min focus range is 50cm on the entire thread
but.. no macro? i'm more towards macro leh... the VR is nice and very "poisonous"
but if i take mostly daytime outdoor pics, i dun really need VR right?
even at the max focus length

Old 9th December 2005   #7
espn

i agree lah... but i read the min focus range is 50cm on the entire thread
but.. no macro? i'm more towards macro leh... the VR is nice and very "poisonous"
but if i take mostly daytime outdoor pics, i dun really need VR right?
even at the max focus length

Eh... 70-200VR min focusing distance is 1.5M. Not 50cm

Aiyoh... VR is good... outdoor indoor all can use...
Old 9th December 2005   #8
infusia

Originally Posted by kitkat
I have no problem with the 70-300 sigma , using it for over a year and no regrets. It is value for money.
glad to hear that. but is this lens consider "old"??
my plan is to keep the kit lens, get a telephoto zoom lens and finally maybe a wide lens to complete the "package"
Old 9th December 2005   #9
infusia

Eh... 70-200VR min focusing distance is 1.5M. Not 50cm

Aiyoh... VR is good... outdoor indoor all can use...
eh? i just read from the nikon site leh
it states "Enables focusing from as close as 50cm (20 in.) from the subject through its entire focal range"

u very poisonous ar!!!
din hit me with ur famous BUY BUY BUY!!!
Old 9th December 2005   #10
espn

it states "Enables focusing from as close as 50cm (20 in.) from the subject through its entire focal range"

u very poisonous ar!!!
http://www.nikon.com.sg/PRODUCT/LENS...M-70-200mm.htm <- 1.4 if MF, AF is 1.5

Slow and steady... I poison you ma...
Old 9th December 2005   #11
kitkat

glad to hear that. but is this lens consider "old"??
my plan is to keep the kit lens, get a telephoto zoom lens and finally maybe a wide lens to complete the "package"

"old" ?? I do not understand the qns. I am still using it, not really bother if the equipment is new or old (as long usable).

It is a good telephoto lens (if I am lazy to carry the 70-200VR). I like it because it is light weight for that range and relatively sharp.

Use it freq for family outing and travelling.
Old 9th December 2005   #12
kitkat

u very poisonous ar!!!

Ya , very potent (i got infected) ... once u see it u will be infuse with the

BUY BUY BUY virus

Last edited by kitkat; 9th December 2005 at 11:21 AM.
Old 9th December 2005   #13
markccm

u very poisonous ar!!!

!!! BUY BUY BUY !!!
Old 9th December 2005   #14
espn

Ya , very potent (i got infected) ... once u see it u will be infuse with the

[BOLD]BUY BUY BUY [/BOLD] virus
There is no known cure...
Old 9th December 2005   #15
infusia

http://www.nikon.com.sg/PRODUCT/LENS...M-70-200mm.htm <- 1.4 if MF, AF is 1.5

Slow and steady... I poison you ma...
ah!! pai seh pai seh
i see wrong.. i was looking at this http://www.nikon.com.sg/PRODUCT/LENS...M-18-200mm.htm

is the above good also?
Old 9th December 2005   #16
markccm

says who???

To ease the pain is to kill the brain.
*i can help ease the pain *
Old 9th December 2005   #17
JediForce4ever

there is..after you finishing buying everything
Old 9th December 2005   #18
infusia

"old" ?? I do not understand the qns. I am still using it, not really bother if the equipment is new or old (as long usable).

It is a good telephoto lens (if I am lazy to carry the 70-200VR). I like it because it is light weight for that range and relatively sharp.

old as in u say 1 yr already mah
then has anything overtaken it or something like that?
cos technology moves damn fast...
Old 9th December 2005   #19
espn

ah!! pai seh pai seh
i see wrong.. i was looking at this http://www.nikon.com.sg/PRODUCT/LENS...M-18-200mm.htm

is the above good also?
It is very very very good.

BUY BUY BUY!!
Old 9th December 2005   #20
infusia

old as in u say 1 yr already mah
then has anything overtaken it or something like that?
cos technology moves damn fast...
Closed Thread