Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Anyone tried on Sensor Brush?

  1. #1

    Default Anyone tried on Sensor Brush?

    hi,

    Came across this thread:

    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthrea...ht=visibledust

    Got some heavy dust in my sensor, cant decide whether to send for cleaning (at $20) or DIY?
    Any comments from the users on the above products? Care to share experience?
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Bukit Panjang
    Posts
    2,940

    Default Re: Anyone tried on Sensor Brush?

    If it's your first time DIY, I'd advise u to find a friend who has experience to show u once

    I have ordered a set of visible dust brushes & sensor SD from David. Will feedback on the quality & ease of use once I get it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,881

    Default Re: Anyone tried on Sensor Brush?

    Used it so far no complaints. Actually remove dust from the sensor.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Anyone tried on Sensor Brush?

    works alrite for me. Doesn't completely lift everything off, but it's much better than trying to blow dust off with a blower

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    sing
    Posts
    3,353

    Default Re: Anyone tried on Sensor Brush?

    will it void the warranty if you tried the brush and it damaged the sensor?

    will brush become dirty and ADD more dirt to the sensor instead of cleaning it?

  6. #6

    Default Re: Anyone tried on Sensor Brush?

    if blow has no effect, service centre is the next choice.

    sensor is quite fragile...

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    東京 Tokyo
    Posts
    10,193

    Default Re: Anyone tried on Sensor Brush?

    the sensor is actually not that fragile.

    if there's still warranty, send it for cleaning at the service centre.

    if there's no more warranty, D.I.Y. cleaning is alright, i even know of people who use 3M tape to stick the dust out of the sensor.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Bt. Timah
    Posts
    1,354

    Default Re: Anyone tried on Sensor Brush?

    Quote Originally Posted by ricohflex
    will it void the warranty if you tried the brush and it damaged the sensor?

    will brush become dirty and ADD more dirt to the sensor instead of cleaning it?

    It won't void the warranty, but they probably won't repair it for you even though your camera is under warranty. It's your fault if you damage the sensor when cleaning, not theirs. Its the same as dropping your camera.

    Yes the brush can add dirt to the sensor if its dirty.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    sing
    Posts
    3,353

    Default Re: Anyone tried on Sensor Brush?

    Quote Originally Posted by eikin
    i even know of people who use 3M tape to stick the dust out of the sensor.

    no kidding

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    東京 Tokyo
    Posts
    10,193

    Default Re: Anyone tried on Sensor Brush?

    Quote Originally Posted by ricohflex
    no kidding
    no kidding. not at all.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Anyone tried on Sensor Brush?

    tried on fren's cam seem useless...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Anyone tried on Sensor Brush?

    Quote Originally Posted by eikin
    the sensor is actually not that fragile.

    if there's still warranty, send it for cleaning at the service centre.

    if there's no more warranty, D.I.Y. cleaning is alright, i even know of people who use 3M tape to stick the dust out of the sensor.
    sensor dust cleaning is not covered, even your cam still under warranty.
    besides the brush from visibledust (that cost ~$100 for one nylon brush), any cheaper ones(or course effective alternatives lah, not referring to painting brush and stuff) available?

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Woodlands, Singapore
    Posts
    239

    Default Re: Anyone tried on Sensor Brush?

    I have used the sensor brush and here is my recommendation: Don't use canned air. I have tried it. The air that comes out is very cold and in our humid tropical environment condensation occurs. So you may be blowing wet cold air at the sensor brush. You will also notice the entire can will become wet if you keep depressing the button for about 10 seconds because the temperature of the can will drop as air escapes. I think canned air could only be used in a dry air-conditioned room or in temperate climates.

    So to be on the safe side, use a handheld squeeze blower. Again I think it will be more effective if you do the blowing in a dry environment where the brush filaments will have a chance to charge up.

    Just my two cents.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •