Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Photo Galleries > Street and Candids

Street and Candids Fleeting moments of everyday life captured ...

Old 2nd December 2005   #1
foxtwo

Default Johnston Street Fiesta

The Hispanic-Latin American Festival in Melbourne that has people dancing in the streets.

Provia 100F cross-processed in C-41, adjusted in PS
Holga 6x4.5

Old 2nd December 2005   #2
foxtwo

Default Re: Johnston Street Fiesta

Old 2nd December 2005   #3
khairi

interesting event...sadly overexposed here and there.
Old 2nd December 2005   #4
foxtwo

Originally Posted by khairi
interesting event...sadly overexposed here and there.
nah not sad lah. I enjoyed the event and atmosphere more than i enjoyed shooting it. hahaha
Old 2nd December 2005   #5
zaren

the x-processed colours, costumes and vignetting really give a nice old world feel for pics 1-3 especially. were the pieces of lint and dust on ur lens intentional, or were they on ur film scanner?
Old 2nd December 2005   #6
fisheye

brrrrrriiiiiilliant lah.
Old 2nd December 2005   #7
zaren

Originally Posted by fisheye
brrrrrriiiiiilliant lah.
of cos its brilliant....foxtwo has reached a higher photographic plane now...
Old 2nd December 2005   #8
ndroo

Originally Posted by zaren
Yes! Yes! I second and third and fourth that!!
Old 2nd December 2005   #9
bja

interesting stuff! i always liked cross processing.... like the oldish and grainy feel that it gives as well.....

cross processing always over exposes stuff so dun worry abt the overexposure..
Old 2nd December 2005   #10
ordinaryless

the colour cast adds a nice touch to the event...

i like!
Old 2nd December 2005   #11
foxtwo

the x-processed colours, costumes and vignetting really give a nice old world feel for pics 1-3 especially. were the pieces of lint and dust on ur lens intentional, or were they on ur film scanner?
hahah. thx zaren. Yup from the film scanner, it makes the pictures look old so i left them there.
Old 2nd December 2005   #12
foxtwo

dun lah....

i shy
Old 2nd December 2005   #13
foxtwo

thx everyone else, it's my first time x-processing. e6 to c-41, i was quite surprised at the amount of PS work to do. Have to try c-41 to e6 next time.
Old 3rd December 2005   #14
Ben1223

Hi. Which labs are willing to cross process?
Old 3rd December 2005   #15
foxtwo

Originally Posted by Ben1223
Hi. Which labs are willing to cross process?
You should do a search, i remember many have asked this before. I did not do my x-processing in s'pore.
Old 6th December 2005   #16
The_Cheat

Hi foxtwo, nice photos you have there. The cross-processed shots really showcased something different for a change in CS.

Having said that however, I have a deep suspicion that you are not comfortable with your camera yet. See, the thing is when shots have certain effects to awe people, be it via gum processed, sepia, b&w, IR or long-exposure, a viewer tend to be more forgiving to the fundamentals of photography. Honestly speaking, as a photographer, are you genuinely proud of your composition for the first three shots?

I still think that the holga is a nice shoot-in-the-face kind of camera. Just hyper-focus it, and heck care whether the subject is in focus or not. The glass (or rather, the plastic) wouldn't give you a crisp sharp image anyway, even if it is aligned directly within the focus range. Besides, the blurness of the camera is more like the trademark than anything, and added with nice effects, your images would scale greater heights. It's precisely these sentiments that I personally felt that #04 and #06 are better than the much sharper #05, though I still have some reservations with regards to the composition.

Nonetheless, it's great to see you willing to go near to a subject and shoot. Always felt that you were a bit too cautious in the past. Great job!
Old 6th December 2005   #17
foxtwo

Originally Posted by The_Cheat
Hi foxtwo, nice photos you have there. The cross-processed shots really showcased something different for a change in CS.

Having said that however, I have a deep suspicion that you are not comfortable with your camera yet. See, the thing is when shots have certain effects to awe people, be it via gum processed, sepia, b&w, IR or long-exposure, a viewer tend to be more forgiving to the fundamentals of photography. Honestly speaking, as a photographer, are you genuinely proud of your composition for the first three shots?

I still think that the holga is a nice shoot-in-the-face kind of camera. Just hyper-focus it, and heck care whether the subject is in focus or not. The glass (or rather, the plastic) wouldn't give you a crisp sharp image anyway, even if it is aligned directly within the focus range. Besides, the blurness of the camera is more like the trademark than anything, and added with nice effects, your images would scale greater heights. It's precisely these sentiments that I personally felt that #04 and #06 are better than the much sharper #05, though I still have some reservations with regards to the composition.

Nonetheless, it's great to see you willing to go near to a subject and shoot. Always felt that you were a bit too cautious in the past. Great job!
Hey cheat, nice to see ya around. Haven't seen your pics in a while leh, or your cameras in fact. I think I prefer to see your cameras, especially that LF.

Hmm... I view photography from my Holga as adventurist experimental. I don't want to impose the same restrictions I do with my other work, hey, you've seen how i shoot. Shooting from my holga releases me from worrying about exposure, excat-composition, 1/3 rule, focus, etc. My work tools are not play tools and play tools are not work tools.

None of my shots were made from eye level. Pic 1-3 I was sitting at the curb with my friend enjoying the dance, holga a few inches from the ground angled up. Pic 4 I was walking past, and shot from the waist. Pic 5-6 Well... I still say I have reservations on shooting a person(s) on the street & invading personal privacy. This was a public performace so there was more leeway in such matters. Compositionally, I Love Them All!

After stressing so much over producing proper photographic works for assignments, this is a good way switch brains and enjoy photography at its basest form. When I am not so lazy, I'll process and post up a couple more.
Old 6th December 2005   #18
The_Cheat

Originally Posted by foxtwo
Hey cheat, nice to see ya around. Haven't seen your pics in a while leh, or your cameras in fact. I think I prefer to see your cameras, especially that LF.
My pictures? No lah! Standard too low to showcase it here in CS. Besides, I haven't really got back on the groove to take pictures yet. Higher priority right now to complete my research by early next year.

You wanna see my cam? For what? I'd yet to take a decent shot out of that camera yet. Though I'm already amazed by the details it can capture at f32. Just ask k.

Hmm... I view photography from my Holga as adventurist experimental. I don't want to impose the same restrictions I do with my other work.
I'm ambivalent about the experimental sentiment. Yes, experiments are fun in the sense of trying something different from the same old fundamental stuff that dominate photography. However, experiments require a good understanding of what exactly you're doing as well, to get a better result; this understanding in turn becomes a set of fundamental in itself, and is not that "fun" afterall.

Okay okay. Just ignore the above comment. Having fun is good. I shall refrain from being overly critical for nothing. Ain't good for health.

None of my shots were made from eye level. Pic 1-3 I was sitting at the curb with my friend enjoying the dance, holga a few inches from the ground angled up. Pic 4 I was walking past, and shot from the waist. Pic 5-6 Well... I still say I have reservations on shooting a person(s) on the street & invading personal privacy. This was a public performace so there was more leeway in such matters. Compositionally, I Love Them All!
To a photographer, no shot is a snapshot. Every shot made by a photographer will always be motivated by a certain intent, even if the intent is not to have an intention. However, the viewer is not the photographer. And hence a shot that doesn't portray a certain theme immediately, or doesn't "click" psychologically to a person, will be disregarded as a snapshot. So, it's perfectly alright if you felt good disregarding the "rules", but be mentally prepared for people to not share the same sentiment you have behind the shots, and disregard it as simply snapshots.

It's like you having the freedom to speech, while audience have the freedom not to listen.

So far, I only know of one photographer who have succeeded out of "snapshots"... Hiromix. Go do a search on her on google and take a look at some of her pics!
Old 8th December 2005   #19
namska

very very nice series here... good job dude....
Closed Thread