Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Printers and Scanners

Printers and Scanners Discuss printing and scanning topics here

Old 30th November 2005   #1
nightwolf75

Default KM's DiMage Scan Multi PRO or other recommendations for MF negs?

harlo! like to ask those who do your own home-scanning of negatives? does anyone know or use the KM's DiMage Scan Multi PRO scanner?
http://www.konicaminolta.com.sg/prod...pro/index.html

this was the 1st scanner dat popped up when i googled. my 35mm and MF negs are piling up, and the results from the lab's scanning is driving me nuts... so, thinking of buying a 2nd-hand unit to do my own scannings. is there other recommendations for dedicated film scanners (not flatbed) dat can handle 35mm and MF negs (short of buying Nikon's CoolScan series... ) ? TIA!
Old 1st December 2005   #2
BBTM

Default Re: KM's DiMage Scan Multi PRO or other recommendations for MF negs?

Originally Posted by nightwolf75
harlo! like to ask those who do your own home-scanning of negatives? does anyone know or use the KM's DiMage Scan Multi PRO scanner?
http://www.konicaminolta.com.sg/prod...pro/index.html

this was the 1st scanner dat popped up when i googled. my 35mm and MF negs are piling up, and the results from the lab's scanning is driving me nuts... so, thinking of buying a 2nd-hand unit to do my own scannings. is there other recommendations for dedicated film scanners (not flatbed) dat can handle 35mm and MF negs (short of buying Nikon's CoolScan series... ) ? TIA!
Microtek got MF scanning but their DR abt 3+ only. Nikon with MF, quite ex but DR = . For KM one, even Bh also no stock. Best is to wait n c any brand out with ICE feature n got MF. I only got 35mm, so, 5400 ll just nice for me. All the best on your hunting.
Old 1st December 2005   #3
Bernard Ong

Nightwolf, you can consider Kex's service. He runs a shop in Bedok. He scans in high res using Imacon Scanner, if not wrong. Good service.

This is just an option for your consideration
Sponsored Link
Old 1st December 2005   #4
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Originally Posted by BBTM
Microtek got MF scanning but their DR abt 3+ only. Nikon with MF, quite ex but DR = . For KM one, even Bh also no stock. Best is to wait n c any brand out with ICE feature n got MF. I only got 35mm, so, 5400 ll just nice for me. All the best on your hunting.
buy local lor
Old 1st December 2005   #5
nightwolf75

Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt
buy local lor
haha... i've asked. one shop quoted me slightly over $1.7K for the Multi Pro..

bernard - yeah. i know abt Kex and his excellent service. but hor... i live on the other side of the island. besides, i think its high time i take control of my own scannings already.

looks like i might have to consider getting a 2nd-hand flatbed scanner from HP or microtek... thanks, folks!
Old 4th December 2005   #6
Splutter

Not considering the Canon 9950F at all?
Old 4th December 2005   #7
icarus

Originally Posted by Splutter
Not considering the Canon 9950F at all?
I used the 9900F before, not very satisfactory results. Maybe NW95 can consider the Epson 4990 instead?
Old 4th December 2005   #8
nightwolf75

Originally Posted by icarus
I used the 9900F before, not very satisfactory results. Maybe NW95 can consider the Epson 4990 instead?
ermm... dun mean to diss canon's scanners... but, a few reviews i've read here and there dun seem to rate them highly either.

icarus - yeah. epson's scanners are climbing up my short-listed scanners to find... mebbe if nothing happens, will be going to funan to find one. u know any shops there which sells at a good price? i'm trying not to go to challenger, even tho i have the member card.
Old 4th December 2005   #9
icarus

Talking Re: KM's DiMage Scan Multi PRO or other recommendations for MF negs?

Originally Posted by nightwolf75
ermm... dun mean to diss canon's scanners... but, a few reviews i've read here and there dun seem to rate them highly either.

icarus - yeah. epson's scanners are climbing up my short-listed scanners to find... mebbe if nothing happens, will be going to funan to find one. u know any shops there which sells at a good price? i'm trying not to go to challenger, even tho i have the member card.
i remember one of our bros, azul123 has that scanner, he bought it for $7xx at sim lim. Maybe you can PM him for the exact shop location. He told me once but i forgotten liao
Old 4th December 2005   #10
Splutter

If you are just into MF, I think 9950F works pretty well leh. For me at least. Can check out the service i'm offering http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=148383
I think the only cons is that it's slow if scanning at max resolution.
Old 4th December 2005   #11
nightwolf75

Originally Posted by icarus
i remember one of our bros, azul123 has that scanner, he bought it for $7xx at sim lim. Maybe you can PM him for the exact shop location. He told me once but i forgotten liao
haha... zul's scanner is an epson, eh? hmm... the price sama-sama with CP. i got a fren to ask the pricing of the epson 4-series at CP, came up to close to $800.

splutter - oh! so u use the canoscan? hmm... i saw ur sample pics, thot its from some high-end scanner.... nw go pencil in canon scanner into list for wed...
Old 4th December 2005   #12
BBTM

NW75, just remember to do some HW on DR. Seem like important leh if u got landscape to scan. My 5400 ll coming soon but still after bonus
Old 20th December 2005   #13
BBTM

http://www.ebay.com.sg/viItem?ItemId...1#imagechooser

Didn't found in KM website but at ebay. Hmm........... nice price too.