Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Combining CPU processing power.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,218

    Default Combining CPU processing power.

    Does anyone knows if it is possible to combine the processing power of two CPUs? If can, how? What software and interface is needed?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Combining CPU processing power.

    u mean 1 mainboard with 2 CPU, or 2 separate system?

    what type of processing u intend to do? video encoding? numeric processing?
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,218

    Default Re: Combining CPU processing power.

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt
    u mean 1 mainboard with 2 CPU, or 2 separate system?

    what type of processing u intend to do? video encoding? numeric processing?
    2 separate systems. I intend to do video editing/encoding.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Combining CPU processing power.

    thats quite hard... whats your network connection speed? gigabit or 100/10 only?
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  5. #5
    Senior Member sammy888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    1,568

    Default Re: Combining CPU processing power.

    wah...are we talking GRID COMPUTING? heheh...Just like SETI ? You talking about parallel computing maybe? Series computing is what we have now with stand alone PC with one CPU.

    The cheapest way to parallel computing would be to use a dual CPU motherboard. Both CPU must be the same type and power.

    The other way is via a network connecting connecting anything from 2 PCs and beyond. This include internet network like SETI's. This is a serious and costly affair heh..

    Also far as I am aware, if the Operational Sysytem and software (eg Photoshop) you intend to run was not written for computing beyond a single CPU, it will not be able to do so and just default to one CPU.
    Last edited by sammy888; 16th November 2005 at 03:30 PM.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    997

    Default Re: Combining CPU processing power.

    As said by other easiest is getting a multi-processor m/b . Talking abt combining many system, that has been done with linux / unix for graphics / video processing. IIRC > 50 CPU's, interface via gigabit ethernet. Don't expect 2x processor speed.

  7. #7
    Senior Member sammy888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    1,568

    Default Re: Combining CPU processing power.

    Quote Originally Posted by Caussway
    As said by other easiest is getting a multi-processor m/b . Talking abt combining many system, that has been done with linux / unix for graphics / video processing. IIRC > 50 CPU's, interface via gigabit ethernet. Don't expect 2x processor speed.
    Yup spot on... I use to be interested in something like that a few years back but found out very little program out there for 'sale on the shelf". They seem to have to be dedicatedly written for use...and usually Linux, Unix and freeBSD thus it is not cheap.

    And you are right about not getting 2X the processing speed. I know there are some software out there that are used for video and 3D rendering work..can't remember it now...tried to do a search but I found nothing on it anymore hehe.. Smaller grouping would be called cluster computing and uses Windown NT back then...This was how they did Titanic. Lots of WinNT machines connected in cluster to crunch numbers.

  8. #8
    Member eawtan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    1,370

    Default Re: Combining CPU processing power.

    Might want to look at PVM/MPI.

    A good starting point will be : http://www.linuxgazette.com/issue65/joshi.html

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,218

    Default Re: Combining CPU processing power.

    I guess this is going to be more complicated than I first anticipated...
    Don't think it will take off with my kind of budget...

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    lulu island
    Posts
    6,131

    Default Re: Combining CPU processing power.

    Why do you want to combine in the first place?
    its better off to buy a new high specs PC or if you already have, get an extra processor and get a dual processor mobo.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,218

    Default Re: Combining CPU processing power.

    Quote Originally Posted by Drudkh
    Why do you want to combine in the first place?
    its better off to buy a new high specs PC or if you already have, get an extra processor and get a dual processor mobo.
    Haiz... I just built a new CPU and was hoping that I can harness the power of the older machine to do some of the process for the new computer...
    Last edited by SnapSnap; 17th November 2005 at 10:08 AM.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Combining CPU processing power.

    Beowulf cluster?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •