Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: have tripod but still shaky

  1. #1

    Default have tripod but still shaky

    i'm using the nikon tripod that came with the d70 but i'm mounting my canon powershot a80 on it. i realise that after i half depress the shutter button to focus and remove my finger, the camera would shift a little even after i screwed everything tightly. thus, i have to resort to using the 2 second timer.... but what if i'm shooting time critical things like fireworks, if i use the timer i might just lose the moment, please help me thanks.

  2. #2

    Lightbulb Re: have tripod but still shaky

    check the workings of the tripod. i am not familiar with yours. check the load weight of the tripod.

    make sure you know the limitations of the tripod you are using. otherwise, disaster looms.

  3. #3

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    the load weight should be ok as my powershot is far lighther than the d70. anyway images are still sharper than without using a tripod, but blurrer than using a tripod with self timer.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    283

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    it's better to use a remote in such situations. it keeps your finger from pressing on the camera and yet could trigger the shutter any time.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    At home
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    or u can hold your finger there until the shot is taken, i always do that, better then pressing then releasing ur finger

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    State of Confusion
    Posts
    2,196

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    I think in general, free tripods are mostly crap. I had one of those free-gift tripods, and the only way I'd ever use it was with a self-timer. Get a proper one, especially if you're going to use it with your D70.
    Sony Alpha system user. www.pbase.com/synapseman

  7. #7

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    I don't think so right? Even with the BEST tripod your finger is still going to shake the camera. There is only two ways out, get a remote/cable release or use timer.

  8. #8

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    with a heavier tripod, it's not likely that your finger can exert enough strength to shake it unless you mean to. Go buy a better tripod, trust us. You can easily get a decent second hand one for 200.

    You don't even try and you say we are wrong?
    My Personal Folio (of random events and things)

  9. #9
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    Just spend $150 and buy a Manfrotto 190 PROB
    eat. drink. shoot

  10. #10

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    the head is another 75 assuming you go with the popular RC2 head.
    My Personal Folio (of random events and things)

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Catchment Area
    Posts
    2,441

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    and a good solid tripod like the 190B or the 055B are some of the most used and affordable tripods around that are solid enough. For amateur use, it would virtually last a lifetime. And they have got resale value too. and you will have to get a head like a ball head to go with it.
    I love big car, big house, big lenses, but small apertures.

  12. #12

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    Perhaps another way is to weigh down the tripod ... you can always use your camera bag or something handy.

  13. #13
    Member YogiBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Jurong West, Singapore
    Posts
    1,051

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    If you dont want to invest on a good tripod, try what ericp suggest...

    weigh down your tripod by hooking your camera bag onto it. Use an inexpensive S-hook which you can find from most hardware shops.

    I do that for my very light-weight Gitzo tripod to make sure everything's firm & stable.
    Last edited by YogiBear; 16th November 2005 at 05:12 PM.

  14. #14
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    just use a bean bag and self timer can already

  15. #15

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    Quote Originally Posted by ericp
    Perhaps another way is to weigh down the tripod ... you can always use your camera bag or something handy.
    yar my tripod has a hook at the bottom. but it's not the tripod legs that are shaky, its the quick release plate where u place ur cam on, whenever i release my finger from the shutter, the plate will shift a little, hence the camera too.

  16. #16

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    Without actually seeing the assembly, it sounds like there's a bit of play in the QR "system". Maybe can do a temporary fix by shimming it with cardboard or plastic card ... just cut a few pieces to the shape of the bottom of the QR plate, and add 1 or more to the clamp until the QR plate sits tight on the clamp when you tighten it. To make it stay, maybe you can buy white glue (eg. Elmers) from a bookstore, and use that to glue to the plastic ... if you sell the tripod in the future, it's a simple matter to just yank out the cardboard/plastic shims if the buyer doesn't want them there.
    Last edited by ericp; 17th November 2005 at 03:01 AM.

  17. #17
    Member bowwow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    In my own private Idaho.
    Posts
    514

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    I'm for a heavier and stable tripod, cable release and to weigh it down if neccessary.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Central
    Posts
    295

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    Ditto. Maybe lock-up your mirror if you're a perfectionist.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    sing
    Posts
    3,353

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    the tripods that come with purchases are not very sturdy
    a gitzo or manfrotto tripod is good
    a kanrinpoche or arca swiss ball head is firm

  20. #20
    xVx
    Guests

    Default Re: have tripod but still shaky

    Where would be good places to view these Manfrottos/Gitzos ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •