Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Sony/Konica-Minolta > Konica-Minolta legacy

Konica-Minolta legacy The essentials of imaging. Forum for past Konica-Minolta cameras and equipment.

Old 10th November 2005   #1
muko

Default EH-7 D5D problem

Guys i have a problem with the EH7 the eyecup...

It seems that it blocks the LCD-OFF eye sensor in some way so that it wont detect when i am looking through VF.

problem is not that...
it makes My shoot to shoot speed of the cam half the speed.

then i confirmed like this:
you try to do shot to shot with your head near the sensor so that LCD-OFF you shoot faster then you pull your head slightly backward so that LCD-ON... (about half speed)

i checked it seems no relation with AutoPreview (autoplay after shoot), LCD control Auto/Manual, noise reduction nor with my camera buffer... (coz i try in smallest and lowest)

those 4 i believe can make my shot to shot slower.. but this one sure nothing to do with that.

firmware problem kah?
D7D user can confirm please?

thank you guys...

ps: in the end i cut some part below in the eyecup,... but damn it is hard to do...
so ended up with a bad cutting... hiks hiks...
Old 10th November 2005   #2
Drudkh

Default Re: EH-7 D5D problem

i don't understand why you say the speed was halved?
i'm using the eyecup and i just turn the settings to manual and LCD to OFF. i adjust the settings by looking in the viewfinder. i didn't cut the eyecup.
Old 10th November 2005   #3
Timber Wolf

Hmm. I think it's a valid point. There's that little bit of time which the camera needs to display the instant playback when you have your eye off the viewfinder. This slows down the shooting somewhat. I've experienced it with my 7D before. =)
Sponsored Link
Old 10th November 2005   #4
sulhan
Advertiser

Originally Posted by muko
ps: in the end i cut some part below in the eyecup,... but damn it is hard to do...
so ended up with a bad cutting... hiks hiks...
Do consult ppl here in CS.....i;m sure they are kind enough & they would probably provide great help/advice...before you do that "cut"

rgds,
sulhan
Old 10th November 2005   #5
Drudkh

Originally Posted by Timber Wolf
Hmm. I think it's a valid point. There's that little bit of time which the camera needs to display the instant playback when you have your eye off the viewfinder. This slows down the shooting somewhat. I've experienced it with my 7D before. =)
what was "slowed", do you know? i am very puzzled.
Old 10th November 2005   #6
Timber Wolf

Let's say, you set it to AF-S, single shot mode. In other words, semi-automatic =) So when you wanna take another shot, you release the pressure so the shutter button goes to its half-pressed position or unpressed. Then you press down again fully so that the next picture is taken.

The delay occurs for me when I take my off the viewfinder. The lag happens when i fully depress the shutter button. It's about 0.3-0.5 seconds, which can be enough for me to miss the shot. The delay doesn't occur when my eye is to the viewfinder.

QX
Old 10th November 2005   #7
Drudkh

oh, never occured to me cos i switch the LCD to off, as well as the instant 2 sec playback of the shot taken.
Old 10th November 2005   #8
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Originally Posted by sulhan
Do consult ppl here in CS.....i;m sure they are kind enough & they would probably provide great help/advice...before you do that "cut"

rgds,
sulhan
i think he already castrated liao... u see he reply with a bad cut...
Old 10th November 2005   #9
TME

Originally Posted by Drudkh
oh, never occured to me cos i switch the LCD to off, as well as the instant 2 sec playback of the shot taken.

U mean u never preview what u shoot?
Old 10th November 2005   #10
captnj

do other D5d owners find this problem?
Old 10th November 2005   #11
Drudkh

Originally Posted by TME
U mean u never preview what u shoot?
I do, but not everytime. For sports, I preview only when there's nothing to shoot, also to delete lousy photos to save some space. Other than sports, like street shoot, if under the same lighting, I'll only preview the 1st 2 shots and carry on shooting. Unless I know something went wrong, then I'll preview to check.
Old 11th November 2005   #12
muko

Originally Posted by Timber Wolf
Let's say, you set it to AF-S, single shot mode. In other words, semi-automatic =) So when you wanna take another shot, you release the pressure so the shutter button goes to its half-pressed position or unpressed. Then you press down again fully so that the next picture is taken.

The delay occurs for me when I take my off the viewfinder. The lag happens when i fully depress the shutter button. It's about 0.3-0.5 seconds, which can be enough for me to miss the shot. The delay doesn't occur when my eye is to the viewfinder.

QX
Yup yup yup... this is it...

however i already switch off the preview as i have mentioned....
Timberwolf have you tried to switch off the preview and see is it different or the same?
Old 11th November 2005   #13
Timber Wolf

When preview is off, there is almost no delay. Off LCD, Instant preview set to off. Yup.

QX
Old 11th November 2005   #14
Drudkh

i still don't get it. what is delaying/slow?
can someone elaborate further?
Old 12th November 2005   #15
Lawyon

No problems or change with mine. The sensor merely switched off the LCD when it detects you viewing through your viewfinder. Maybe youre really a very fast shooter?
Just my 2cents.
Old 12th November 2005   #16
jbma

ErrrI just don't understand this problem. I could not replicate it. Can someone give more details please.
Old 12th November 2005   #17
AncientMariner
Account Suspended

Originally Posted by jbma
ErrrI just don't understand this problem. I could not replicate it. Can someone give more details please.
For me, I rushed to test out on my 5D and then on my Dynax 5 and was real happy that I encountered no problem.
But you, wah liao, go trying to get the problem.
Old 12th November 2005   #18
Drudkh

Originally Posted by AncientMariner
For me, I rushed to test out on my 5D and then on my Dynax 5 and was real happy that I encountered no problem.
But you, wah liao, go trying to get the problem.
But he also cannot replicate the problem as described. Really! I still don't get what this problem is about.
Old 13th November 2005   #19
limkopi

Got problem meh?? So bad until gotta cut the rubber?!!
Me very happy with my EH-7 on my D5D leh... It's so much nicer to use compared to the original flat eyepiece... Din notice any delays thou.
By the way, by blocking the sensor I think the eyepiece can oso act as a energy saver in a way too since it helps to deactivate the LCD... Haha.