Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Sony/Konica-Minolta > Konica-Minolta legacy

Konica-Minolta legacy The essentials of imaging. Forum for past Konica-Minolta cameras and equipment.

Old 7th November 2005   #1
leeshock

Default Ahhh!!! Problem ... AA batteries on plastic holder stuck in VC-7D

No sure whether any of you experienced this problem, but I got the AA batteries on the plastic holder stuck on to the vertical grip. Now I cannot remove or use it. Did not want to use force to remove it. Afraid that I may damage the plastic holder. I am not sure but I think maybe one of the batteries is not positioned properly. It was working with AA batteries before.

Looks like I have to send it back to KM for service. There are some visible screws at the top of the grip but did not want to void teh warranty by opening it.
Old 7th November 2005   #2
GENO

Default Re: Ahhh!!! Problem ... AA batteries on plastic holder stuck in VC-7D

if yr camera is working when u fix the batteries in, it means the batteries are in the right position. try slowly, u should be able to get it out.
Old 7th November 2005   #3
leeshock

Originally Posted by GENO
if yr camera is working when u fix the batteries in, it means the batteries are in the right position. try slowly, u should be able to get it out.
No, I mean that it was working before I changed the battery to another set. When I changed a new set, its stop working and now its really stuck tight. Tried using a penknife and a cork screw and a bent paper clip. No effect. The holder refused to budge.
Sponsored Link
Old 7th November 2005   #4
Drudkh

you should be able to see if the batteries are misaligned right?
Old 7th November 2005   #5
GENO

Originally Posted by leeshock
No, I mean that it was working before I changed the battery to another set. When I changed a new set, its stop working and now its really stuck tight. Tried using a penknife and a cork screw and a bent paper clip. No effect. The holder refused to budge.
if cannot better dont spoil it, bring down to service centre better..
Old 7th November 2005   #6
leeshock

Originally Posted by Drudkh
you should be able to see if the batteries are misaligned right?
Yes, I think so. It looked misaligned.
Old 7th November 2005   #7
GENO

can try to make the battery straight?
Old 7th November 2005   #8
leeshock

Originally Posted by GENO
can try to make the battery straight?
I used the penknife and straighten the battery and pushed the plastic holder in. That's when it became really stuck and tight too.
Old 7th November 2005   #9
Drudkh

you should be able to push the battery in place with a flathead screwdriver or something.
Old 7th November 2005   #10
GENO

I used the penknife and straighten the battery and pushed the plastic holder in. That's when it became really stuck and tight too.
i think the battery from below must have came off, thats y now it stuck! issit?
Old 7th November 2005   #11
Drudkh

the release catch working?
Old 7th November 2005   #12
leeshock

the release catch working?
No release catch is not working.

I am not sure whether the bottom battery came out after I pushed it in.
Old 7th November 2005   #13
Drudkh

push it in? you should push it up.
Old 7th November 2005   #14
GENO

theres only a catch to hold the plastic holder back, the spring to push it out if u press down the catch. so i still think the two batteries (maybe one of them)from below must have drop off alittle downwards...thats y it stucked.
Old 7th November 2005   #15
Drudkh

the 4 batts on the top should flush with the holder if placed correctly, while the bottom 2 batts does not flush either way. so if its the bottome 2 batts that caused the holder to get stuck, it should be pretty easy to push the batts up into place.
Old 7th November 2005   #16
leeshock

push it in? you should push it up.
Its already 95% in, when it was stuck, with one corner of the plastic holder not fully in. The corner got caught by the side of the grip. Could not get it out so I decided to push it in to straighten the battery.

I thought I can straighten the battery and then use the spring to push it out. Unfortunately....

Next time will not use AA batteries anymore.

Originally Posted by Geno
theres only a catch to hold the plastic holder back, the spring to push it out if u press down the catch. so i still think the two batteries (maybe one of them)from below must have drop offf alittle downwards...thats y it stuck.
Maybe, but with the fully holder inside now, i cannot view the sides to see if any of the batteries came out.
Old 8th November 2005   #17
TME

Looks like u have to disassemble the grip to get the battery holder out... I am quite curious as to how something like this could have happened... moral of the story, next time something doesn't fit, dun force it to!
Old 8th November 2005   #18
leeshock

Originally Posted by TME
Looks like u have to disassemble the grip to get the battery holder out... I am quite curious as to how something like this could have happened... moral of the story, next time something doesn't fit, dun force it to!
I agree with you. Saw some screws at the top of the grip. Seriously thinking of opening it but it will void the warranty. So the only choice now is to bring it to KM Service and let them open it. Very troublesome lah.
Old 8th November 2005   #19
Del_CtrlnoAlt

I agree with you. Saw some screws at the top of the grip. Seriously thinking of opening it but it will void the warranty. So the only choice now is to bring it to KM Service and let them open it. Very troublesome lah.
hmm u should have done that... now that makes 3 D7D at the service centre under maintenance... hehe... who else left their D7D at KMSC?
Old 8th November 2005   #20
lumen

Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt
hmm u should have done that... now that makes 3 D7D at the service centre under maintenance... hehe... who else left their D7D at KMSC?
alamak... how did u know there r 3 D7D's at KMSC??...

argh... thinking of bringing my D7D to KMSC this week ....
Closed Thread