Thread: Sony A7II - The Mirrorless Perspective from a DSLR User

Default Sony A7II - The Mirrorless Perspective from a DSLR User

Mirrorless cameras... Am I a fan of them? What does it feel like to use one?

In the beginning, my trusty EOS 7D I’ve used for years was all I need to get the job done. I had a slew of Canon lenses; they served me well. I was using the 7D because it was fast in almost everything I throw at. Moreover it was something my late-dad bought for me back in October 2009. I shoot events photography on occasional basis and if opportunity comes (though rarely) I get to shoot weddings. But at the heart of all, (and as some of you may know me) I shoot landscapes. Thus at times I wished I had a full-frame camera to take advantage of a larger sensor for the kind of work I’m doing. I’ve never used a mirrorless camera before. I’m not sure what to expect out of it. I’ve heard all sorts of functionality with the offerings of a mirrorless camera that goes well beyond a “normal camera”.

So what does it feel like transitioning from a DSLR to a mirrorless? That’s what I’m curious to find out.

But before I get into that, let me assure you this is the first time in my life I’ve ever get to use a camera with a full-frame sensor for an extended period of time. This is something I’ve been dreaming about for years but never had the chance to do so, or the money to upgrade my camera to experience the transitioning from an APSC sensor to a full-frame camera.

What does it mean for me? Lower noise? Better range of lens selection? Better dynamic range? True 35mm equivalence (for once)? I’ve heard all these things with the Sony Alpha series. I just never really got to try it extensively till now.

(Left) Sony A7II and the worn but reliable, 6Ĺ year old EOS 7D (right)