Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Olympus

Olympus Discover Your Wonder

Old 24th October 2005   #1
shift

Default how much for the E500? is it available now?

The E500 looks good and it is about time for me to upgrade to another olympus.....

Anyone with any idea how much is it? and is it available now??

Read in another thread that retail is at SGD1599, anyone with CP or AP prices??

It seems like the US websites are offering much lower than Singapore if retail is SGD1599......

thank in advance.
Old 24th October 2005   #2
koolz

Default Re: how much for the E500? is it available now?

I heard that it will be released this week, not sure. And yes, US prices are always cheaper by ALOT compared to sg prices for olympus products.
Old 24th October 2005   #3
hammer_400

i think should be able to get it abit less than that + the usual freebies like CF cards, tripod, camera bag etc....
Sponsored Link
Old 25th October 2005   #4
ahsosl1e8

read from newspaper that e500 costs $1599 with a pair of lens Really tempting...
Old 25th October 2005   #5
eric69

Originally Posted by ahsosl1e8
read from newspaper that e500 costs $1599 with a pair of lens Really tempting...
The lens is a "beginner" lens. You may want to buy the body alone and get another "better" lens.
Old 25th October 2005   #6
Reyon

Originally Posted by eric69
The lens is a "beginner" lens. You may want to buy the body alone and get another "better" lens.
Dun think getting body alone is available in S'pore ....
Must be Body + kit lens

Old 25th October 2005   #7
serene

In Japan, the camera (available in 2 colors) go on sale on 11/11/2005. See link below

http://www.ogisaku.com/

It is available both body only and body + kit kens

E-500 body = 78800円
35mmF3.5 macro = 25800円

They are giving this specially designed "pro-bag" for E-500 (I understand that this is an Olympus Japan offer)
http://www.olympus-esystem.jp/produc...event/reserve/

Last edited by serene; 25th October 2005 at 10:37 PM.
Old 25th October 2005   #8
chainsmoker

Wat freebies for advance booking in Japan?

Sg E-500 sale onli includes a set of lens or a pair?
Old 26th October 2005   #9
burger

Originally Posted by chainsmoker
Wat freebies for advance booking in Japan?

Sg E-500 sale onli includes a set of lens or a pair?
please see here
Old 26th October 2005   #10
trd2970

Originally Posted by ahsosl1e8
saw that on Digital Life yesterday? Really good price..
Old 26th October 2005   #11
ahsosl1e8

Quote:
saw that on Digital Life yesterday? Really good price..
thats for 1 basic kit lens only lah.
Old 27th October 2005   #12
tao

Anyone know if there will be a body only E-500 released here?
Old 27th October 2005   #13
chancy

Hello,

Since this thread is on the same subject matter, kindly note my post on the immediate (today) availability of the E500 at major photo retail outlets.

FYI.

Cheers,
Old 28th October 2005   #14
chainsmoker

Its available.
Old 30th October 2005   #15
audiobean

Just to check with you guys as I'm not very familiar with how's the price of camera is set in Singapore - I saw from website the E-500 with 2 kit lens is selling in US for only US$799 (which is about S$1350), how come we can't get this kind of price here?

Are there any possibility we can get the E-500 in Singapore with this price?
Old 3rd November 2005   #16
eric69

Want to get the Oly-E500, but the current promotion don't come with body alone. My desired lens is the Zuiko 14-54 2.8-3.5 lens. Furthermore, I don't need the freebies such as bag & 1GB CF card.

Willing to let go of the lens kit 14-45 for $100. Any taker? PM me pls. Thanks.
Old 3rd November 2005   #17
chainsmoker

Originally Posted by eric69
Want to get the Oly-E500, but the current promotion don't come with body alone. My desired lens is the Zuiko 14-54 2.8-3.5 lens. Furthermore, I don't need the freebies such as bag & 1GB CF card.

Willing to let go of the lens kit 14-45 for $100. Any taker? PM me pls. Thanks.
Try trading in to shop for freebies, maybe better deal.
Old 3rd November 2005   #18
eric69

Originally Posted by chainsmoker
Try trading in to shop for freebies, maybe better deal.
Thanks. So far, MsColor, CathayPhoto and AP mentioned that they don't do trade in (actually asked for the Zuiko 14-54 lens in replace of the kit lens, and topping up balance). These shops told me Olympus no such package, and they themselves don't offer this kind of private service. I was told by one of the shop to wait till Dec when usually Oly will sell the body alone. Hmm.. have to wait lor, until someone offers to buy my Kit Lens for $100..
Old 3rd November 2005   #19
chainsmoker

Then keep it as spare loh, easier to sell next time too.
$100 can not buy anything much also.
Also dont think olympus sg will release body alone.
someone was looking to buy it for $50 last week. Hehe

Last edited by chainsmoker; 3rd November 2005 at 09:02 PM.
Closed Thread