Thread: How do you find events to shoot/cover?

Default How do you find events to shoot/cover?

Hello!

How do you all find events to cover? Well i probably should introduce myself a little first, i am currently a student in Singapore Polytechnic, Visual Effects, and love photography, i'm looking to improve and broaden my photography portfolio, getting paid isn't really my priority but more for the experience, i've been trying to find events to cover(as photographer of course) for awhile now but so far no luck, so i'm curious how do you all got started? please do share! Thanks in advance!

Default Re: How do you find events to shoot/cover?

is a catch 22 situation, if you have noting to show (no portfolio), unlikely anyone will give you an assignment, some people might just take you as free labour.

if you want to go thru proper way, find some working photographers to ask for tagging along, be humble and show enthusiasm. and don't try to hand out your business card or pull some business while you are shooting their assignments, it is very unprofessional.

another way is to find those RC/CC events around your neighbourhood, using that as practising, they (RC members) will welcome you to volunteer your service, do remember these are community activities, so don't expect to be paid. Likewise you can also approach charity organisations to volunteer your services. Do understand these are volunteer works, if you thinking using these as networking for paid gig, is a long shot.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

Hey catchlights! thanks for sharing! really appreciate it! i do have portfolio of sort!, i always like to post my photos on 500px for sharing, you mentioned look for working photographers, but how does one do that though?, i would definitely look for CC events to cover, thats great advice! thanks again!
    www.500px.com/aljw | Portfoilo

Quote Originally Posted by Andy Ljw View Post