Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Photo Galleries > Reportage and Sports

Reportage and Sports Photojournalistic, Reportage, Events Coverage, Sports Illustrated.

Old 17th October 2005   #1
melvin

Default His Excerllency

Hi!
Please comments on where go wrong n where to improve.

Thanks a million in advance!!!
Old 17th October 2005   #2
catchlights

Default Re: His Excerllency

Shuttle speed too slow, overexposed, white balance is off.

and for the 1st and 2nd pictures, why post it? It doesn't show anything but the reporter.

also this does not go under portraits and poses, should be Reportage and Sports
Old 17th October 2005   #3
mattlock

I wouldn't call him his excellency for one...
Sponsored Link
Old 18th October 2005   #4
Yezrah

You weren't standing at the right place, shooting at the right time obviously. I didn't get a good shot at the President either at that event. However, I shall be back at Propnex event this Wednesday, ha ha.
Old 18th October 2005   #5
melvin

Originally Posted by catchlights
Shuttle speed too slow, overexposed, white balance is off.

and for the 1st and 2nd pictures, why post it? It doesn't show anything but the reporter.

also this does not go under portraits and poses, should be Reportage and Sports
Thanks for your advice will take note of it!
Old 18th October 2005   #6
Drudkh

snapshots.
Old 18th October 2005   #7
catchlights

Originally Posted by melvin
Thanks for your advice will take note of it!
You are welcomed.

3 key elements to improve photo:
  • Theme, what’s the theme?
  • Emphasis the subject.
  • Simplify the photo
Hope this help.
Old 18th October 2005   #8
melvin

Originally Posted by Yezrah
You weren't standing at the right place, shooting at the right time obviously. I didn't get a good shot at the President either at that event. However, I shall be back at Propnex event this Wednesday, ha ha.
Yeah...got squeeze out of the way coz of the bodyguards , that time leaning by the stage for the 3rd shot n was lucky enough to find a gap for me to shoot this pict!

so u r the one in my first 2 picts? Did they pay u for coming? will u be coming alone? U were nt at our sports n family rite?
I will be there oso bt i be in the audience dun think will be shooting See you then! Haha..
Old 18th October 2005   #9
melvin

Originally Posted by catchlights
You are welcomed.

3 key elements to improve photo:
  • Theme, what’s the theme?
  • Emphasis the subject.
  • Simplify the photo
Hope this help.
Thanks again! As a newbie i think i need to engrave the 3 key elements in my mind everytime i shoot.
Old 18th October 2005   #10
~Arcanic~

your first 2 shots got no subject imho.. dunno what are u trying to capture really..

3rd one still "okay".. but seems like u are using 1st curtain flash? just guessing...
if the cam doesn allow u to use a spd comfortable for ur own handholding, try increase the iso too.
Old 18th October 2005   #11
melvin

Pardon my ignorance:
Errr...... what is subject imho and 1st curtain flash?
Thanks!
Old 18th October 2005   #12
manx

It looks like in SP again.

He likes SP huh? Last year he went also...(I was there.)
Old 18th October 2005   #13
melvin

Originally Posted by manx
It looks like in SP again.

He likes SP huh? Last year he went also...(I was there.)
Urrhh...its at the HDB HUB Auditorium
Old 20th October 2005   #14
Rurouni

You need to decide what you want to take. Are you trying to capture the atmosphere of the event? If so, then maybe trying a wider angled shot would work better. The framing doesnt tell me what event this so I am not drawn to take a closer look.

If your aim is to get closer shots of the President shaking hands with someone, then you will have to get a little closer (as much as his bodyguards will let you) and maybe catch his attention for your shot. That is not easy in a large crowd and takes practice and some positional awareness (e.g anticipating where is he moving to as he walks around)

Watch out for camera shake also, especially if you are using a telephoto lens. I like to get up close for event taking, and typically use a 28-70 or 28-105 to maximise my opportunities.

Oherwise nice attempt in a difficult situation. At least you"re willing to put up shots where you are looking for improvement rather than your best shots.

Last edited by Rurouni; 20th October 2005 at 11:50 PM.
Old 21st October 2005   #15
melvin

Originally Posted by Rurouni
You need to decide what you want to take. Are you trying to capture the atmosphere of the event? If so, then maybe trying a wider angled shot would work better. The framing doesnt tell me what event this so I am not drawn to take a closer look.

If your aim is to get closer shots of the President shaking hands with someone, then you will have to get a little closer (as much as his bodyguards will let you) and maybe catch his attention for your shot. That is not easy in a large crowd and takes practice and some positional awareness (e.g anticipating where is he moving to as he walks around)

Watch out for camera shake also, especially if you are using a telephoto lens. I like to get up close for event taking, and typically use a 28-70 or 28-105 to maximise my opportunities.

Oherwise nice attempt in a difficult situation. At least you"re willing to put up shots where you are looking for improvement rather than your best shots.
Thanks Rurouni for your vaulable advice!

The first 2 photos r overhead shots...hee...n was in a hurry (as the president is making his way out) to shoot, thats why the didnt take note of the angle n framing forgot about outcome think my mind did not function properly

Thanks again!
Old 23rd October 2005   #16
sehsuan

the first two shots were not useful at all. no face == don't post it up.

last shot, evidently handshaken.

a friend of mine was jokingly saying he's a celebrity photographer... while the rest of us are, too! one kind are celebs themselves... the others are photographers who shoot celebs...
Closed Thread