Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: HDD Wipeout

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default HDD Wipeout

    Well, it's not really a big deal but anyhow, i just managed to wipe out every single picture i ever told while trying to install my new HDD...

    Only comfort is i have uploaded the "keepers" (and a few not to good ones) in pbase already... oh well....

    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  2. #2

    Default Re: HDD Wipeout

    No CDRW? Oh don't take it too hard ok? At least you are 40GB larger :PPP

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Down-Below, Babylon 5
    Posts
    90

    Default

    my condolences

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default Re: Re: HDD Wipeout

    Originally posted by nEkOgOtCh
    No CDRW? Oh don't take it too hard ok? At least you are 40GB larger :PPP
    Got. Burnt the older shots and have themn kept some where, but the newer ones, especially the portraiture shots... save for those upload in pbase... all gone.

    This'll teach me...

    As for having a 40Gb larger HDD, it isn't going to happen till i manage to sucessfully install it...
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  5. #5

    Default How?

    How did you manage that? What exactly did you do? Was this an additional HDD or did you try to replace your old HDD with the new one? What hardware are you using? Brand of PC?

    I added an extra 40 gigger to my Dell PC. It was a 5 minute job and no trouble at all. It's been working well for the past ttwo years.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default Re: How?

    Originally posted by sriram
    How did you manage that? What exactly did you do? Was this an additional HDD or did you try to replace your old HDD with the new one? What hardware are you using? Brand of PC?

    I added an extra 40 gigger to my Dell PC. It was a 5 minute job and no trouble at all. It's been working well for the past ttwo years.
    Lets just say i screwed up...

    Anyhow, i got my new 40G HDD up and running but my 3 Gig where most of my shots are stored are forever gone...

    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    In Paradise
    Posts
    546

    Default Re: Re: How?

    Originally posted by Wolfgang


    Lets just say i screwed up...

    Anyhow, i got my new 40G HDD up and running but my 3 Gig where most of my shots are stored are forever gone...

    My condolences...... can i buy you a beer??

  8. #8

    Default

    Poor wolfgang... *pat* *pat*

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    But hey, this gives me YET ANOTHER GOOD REASON to shoot more and hopefully, achieve a higher rate of keepers!

    Clean slate and all, if you know what i mean.

    Nitrotech, i'll happily accept, but only if you allow me to buy you one back.
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  10. #10

    Default

    You may want to try getting Norton Utilities to try "unformatting" your c: drive. Install the OS and Norton onto your NEW hard disk (don't write onto the old one), set the old one as a slave and try to recover it.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    In Paradise
    Posts
    546

    Default

    Originally posted by Wolfgang

    Nitrotech, i'll happily accept, but only if you allow me to buy you one back.
    Sure.... anytime.... maybe Holland V, then take some pics there too..... idea??


  12. #12

    Default

    Originally posted by StreetShooter
    You may want to try getting Norton Utilities to try "unformatting" your c: drive. Install the OS and Norton onto your NEW hard disk (don't write onto the old one), set the old one as a slave and try to recover it.
    If you want, try out Easy Recovery Pro..
    Worked like a charm when i accidentally reformatted my partition...
    Hope it'll work for you though!
    Last edited by SNAG; 23rd October 2002 at 11:29 AM.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    Originally posted by NitroTech


    Sure.... anytime.... maybe Holland V, then take some pics there too..... idea??

    Sounds like a good idea.

    Orgainse an drinking/photo shoot outing.
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Riddle Realms
    Posts
    5,688

    Default

    SNAG/StreetShooter;

    Thanks for the tips. I will go it a go in time to come.

    Cheers!
    --
    "High Wired, Dream Sired"

  15. #15

    Default

    Aiyai-yai-yai...Wolfgang...Wolfgang...
    You want my Winnie the Pooh to hug for a while?

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    1,417

    Default

    Dun be so sad. This shows the power of film SLR.. heheheheheh... no need scard of format.
    Canon Lover :)

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    In Paradise
    Posts
    546

    Default

    Originally posted by Wolfgang


    Sounds like a good idea.

    Orgainse an drinking/photo shoot outing.
    but please.... shoot before drinking....

  18. #18
    Verre Vrai
    Guests

    Default Re: HDD Wipeout

    Originally posted by Wolfgang
    Well, it's not really a big deal but anyhow, i just managed to wipe out every single picture i ever told while trying to install my new HDD...

    Only comfort is i have uploaded the "keepers" (and a few not to good ones) in pbase already... oh well....



    You can try disaster recovery if you really want your pictures back.

  19. #19

    Default Re: Re: HDD Wipeout

    Originally posted by Verre Vrai




    You can try disaster recovery if you really want your pictures back.
    Just a reminder > don't write over the affected HDD with anything..
    I suggest that you plug it out from the system first before any proggie (maybe Windows?) writes something in the background w/o you knowing...
    If you write on the HDD, chiam liao.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •