Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: External Flash lifespan

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore bo gway hai!
    Posts
    396

    Default External Flash lifespan

    Im curious how long does an average external flash last....

    I read some pple who said something like each flash cost 4cents..

    meaning flashes have limited no. of flash till they die off?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong, Pokfulam
    Posts
    1,157

    Default Re: External Flash lifespan

    Originally posted by Revo
    Im curious how long does an average external flash last....

    I read some pple who said something like each flash cost 4cents..

    meaning flashes have limited no. of flash till they die off?

    wo... if 1 single flash is 4 cents, think about red eye reduction manz.. hehe

    yeah, all flashes have a life span, and for me i try to avoid buying 2nd hand flashes which are rather used.
    Canon 300D, 30D, 5D. 17-40 f4 L, 24-105 f4 L, 70-200 f2.8 L IS

  3. #3

    Default Re: External Flash lifespan

    Originally posted by Revo
    I read some pple who said something like each flash cost 4cents..
    I think that specific person was referring to the cost of replacing his CR123 batteries for each shot.

    Don't think you effectively can gauge how long a flash may last.

  4. #4

    Default

    yes he was referring to the depreciation of the batteries, not the flash. Don't worry.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Singapore bo gway hai!
    Posts
    396

    Default

    hehe thx guys , guess i din read properly

    *bish* to think it was the batteries.......

    thx again guys

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Yes, there is a lifespan, if I am not wrong, it's rated by the number of full power blasts. And it will last enough for you to eventually upgrade. I got a 15 year old Vivitar 2800D which is still working....

    Regards
    CK

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    L2TPYSG
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    anyone replaced a bulb before? I couldn't find it on the web... lol otherwise besides stacking teleconverters can also make bulb arrays...
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    431

    Default

    how to know when it is time to change bulb?

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    168

    Default

    Originally posted by nicholas1986
    no light loh..

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Change flash tube might as well change the entire unit.

  11. #11

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang
    Change flash tube might as well change the entire unit.
    why leh?

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by Tweek


    why leh?
    Simple, flash tubes usually don't fail. And after they've fired enough times to have failed, the other circuitry inside the flash would have experienced quite a bit wear and tear as well, particularly on the charge capacitor inside.

    Regards
    CK

  13. #13

    Default

    Originally posted by ckiang


    Simple, flash tubes usually don't fail. And after they've fired enough times to have failed, the other circuitry inside the flash would have experienced quite a bit wear and tear as well, particularly on the charge capacitor inside.

    Regards
    CK
    i see....my flash tube failed, but the circuitry and everything were ok. I guess my unit is a bad lot that skipped the QA test...

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    L2TPYSG
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    yeah been reading about sigma's sample variance very jialat... is that why some ppl hate sigma some love it? depend on an item's quality they got..
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by Tweek


    i see....my flash tube failed, but the circuitry and everything were ok. I guess my unit is a bad lot that skipped the QA test...
    Possible. Always buy a reputable brand. If you can, your camera brand. Though it's usually more expensive.

    OT : Speaking of QC test, a friend of mine shared a little anecdote of his - he ever installed and I/O card (remember those?) in the old days which didn't work. Then he realized the entire I/O chip isn't on it at all. On the card is a sticker saying "QC Passed".

    Regards
    CK

  16. #16

    Default

    wah lau...this is ultimate.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    6,405

    Default

    Originally posted by Tweek
    wah lau...this is ultimate.
    Yeah man, dunno what kind of QC is that.

    Regards
    CK

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •