Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to improve the focusing?

Default How to improve the focusing?

Hi guys, newbie here

I'm trying to take some night photos of Singapore, so I used tripod, small aperture, lowest iso, manual focus, remote control. With all that, the objects are still blurry . I'm using Canon 600D and 18-55mm kit lens. Any advice on how I can improve the aperture? Some technique, better camera, better lens,..?

Thanks

Default Re: How to improve the focusing?

Here are a few tips.

1) Use live view zoom in & observe that the image is rock solid. If you observe movement it means that your setup is picking up vibrations from the ground / wind. Either move to a place with no vibrations or weight down your setup.

2) Switch off the lens image stabilizer when you are using the tripod.

4) Enable & use the electronic front curtain shutter or use mirror lock up to minimize mirror slap vibrations.

3) Use live view, zoom in & tweak the focus till the image is sharp. If not use the hyperfocal method.

4) For the 18-55 kit lens, generally they perform the best from f/8 onwards from wide / landscapes shots . Shoot f/8, right up f/16 & check which pic is the best in term of sharpness. From here you will know at which aperture your lens performs at its best sharpness from center to the edge.

4) Shoot RAW at the base ISO, adjust the shadows, saturation, exposure & etc, then sharpen & denoise the picture. Check the details while sharpening & denoise.

Wow, thanks Light machinery, very helpful. Will try

for light machinery. He basically covered everything

I will just add this,
    1) make sure you have a stable tripod and tripod head.
    2) if you are shooting on a bridge or places where vehicle and pedestrian movement nearby will cause shake... Wait for the shake to subside before starting long exposure.

Not sure if I am seeing correctly, I think you picture might be due to misfocus.

Try to use hyper focus ...and do not set lens to infinity for focus.