Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Panasonic

Panasonic ideas for life

Old 10th October 2005   #1
karnage

Question Extra battery or AA battery pack?

Hi to all Lumixers! Please help me choose, or rather, decide.

My dilemma is as stated, to get an extra 3rd party battery or to use my DIY AA battery pack?

Pros of 3rd party:
-Smaller
-Lighter
-Holds charge for longer

Pros of battery pack:
-Lasts more than twice longer (2000mAh Varta)
-6 AA's charges in 30min (15min fast charge)
-Can use alkaline in case of "emergency"

Cons of 3rd party:
-lasts only as long as, or shorter than original
-takes about 2h+ to charge

Cons of battery pack:
-much bulkier (6 AAs with a cable in the way)
-does not retain charge if left unused for some time

Cost wise:
3rd party Eastgear 900mAh - $28.90
Varta 15min charger + 4 2000mAh - $60
4x 2000mAh AAs - $15.

In the end I'll still be getting the Varta charger set because I need the batteries for my flash. So in total, I'm gonna need 10 AA NiMH. Oh, I'm using the FZ20 and currently only have 1 original Panasonic battery. I already made the battery pack & tried it out already. Really lasts man. So if I decide to use the battery pack, I'll modify some more so it's less cumbersome to use.

So which would be a wiser choice for me? What would YOU choose?
Old 10th October 2005   #2
tao

Default Re: Extra battery or AA battery pack?

3rd party batteries such as those from Eastgear last very long already. Why get the hassles with an AA battery pack? Also, when travelling, those new 2500mah NiMH sucks as they lose charge very quickly over a few days while LithiumIon will retain at least 90% charge even when you leave it for a month.
Old 10th October 2005   #3
karnage

Yes, I know the pros and cons already. It's just that I can't get it to be more on one side... It's like balanced. Hence I'm asking for opinions. Besides, I can use the battery pack for alkalines.
Old 11th October 2005   #4
unseen

Originally Posted by karnage
Hi to all Lumixers! Please help me choose, or rather, decide.

My dilemma is as stated, to get an extra 3rd party battery or to use my DIY AA battery pack?

Pros of battery pack:
-Lasts more than twice longer (2000mAh Varta)
-6 AA's charges in 30min (15min fast charge)
-Can use alkaline in case of "emergency"

Cons of 3rd party:
-lasts only as long as, or shorter than original
-takes about 2h+ to charge

Cost wise:
3rd party Eastgear 900mAh - $28.90
Varta 15min charger + 4 2000mAh - $60
4x 2000mAh AAs - $15.
let's addres a few issues..
eh.. why get varta?
I can get a sanyo refresh charger + 2x2500mah @ $36 @ AP sim lim
I can get 4X 2500mah sanyo w/ box @ 13.50 @ AP
they're both better and much cheaper.
the 15min charger will shorten your battery rechargable life by about 50%- 1000 charges to maybe 500 charges. => after 1/2 year or 1 year, you'll find your battery lasting maybe just a few shots.

3rd party - my prev eastgear batt could last up to 2x as long as my original. Usually charges in about 1hr 30min
battery pack - (I just remembered I've got a battery pack i made for the FZ cams!! forgot to sell it off) -
lasts much longer than just twice.. I took 1000+ shots and my battery was still running strong. never figured how many shots it can take. Takes about 2 hours to charge for me (using Sanyo Refresh charger). Oh, you've no idea how irritating it is to have a wire running down to your pockets. and with that the plug door is open. good for still shots, not good for moving around. still, it's a very good backup.
Old 11th October 2005   #5
unseen

me, i just made it anyway.
complain and ask so much for wat?
the battery pack, it's not hard to make, juz do it!

LOL oh anyway, if u very eng, i can show u the design I have involving 12 AA batteries, giving you an effective amperage of 5000mah. should be enough to last you many many many many shots. basically, 2 sets of 6 batts in parallel, can use either 1 set or 2 sets of batts.
Old 11th October 2005   #6
karnage

Oh I already made the battery pack liao, just that it's in quite a crude form. I haven't found a suitable box to put the holder with the batteries in. I made mine so that I can either connect 1 pack of 6 or 2 packs of 6 while maintaining a parallel circuit. But I figured since 1 pack lasts SO-O-O long already, I won't lug around 12 batteries la. Besides, I won't be out taking photos for so long anyway... The batteries will probably last longer than my 1GB card. Haha!

Hmm, the Eastgear ones not everyone lucky enough to get one that lasts more than twice the original leh. Some commented that it's shorter than the original.

Hmm... why Varta ah? I also dunno. Maybe Sony? Haha! Does it really shorten the battery life so much? The Varta ones are made for fast charge right? So shouldn't it be different?
Old 11th October 2005   #7
unseen

haha sony batteries are actually sanyo batteries repackaged..
Varta... eh.. dunno about it..

hmmm yesh fast chargers does shorten batteries.. and they heat up batteries really badly..
and in some cases it melts batteries..

me, i used to do alot of robotics, play wif all sorts of chargers + batteries..

so far for fast chargers (with sets of 12 or 16 or 18 AAA NMih batteries), my record has been:
3 sets of melted batteries => each set cost $80+ to 100+
1 charger up in flames
2 sets of batteries with noticably shorter life just after 200+ charges..

using normal chargers... no problems so far except i need to shave my beard after every charge. just kidding..
Old 12th October 2005   #8
karnage

MELTED batteries?! WOW! That's scary... like, :big eyes: But if they sell it, don't you think they'd install some safety measure like fans? I know the Varta ones have but does Sony? I've heard of Sony being Sanyo repackaged. But the 15min fast charge is Sony's technology or Sanyo's? Coz if it's Sony's, then there might be a risk of what you mentioned. Because for Varta, they make the batteries FOR the charger... like, the 15min batteries are different from their other rechargeables but Sony's ones u can just use any of their previous NiMH right? Varta claims that their 15min batteries last abt 1000 cycles also, like other NiMH... Besides, Varta has the temperature control thing that stopsrecharging if temperatures exceeds 65 degrees celcius.

Ermm... do I make sense?

Last edited by karnage; 12th October 2005 at 09:12 AM.
Old 13th October 2005   #9
karnage

Just to share something that must be there for quite some time but I've only just discovered it:

"It is difficult, if not impossible, to slow-charge a nickel-metal-hydride. At a C-rate of 0.1-0.3C, the voltage and temperature profiles fail to exhibit defined characteristics to measure the full charge state accurately and the charger must rely on a timer. Harmful overcharge can occur if a partially or fully charged battery is charged with a fixed timer. The same occurs if the battery has aged and can only hold 50 instead of 100% charge. Overcharge could occur even though the battery feels cool to the touch."

Quoted from http://www.batteryuniversity.com/partone-11.htm

So it's sort of "better" to use the 15min charger?

Last edited by karnage; 13th October 2005 at 11:35 AM.
Old 14th October 2005   #10
unseen

hmmm i will bet $$ with you on the 1000 charge cycle thing.
highly likely it's 1000 normal charge cycle, not 15min recharge cycle.
Rem, they always do the test in the best possible environment. who knows, they might haf tested it at 0 degrees.
I dun haf anything against varta, but I am sort of weary of not reading the invisible fineprint.

LOL Using my sanyo batteries, I don't exactly expect them to last past 750 charges though they're supposed to be good for 1000 charges.
After 750 charges, i don't think they will hold 100% of charges le.
but still, after 200 charges, they've already paid for their worth, so i'm not gonna quibble about it.

I'd get maha, but i'm kinda too broke to do that. They're supposed to be the best around.

Why I advocate sanyo.
2500mah battery <> can actually store 2500mah. it's more likea up to 2500mah thing.
Several tests on the market shows maha batts to hold up to 90+% of its claim, while sanyo is not far behind. Other brands hold significantly less charge.
For example, a sanyo 1700 holds as much as a GP 2000mah. (IIRC)

why sanyo not maha
=> maha is overpriced. damn bloody expensive.
=> sanyo is cheap and almost as good.

battery die = holds much less than 100% of stated charge.

=> LOL safety measures.. we bought one of those cheaper CPU heatsinks + fans to use on the battery when we charge at high speed. works wonders.
=> the charger up in flames is NOT a sanyo charger. is industrial type charger.
=> the hotter it gets, the faster ur batteries die.
Old 14th October 2005   #11
karnage

Originally Posted by unseen
hmmm i will bet $$ with you on the 1000 charge cycle thing.
highly likely it's 1000 normal charge cycle, not 15min recharge cycle.
Rem, they always do the test in the best possible environment. who knows, they might haf tested it at 0 degrees.
I dun haf anything against varta, but I am sort of weary of not reading the invisible fineprint.

LOL Using my sanyo batteries, I don't exactly expect them to last past 750 charges though they're supposed to be good for 1000 charges.
After 750 charges, i don't think they will hold 100% of charges le.
but still, after 200 charges, they've already paid for their worth, so i'm not gonna quibble about it.

I'd get maha, but i'm kinda too broke to do that. They're supposed to be the best around.

Why I advocate sanyo.
2500mah battery <> can actually store 2500mah. it's more likea up to 2500mah thing.
Several tests on the market shows maha batts to hold up to 90+% of its claim, while sanyo is not far behind. Other brands hold significantly less charge.
For example, a sanyo 1700 holds as much as a GP 2000mah. (IIRC)

why sanyo not maha
=> maha is overpriced. damn bloody expensive.
=> sanyo is cheap and almost as good.

battery die = holds much less than 100% of stated charge.

=> LOL safety measures.. we bought one of those cheaper CPU heatsinks + fans to use on the battery when we charge at high speed. works wonders.
=> the charger up in flames is NOT a sanyo charger. is industrial type charger.
=> the hotter it gets, the faster ur batteries die.
Haha! I dun think the 1000 cycles thing is really true also. It says UP TO 1000 CYCLES, haha! It's like those sale where they say "Up to 80% Sale!" but u go & see only a couple of items is 80% discount.

From what I read recently, Sanyo 2500mAh batteries drain off too quickly, no? Hmm... and I also heard Varta ones hold as much as they stated... Most other manufacturers overstate the charge rating...

And yes, I intend to fan the 15min charger if I get it...
Old 14th October 2005   #12
yzr500abe

I'll go with the 3rd party battery choice and it's hassle free...and u dun risk damaging anything
Old 16th October 2005   #13
unseen

Haha! I dun think the 1000 cycles thing is really true also. It says UP TO 1000 CYCLES, haha! It's like those sale where they say "Up to 80% Sale!" but u go & see only a couple of items is 80% discount.

From what I read recently, Sanyo 2500mAh batteries drain off too quickly, no? Hmm... and I also heard Varta ones hold as much as they stated... Most other manufacturers overstate the charge rating...

And yes, I intend to fan the 15min charger if I get it...
lol oh.. anyway.. hmmm i hate to crash into that thread..
all those pple with the sanyo 2500mah batts.. er... if you noticed hor.. they all bought the batteries 1 or so yrs back.. hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
LOL anyway u forgot 1 more thing about 3rd party...

it's alot lighter!!!
Old 17th October 2005   #14
karnage

Ya, most of them have the Sanyo 2500's for abt a year or so. I'm not saying the charge cycle is less than stated. I meant after u charged the batteries but didn't use it, it discharges completely in a couple of days, unlike the older 2100's and some 2300's, which, some say, lasts a couple of weeks. So-o-o... *?*

Haha! No unseen, I didn't forget that it's lighter. It's under Pros of 3rd Party in the first thread. Ya. But I suppose 6 AA's ain't that much heavier for me to mind.
Old 18th October 2005   #15
unseen

lol it's not only lighter.. it's ALOT lighter..

bleah... i'm now carrying like 2+kg out everytime.. whatever weight reduction I can have i will want..
LOL thus... conclusion: I'm a weakling..
Old 18th October 2005   #16
karnage

What's your 2+kg? Tripod & camera & flash & lens? That's quite light no?

For myself, my load is around there also. My tripod is already 2+kg... haha! Manfrotto 190ProB. I tried walking around with it the whole day before. Worse, didn't even use it! So I suppose 6 more AA's won't cost my arms & shoulders much ba...

Not weakling la... haha! Everyone wants to carry light mah. Who doesn't?
Old 19th October 2005   #17
huggable

Huggable has a compatible FZ-5 battery for sale at S$15. Had been used as a spare battery. Found the battery only after I've bought a 3rd one, thought that I lost it.

Anyone interested?
http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=157333
Old 20th October 2005   #18
unseen

What's your 2+kg? Tripod & camera & flash & lens? That's quite light no?

For myself, my load is around there also. My tripod is already 2+kg... haha! Manfrotto 190ProB. I tried walking around with it the whole day before. Worse, didn't even use it! So I suppose 6 more AA's won't cost my arms & shoulders much ba...

Not weakling la... haha! Everyone wants to carry light mah. Who doesn't?
Boy.. if i bring my tripod out.. i die die will try to find some way to use it... else i will be very buay song one...

lol my camera bag + flash + cam + lens is about 2.5kg in all... i got other chapalang stuff mah.. (my pda, hp, wallet etc) My tripod is about 500 - 700g, i bring it out when i think i should need it.. LOL i target at total portability. Even waterbottle depends on location + current weight..

No $$ to buy my next targeted lens: neither $900 for 700g f4L nor $600 for a 800g macro
When that happens, I'll most prob be not that much of a weakling, can carry more weight out le.. haha...
Old 26th October 2005   #19
Junye

hmmm i rather get an extra batt.
Getting a EastGear S002 later during lunchtime.