Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Voltage in HK

  1. #1

    Question Voltage in HK

    Wondering can the D70 charger be use in HK w/o adaptor?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Town of Queens doing PORT-9YOU
    Posts
    12,716

    Default Re: Voltage in HK

    The voltage used in HK and SG is the same.

  3. #3
    Senior Member felixcat8888's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    9,148

    Default Re: Voltage in HK

    Yes same as SG and the heads are the same too.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default Re: Voltage in HK

    Yes, we are all following the British Standard, historical reason.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Voltage in HK

    Not exactly the same... voltage wise

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...nd_frequencies

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    3,688

    Default Re: Voltage in HK

    Quote Originally Posted by oeyvind
    Not exactly the same... voltage wise

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...nd_frequencies
    What do you mean? It is all 220V here, it is only shaver plugs that are 110/220V lah!

    Don't worry, plugs here are all the same as in SG!!!

    HS

  7. #7

    Default Re: Voltage in HK

    The charger is rated from 100V to 240V anyway, so will work anywhere in the world...

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default Re: Voltage in HK

    Strictly speaking, Hong Kong is 220V, Singapore is 230V, (more is better mah), so there is a tiny difference, but your electrical appliance would not notice that anyway.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Voltage in HK

    Quote Originally Posted by hongsien
    What do you mean? It is all 220V here, it is only shaver plugs that are 110/220V lah!

    Don't worry, plugs here are all the same as in SG!!!

    HS
    As I said not exactly the same, 220V vs 230V, but again most devices can work work 220-240V anyway, and of coz is the same 13A BS plug .

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    South Pole with Penguin
    Posts
    5,270

    Default Re: Voltage in HK

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    Strictly speaking, Hong Kong is 220V, Singapore is 230V, (more is better mah), so there is a tiny difference, but your electrical appliance would not notice that anyway.
    hmm...may be that's why electricity bill here also more expensive :P
    We are HDD of PC & FT are MB add to storage;
    so PC never hangs with enormous storage capacity - LKY

  11. #11

    Default Re: Voltage in HK

    Haha, thats great! So don't have to worry if my batts running low anymore! Thanks to all!

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default Re: Voltage in HK

    Quote Originally Posted by nostagia
    Haha, thats great! So don't have to worry if my batts running low anymore! Thanks to all!
    If u stay in 5 star or many 4 star hotels, all the socket should be British Standard socket. But I think the Nikon battery charger is 2 pin plug, which cannot go inside a BS socket, and most Sanyo rechargeable battery chargers are also 2 pin plug, also cannot go inside a BS socket, better to go Sim Lim buy 1 of those $10 adaptor just in case.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Voltage in HK

    I alway jam the 2 pin rounds into the British Standard socket, for my camera and laptops. Not a problem.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default Re: Voltage in HK

    Quote Originally Posted by kennethw
    I alway jam the 2 pin rounds into the British Standard socket, for my camera and laptops. Not a problem.
    There are 2 types of 2 pin plug, the round pin type and the flat pin type, the round pin u can jam into BS socket, the flat pin is longer than the BS socket hole so difficult to jam into BS socket. The Nikon charger and Sanyo charger I have all flat pin type.
    Anyway, if u stay in 5 star or 4 star, u can always ask the reception or housekeeping for a socket adaptor.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •