Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: My Camcorder 'stings'

  1. #1

    Lightbulb My Camcorder 'stings'

    my camcorder, when connected to mains, 'stings' occasionally when i handled it. i wonder if it is safe to continue handling it?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    Is the plug 2 or 3pin?

    If its a 2pin adapter, its highly probable that its not earthed.

    One way is to connect it to an extension multiplug that's 3pin and earthed to solve ur problem.

    If the problem still persists, contact an electrician to check ur mains for any faulty earth wiring.

    In the meantime, whilst u're handling ur stinging camcorder whilst connected to the mains, make sure that u are not sitting on the floor with ur bare butt, bare feet, or bare hands.

    Make sure there's a non conductive insulator between ur feet (or butt) and ur ground.

    Hope it helps.
    "Wonders of the Human Mind. Unfathomable to the highest degree."

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    4,026

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    Quote Originally Posted by jsbn
    Is the plug 2 or 3pin?

    If its a 2pin adapter, its highly probable that its not earthed.

    One way is to connect it to an extension multiplug that's 3pin and earthed to solve ur problem.

    If the problem still persists, contact an electrician to check ur mains for any faulty earth wiring.

    In the meantime, whilst u're handling ur stinging camcorder whilst connected to the mains, make sure that u are not sitting on the floor with ur bare butt, bare feet, or bare hands.

    Make sure there's a non conductive insulator between ur feet (or butt) and ur ground.

    Hope it helps.
    Hiee...

    If the inout pin is alreaddy a 2 pin....then even gettin ga three pin plug willnot solve the problem as there is no earth in the first place. Most Portable mobile electonics equipment power adapters are usually 2 pins.

    Just stick to the 2nd advice....avoid using the equipment powered via mains with bare feet to the floor...that would help...

    rgds,
    sulhan

  4. #4

    Lightbulb Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    it is 2 pins. many thanks.

    so, if i forget to use a non-conductive insulator, i will continue to get 'stings' or i may one day be 'grilled'(fatal)?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Planet Eropagnis
    Posts
    2,944

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    Quote Originally Posted by reachme2003
    it is 2 pins. many thanks.

    so, if i forget to use a non-conductive insulator, i will continue to get 'stings' or i may one day be 'grilled'(fatal)?
    There's a possibility of getting zapped to the point where ur heart stops. But that's in ultra extreme cases.

    Juz remember to put something between ur butt and the floor whenever u handle ur stuff and try not to touch any metal contacts (including screws on the camcorder) whenever its connected to the mains. Handle the plastic area and u'll be fine.
    "Wonders of the Human Mind. Unfathomable to the highest degree."

  6. #6
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    Even my laptop stings sometime...Mine is plugged in 24hrs, battery removed..
    eat. drink. shoot

  7. #7

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    i have once measured those 2pin unearthed appliance using a AC voltmeter. it reads as high as 100V but with a very small current. it's the current that kills and not the voltage.

  8. #8

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    I have the same problem with my camcorder - was never able to fix it.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    home
    Posts
    620

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    try turning the 2-pin around, sometimes this helps. Or plug directly to the wall socket instead of extension bar.

  10. #10

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    Quote Originally Posted by caseytan
    try turning the 2-pin around, sometimes this helps. Or plug directly to the wall socket instead of extension bar.
    Yes.

    Switching the polarity can help reduce the component->ground potential difference.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    oh man .. i thought i'm the only one ... my entire laptop is live .. so is my zip drive... put a test pen to it .. it glows (brightly) .. what's usually the problem? The powerbar?

  12. #12

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    wah?!
    Canon 40D|17-55 f/2.8 IS|100 f/2.8 Macro|135 f/2L|300 f/4L IS|430ex|BG-E2

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    I think the "stings" shows that your socket is not grounded, and there is a leakage on the cable, and the leakage current follow the cable to your equipment and to your hands, not so good if u have a weak heart, or you have a wet hand.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Local
    Posts
    1,609

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    Quote Originally Posted by Royce
    I have the same problem with my camcorder - was never able to fix it.
    Mine too.

  15. #15
    Senior Member afbug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Planet SG™
    Posts
    483

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    My camcorder also stung me many times. Esp the metal loops that hold the straps in place.

  16. #16

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    Quote Originally Posted by user12343
    i have once measured those 2pin unearthed appliance using a AC voltmeter. it reads as high as 100V but with a very small current. it's the current that kills and not the voltage.
    100V isn't that high lah... the police tasers measure 50,000 volts! Fortunately, the amperage is less than 0.1A.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Beyond Space-Time Continuum
    Posts
    6,324

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    Time to get rid of the vidcam. It doesnt like you anymore.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    Quote Originally Posted by TMC
    Time to get rid of the vidcam. It doesnt like you anymore.
    Sounds like that Thai movie "Shutter".....

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Beyond Space-Time Continuum
    Posts
    6,324

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    Now that would make me wonder what did he film with that vidcam

  20. #20
    Senior Member kenele's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Dover Cl East
    Posts
    1,999

    Default Re: My Camcorder 'stings'

    Quote Originally Posted by TMC
    Now that would make me wonder what did he film with that vidcam
    Shot with me abt a month back, actually pretty decent shot but dunno abt the 'sting' part. Should consider sendingfor servicing if that's the case.

    P/S Already send you tapes and samples, Thx for the help.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •