Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: 4images or coppermine?

  1. #1

    Default 4images or coppermine?

    anyone using these software to showcase your gallery?

    i am currently using 4images but is looking for something better..

  2. #2

    Default Re: 4images or coppermine?

    I tried 4images before, the uploading thingy isn't really that friendly. So far the most versatile gallery I've used would be this: http://gallery.menalto.com

    But since my web server going to go down soon I just got a pro account at Flickr.

  3. #3

    Default Re: 4images or coppermine?

    Quote Originally Posted by n0d3
    I tried 4images before, the uploading thingy isn't really that friendly. So far the most versatile gallery I've used would be this: http://gallery.menalto.com

    But since my web server going to go down soon I just got a pro account at Flickr.
    yep, used this before also...but dun really like the way the photos are presented.

  4. #4
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: 4images or coppermine?

    I'm using SimpleViewer...real simple to set up...
    Sample here
    http://www.vjc.moe.edu.sg/campus_lif...ery/index.html
    eat. drink. shoot

  5. #5

    Default Re: 4images or coppermine?

    Quote Originally Posted by +evenstar
    I'm using SimpleViewer...real simple to set up...
    Sample here
    http://www.vjc.moe.edu.sg/campus_lif...ery/index.html
    why on earth did you wanna use Adobe RGB for web output?

  6. #6
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: 4images or coppermine?

    Quote Originally Posted by oeyvind
    why on earth did you wanna use Adobe RGB for web output?
    Well, all the school cameras are set in Adobe RGB...lazy to convert. Just resize and post up...
    eat. drink. shoot

  7. #7

    Default Re: 4images or coppermine?

    Quote Originally Posted by +evenstar
    Well, all the school cameras are set in Adobe RGB...lazy to convert. Just resize and post up...
    WHY do you need to set those camera in Adobe RGB?

  8. #8
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: 4images or coppermine?

    Quote Originally Posted by oeyvind
    WHY do you need to set those camera in Adobe RGB?
    Poster printings. Adobe RGB gives more accurate colour
    eat. drink. shoot

  9. #9

    Default Re: 4images or coppermine?

    Oh just a tip, I used simple viewer before, you need to resize the images a tad smaller because if its bigger the images will be resized in the browser and look jaggy.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    151

    Default Re: 4images or coppermine?

    Try this www.jalbum.net

    Very customizable photo gallery s/w.

  11. #11
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: 4images or coppermine?

    Quote Originally Posted by n0d3
    Oh just a tip, I used simple viewer before, you need to resize the images a tad smaller because if its bigger the images will be resized in the browser and look jaggy.
    You can set the file max dimensions limit..
    eat. drink. shoot

  12. #12

    Default Re: 4images or coppermine?

    Hmmm, won't work still cause the images will still be resized to that size.

    http://www.two-am.org/portfolio/

    You can notice the difference when you view it in fullscreen (F11), becomes less jaggy. Its due to the nature of Simpleviewer:

    11: My images appear smaller than the originals, or image quality is reduced. Why?

    SimpleViewer will scale down images to fit in the browser window. This is to allow the whole user-interface to appear in the browser without scrolling. Down-scaled images may appear to be lower quality than the original. To avoid this, either make your images smaller, or increase the size of your browser window. Also, check your maxImageDimension value matches the largest height or width of your largest image (in pixels), check the instructions for details.

  13. #13

    Default Re: 4images or coppermine?

    question. for simple viewer, i need a dedicated web server right (don't even know what's that)

    say for example, can simple viewer be used on blogger.com? anyway about it?

  14. #14

    Default Re: 4images or coppermine?

    Nope, you need a server with FTP access. Its a standalone script so I don't see why you want to use it with Blogger, maybe you can try Flickr.

  15. #15
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: 4images or coppermine?

    Quote Originally Posted by DTan
    question. for simple viewer, i need a dedicated web server right (don't even know what's that)

    say for example, can simple viewer be used on blogger.com? anyway about it?
    Nope it can't. Use an online host that gives your free webspace like www.cjb.cc
    eat. drink. shoot

  16. #16

    Default Re: 4images or coppermine?

    Quote Originally Posted by n0d3
    Nope, you need a server with FTP access. Its a standalone script so I don't see why you want to use it with Blogger, maybe you can try Flickr.
    n0d3,
    errr i'm a total IT idiot. so FTP access???

    why standalone script cannot use with blogger?

    then why would flickr work?

    sorry for questions thanks



    Quote Originally Posted by +evenstar
    Nope it can't. Use an online host that gives your free webspace like www.cjb.cc
    Thanks +evenstar... will check that out.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •