Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Do you have/need a backup cam?

  1. #1

    Default Do you have/need a backup cam?

    For those who cover events or have assignments on a regular basis, do u have a backup cam with you all the time?

    I do have regular assignments but the pay ranges from $100 to $300, still trying to justify the need for a backup cam..

    How abt you guys?

    Currently using a 20D.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    If I'm paid for an assignment, I would be expected to be professional, even if I'm doing part time. Cz end of the day, I'm responsible for delivering results.

    Cameras being electronic stuff, i nvr know when they're gonna play me up. I personally would definitely hv a backup cam on paid assignments. digital or film. But that's just me.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    no back up camera how can?

    must bring brother, must bring.

    i bring 2 bodies, 3 lens, 2 flash, 4 cam batt, 16 pieces of AA batt, no matter how much am i paid.
    Eat breath LIVERPOOL!!!

  4. #4
    Senior Member Sion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    新天地
    Posts
    4,768

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    How would you explain to the client if your camera or flash breaks down?

    Once I followed a pro to learn the ropes. He had a case full of spare Hasselbald, spare flash, spare sync cord, spare batteries etc with him.

    Borrow a friend's body and flash as spares if you don't want to invest in them.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    3,779

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    Quote Originally Posted by smurfman
    no back up camera how can?

    must bring brother, must bring.

    i bring 2 bodies, 3 lens, 2 flash, 4 cam batt, 16 pieces of AA batt, no matter how much am i paid.
    That's pro dude! This is the standard shooting gears you will need to bring whenever there's a job for you regardless big or small.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    Quote Originally Posted by Spectrum
    That's pro dude! This is the standard shooting gears you will need to bring whenever there's a job for you regardless big or small.
    and i haven include tripod or monopod etc.........
    Eat breath LIVERPOOL!!!

  7. #7
    Member Adiemus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Small island....
    Posts
    1,673

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    2nd cam body is a definite must!!! Wah 2nd flash.... Siong ah... but in my line of work, I hardly need flash, so still ok.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    Even for studio shoot assignment, also need a backup, and to be kiasu, I have 2 sets D100s with exactly the same settings, just in case.

    The alternative (read: cheaper) way is to find a buddy, or partner, and have a agreement that each one's camera will be the other guy's backup camera for assignment.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Beyond Space-Time Continuum
    Posts
    6,324

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    Huh? D100? You talking about your backup D2x`s backups.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    Having a backup cam is like buying insurance. You'll never know when the cam is gonna play you out.

    A cheap alternative is to loan a digi cam. D70 or even a S3 Pro. Think a few CSers doing some loans and not expensive at all. As to compare having the cam break down at the crucial moment.

    Cheers,
    Jon

  11. #11
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    Quote Originally Posted by arttl
    Having a backup cam is like buying insurance. You'll never know when the cam is gonna play you out.

    A cheap alternative is to loan a digi cam. D70 or even a S3 Pro. Think a few CSers doing some loans and not expensive at all. As to compare having the cam break down at the crucial moment.

    Cheers,
    Jon
    He is using a Canon and ask him to backup with a Nikon?

  12. #12
    Senior Member Sion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    新天地
    Posts
    4,768

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights
    He is using a Canon and ask him to backup with a Nikon?
    Okay backup with a hybrid: Cankon.

  13. #13
    Senior Member Sion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    新天地
    Posts
    4,768

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    Quote Originally Posted by smurfman
    and i haven include tripod or monopod etc.........
    and a spare pants in the camera bag just in case the other one gets torn or wet?

  14. #14

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    i always have 2 sets of body,flash & lenses for assignment.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    okie okie....get the idea...

    will start looking ard liao......aiming to get the 1dmkiin on installments...at least the assignments can pay for it...hopefully.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    can get two sets of mid range body, one wide zoom and a regular zoom with 2 flash lights.

    i bring an extra prime for wide and one 50mm.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    if i get that 1dmkiin, 20D will be my backup liao...

  18. #18

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    Quote Originally Posted by dragos
    okie okie....get the idea...

    will start looking ard liao......aiming to get the 1dmkiin on installments...at least the assignments can pay for it...hopefully.

    then you are charging too low liao.

  19. #19
    Senior Member Sion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    新天地
    Posts
    4,768

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    Yes I think I need a backup camera: a 1DS MK II to backup my Powershot A410.

  20. #20

    Default Re: Do you have/need a backup cam?

    I wander what is the probability of losing the data in the memory card? does it happen to anyone before during an assignment , because if this happen spare cam also can't help? How do you buy such an insurance ?

    You might need to alternate shooting with 2 cams??

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •