Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Who is using Quantum Battery pack?

Default Who is using Quantum Battery pack?

Tinking of getting 1. Any1 tried before? Was quoted $485 in 1 of the hsop at pennisular plaza....any1 have better lobang?

Default Re: Who is using Quantum Battery pack?

Using Quantum 1+ Battery pack before, after replace battery cells twice, I DIY a homemade SLA 6V battery pack.

Quote Originally Posted by catchlights
    Using Quantum 1+ Battery pack before, after replace battery cells twice, I DIY a homemade SLA 6V battery pack.

Hi Catchlights,

very interesting to see a homemade 6V battery pack. Care to elaborate further on how to DIY one. Always have this idea in mind but just don't know how to start. Me using a Canon 580EX flash.

Is the quantum battery pack generic? As in... can be used for Canon/Nikon/3rd party flash? Or must be for specific make?

newbie here... but quantum battery pack are for speedlights rite??? to charge it faster rite???

if yes, catchlights care to share how to do a DIY one???

This homemade 6V SLA battery pack can use on any hotshoe mount flash that powered by 4 AA batteries (4X1.5V= 6V).

You will need a cable to connect the battery pack to the flash. I using existing quantum module instead of DIY it because of two reasons:
    1. I already have the quantum module.
    2. Canít find all suitable components to make it look professional done.

To make the battery pack is very easy, all you need is to have:
    • 1 piece 6V SLA ($13~$20 depend on the brand)
    • 1 battery charger for the 6V SLA (about $25.00)
    • Some wires and connector plugs
    • RCA audio jacks
    • A connector for battery charger
    • A short section of 50mm PVC pipe (cut into half to use as a housing for mounting the RCA audio jacks and the connector for battery charger)
    • Some cable ties (to fastener the PVC housing)
    • A small compact camera pouch to house to battery pack (not shown in picture)