Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Before Digital, Beyond 35mm > Rangefinders and Compacts

Rangefinders and Compacts For the 35mm purists

Old 18th September 2005   #1
stnicholas81

Default Recommend me a small compact range finder.

Hi gurus, I m finding a small compact rangefinder (hopefully $100-$150 range) to substitute my Yashica 35GSN which is too heavy to carry out. Hopefully to find a lighter gear so I can slip it in my pocket to carry ard. The olympus XA sounds good but its like too expensive. Any suggestions?
Old 18th September 2005   #2
bumortic

Default Re: Recommend me a small compact range finder.

Originally Posted by stnicholas81
Hi gurus, I m finding a small compact rangefinder (hopefully $100-$150 range) to substitute my Yashica 35GSN which is too heavy to carry out. Hopefully to find a lighter gear so I can slip it in my pocket to carry ard. The olympus XA sounds good but its like too expensive. Any suggestions?
get a coloursplash nic.. hahahahaha
Old 18th September 2005   #3
taiwanapurasteve

I've used a friend's Canonette QL-17 and thought it was wonderful. It's quiet, small, lightweight and gives great results. I've seen them around in the CS forum once in a while, and they usually are in your price range.

This page may be of some use to you: Canonette QL-17 info
Sponsored Link
Old 18th September 2005   #4
stnicholas81

Originally Posted by bumortic
get a coloursplash nic.. hahahahaha
mai la, only got bulb mode~!

the canonet sounds good but i dun really know how heavy it is. Oh well. i will keep a lookout, thnks~!
Old 18th September 2005   #5
ricohflex

hey stnicholas

did not see your shanghai photos, leh.
Old 18th September 2005   #6
stnicholas81

Originally Posted by ricohflex
hey stnicholas

did not see your shanghai photos, leh.
hiya richoflex, how are u doing? thanks for ur help back a few months ago. Just follow the link on my signature, will take u there. alternatively http://stnicholas81a.blogspot.com
Old 19th September 2005   #7
jamesong

Save a little longer and get the Ricoh GR1v, never leave home without it. Its a great camera I have ever used it as a backup picture comes out superb.
Old 19th September 2005   #8
tim

Yes a Ricoh GR1, I have one too, good rangefinder camera.
Old 19th September 2005   #9
F5user

voightlander Bessa R. with a summicron.

Old 19th September 2005   #10
stnicholas81

Originally Posted by jamesong
Save a little longer and get the Ricoh GR1v, never leave home without it. Its a great camera I have ever used it as a backup picture comes out superb.
What is the price of this cam. really out of my budget man. haha i have always wanted an olympus XA.
Old 19th September 2005   #11
ricohflex

hiya richoflex, how are u doing? thanks for ur help back a few months ago. Just follow the link on my signature, will take u there. alternatively http://stnicholas81a.blogspot.com

ok good travelogue
bought any china made camera ?
Old 19th September 2005   #12
stnicholas81

Originally Posted by ricohflex
ok good travelogue
bought any china made camera ?
no ar. never. richoflex, got any good small compact rangefinder to sell me?
Old 20th September 2005   #13
glchua

I have a canonet QL17 GIII if you are interested.
Old 20th September 2005   #14
stnicholas81

hi fl chua, how big is the canonet? can give me a rough dimension? also may i know what price are u looking at? tia~!
Old 20th September 2005   #15
Terence

Oly XA

http://clubsnap.org/forums/showthread.php?t=143080
Old 20th September 2005   #16
jamesong

What is the price of this cam. really out of my budget man. haha i have always wanted an olympus XA.

When it was in production, Ricoh GR1v was selling at about S$700 brand new. Now, maybe can get 1/2 price in secondhand market? Remember the model is 1v ( not 1 or 21 ).
Old 20th September 2005   #17
GC1

Originally Posted by jamesong
When it was in production, Ricoh GR1v was selling at about S$700 brand new. Now, maybe can get 1/2 price in secondhand market? Remember the model is 1v ( not 1 or 21 ).
On the contrary, the camera is so loved by those in the know that these little gems could be sold at it's production price or maybe even more and people would still buy them. They are so hard to find and those who hold them, don't wish to sell them. Not found often on Ebay or in US, Canadian and UK markets.

A really good quality lens in 35 or 28mm focal length. A hardy body. One has been to one of the poles and has survived very well there and it has a wealth of features that make it logical and user friendly. One was sold on CS awhile ago and it was no surprise that it was snapped up within a few hours.
Old 20th September 2005   #18
tingchiyen

hi fl chua, how big is the canonet? can give me a rough dimension? also may i know what price are u looking at? tia~!
The QL-17iii is the same size as your yashica GSN and just as weighty, actually. It's one of the good-old rangefinders, which means solid construction + weight.
Old 20th September 2005   #19
ricohflex

I have a few
Canon QL 17 III
120mm long x 75mm high x 30mm thick. Lens stick out 40mm from body.

Canon QL 17 III is about 20% or 30% smaller than Yashica GSN.
I also have a few Yashica electro 35 rangefinders e.g. GT, MG1 same size as GSN.
Old 20th September 2005   #20
stnicholas81

richoflex, can i help u clear stock? =)