Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 18th September 2005   #1
poseidonlee

Default D70 shutter failure at slow shutter ...

Sigh ... I think have to bring my d70 to 'hospital' liao. Went shooting at chinese garden lantern festival when I notice some prob ... at the same setting(shutter & aperture), same framing, i can't get the same output. Not a prob? how abt this: the good ones are of course well exposed with beautiful lanterns lightings; the problematic ones ... the lower one third of the whole pic get seriously underexpose to the extend of becoming blackout!! I try this many time, thinking something block the flash/lens etc ... i try shooting without flash ... also same.

Then I realise something, whenever the shots is deem prob: the shutter sound is always a bit weird, let me try putting to words; if the normal one is a solid "flip-flop" sound, the prob one sounds "flip-flooop flooop" majian kena jam of what. And when you look into the view finder, you can see that it doesn't completely "black-out"!

Just now did an experiment, set to manual mode, set shutter 5, aperture F5 ... did continuous shot of 15 shots w/o flash ... some sound good some sound bad ... and as expected, some of the shots are good while most are seriously underexposed! Boring liao!
Old 19th September 2005   #2
Adiemus

Default Re: D70 shutter failure at slow shutter ...

Woah... Bro, what's your current shutter count?
Old 19th September 2005   #3
nostagia

Your connecting point of the lens to body may be loose. Try with other lens first to confirm that its the cam problem and not the lens.
Sponsored Link
Old 19th September 2005   #4
natnivek

Originally Posted by poseidonlee
Sigh ... I think have to bring my d70 to 'hospital' liao. Went shooting at chinese garden lantern festival when I notice some prob ... at the same setting(shutter & aperture), same framing, i can't get the same output. Not a prob? how abt this: the good ones are of course well exposed with beautiful lanterns lightings; the problematic ones ... the lower one third of the whole pic get seriously underexpose to the extend of becoming blackout!! I try this many time, thinking something block the flash/lens etc ... i try shooting without flash ... also same.

Then I realise something, whenever the shots is deem prob: the shutter sound is always a bit weird, let me try putting to words; if the normal one is a solid "flip-flop" sound, the prob one sounds "flip-flooop flooop" majian kena jam of what. And when you look into the view finder, you can see that it doesn't completely "black-out"!

Just now did an experiment, set to manual mode, set shutter 5, aperture F5 ... did continuous shot of 15 shots w/o flash ... some sound good some sound bad ... and as expected, some of the shots are good while most are seriously underexposed! Boring liao!
Hi there,

The exact same thing happened to me. I sent it in for repair at Nikon Service Centre & now it's back with no problem.

Apparantly what he did for me was to change some kind of motor & the Aperture control module.

Show them a pic with the "halfshutter" effect so they can have a better idea what your problem is. Esp when this is such an interminant problem.

Hope you settle your prob soon...
Old 19th September 2005   #5
Astin

Originally Posted by poseidonlee
the shutter sound is always a bit weird, let me try putting to words; if the normal one is a solid "flip-flop" sound, the prob one sounds "flip-flooop flooop" majian kena jam of what. And when you look into the view finder, you can see that it doesn't completely "black-out"!
I use D100, 3 years old already, and on few occasions (very rare), I also heard a different shutter sound, something like what u described above, I use the same camera for 3 years so I should know the sound is normal or not normal. I did not send the camera for hospital as the problem is very rare.
Old 19th September 2005   #6
koonkoon

I have the same problem before...... send it back to Nikon Service Center and according to them, they change some aperture control module and it work perfectly now.
Remember to bring the pic together with you, is kind of hard to explain to the technician.
Old 19th September 2005   #7
poseidonlee

Thks to all for the sharing and confirming my doubts! And yes ... it's really so hard to explain the prob!!! hahaha!! (Guess you can see it from my initial post! I think only those who experience it before know what I am talking abt!! )

Btw, to ans Adiemus : my shutter count only 3000++ ... sad ah ...

And it's more or less confirm not the lens, I have tried using diff lens, same leh ... but thks to nostagia for sharing another possibility.

Will update on the prob after nikon rectify it for me!

Cheers and happy shooting!
Closed Thread