Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Panasonic

Panasonic ideas for life

Old 18th September 2005   #1
ahsosl1e8

Default Wide angle converter qn

Got a real noob qn to ask... pls pardon:

suppose i get a wcon07, does this mean that i can cover more focal lengths (24-35mm) compared to wcon08 (28 - 35mm)?

and wad's the current price for 07/08? Any other cheaper wide angle converters available with acceptable quality?
Old 18th September 2005   #2
airconvent

Default Re: Wide angle converter qn

Originally Posted by ahsosl1e8
Got a real noob qn to ask... pls pardon:

suppose i get a wcon07, does this mean that i can cover more focal lengths (24-35mm) compared to wcon08 (28 - 35mm)?

and wad's the current price for 07/08? Any other cheaper wide angle converters available with acceptable quality?
should be shorter focal length, that is why wider view.
A brand new olympus wcon7 is around $200. I bought mine slightly lower from mscolor.
I may be selling it as I find I don't need to use it much.
you can also buy those much cheaper vitacon0.5 too much they are quite distorted and give a very obvious fish eye effect...currently only the olympus wcon series (7,8, 8B, etc) give very good image quality at 55mm.
Old 19th September 2005   #3
ahsosl1e8

ok, so this means that i can achieve a 28mm focal length with wcon 07, which means that having wcon07 is more versatile lah?

Quote:
Thx, but i wun be buying it until i have a cam... haha, i'm waiting for fz30 at the moment.
Sponsored Link
Old 19th September 2005   #4
tao

more distortion with the WCON07.

best of the lot is still the WCON-08B which is pro lens since you planning to get the FZ30 which can take the weight of better lens.
Old 19th September 2005   #5
Hong Jia

Erm it does not seem to me tat the fz30 front thread is better than an Fz20 with a phayee tube...

Fz30 if the front thread spoilt, it is not changable as it is part of the lens, if i am not wrong.

At least fz20, if the phayee adaptor koyah, just get a replacement... if i am not wrong about $25 dollars only... hee...

Juz 2 cents...
Old 21st September 2005   #6
Junye

Originally Posted by airconvent
should be shorter focal length, that is why wider view.
A brand new olympus wcon7 is around $200. I bought mine slightly lower from mscolor.
you can also buy those much cheaper vitacon0.5 too much they are quite distorted and give a very obvious fish eye effect...currently only the olympus wcon series (7,8, 8B, etc) give very good image quality at 55mm.
Why dun use it much ler. take buildings lor!
180 right u bought.
haa let me know if u selling.

Junye