Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Panasonic

Panasonic ideas for life

Old 16th September 2005   #1
sail2horizon

Default Should i wait for FZ30??

Hi guys,

I'm new in photography and itching for a camera.
Should i get FZ5, FZ20 or wait for FZ30 to be here in Singapore? I'm looking for a good camera that i can really learn/play and maybe can improve me in photograhphy skill..

All ideas and suggestion are welcome.
Old 16th September 2005   #2
tchuanye

Default Re: Should i wait for FZ30??

Originally Posted by sail2horizon
Hi guys,

Should i get FZ5, FZ20 or wait for FZ30 to be here in Singapore? I'm looking for a good camera that i can really learn/play and maybe can improve me in photograhphy skill..

You may want to ask yourself:
1) whats your budget?
2) For casual shooting P&S, serious shooting, mix of both etc?
3) Does size matters?

So I cannot answer for (1).
For (3), the choice is obvious FZ5<FZ20< slightly FZ30

If you want more control, flash, etc at least FZ20 or FZ10 even.

If (1) no constraint, get FZ30....but at that price, you may want to look at KM5D which is slightly more ex, but is a DSLR. Pay more for the add on lens of course.....
Fz10 and FZ20 can get cheaper now though....but dunno how much...

Just thinking out loud.....
Old 17th September 2005   #3
eow

for learning fz5 is good enough
Old 17th September 2005   #4
Kavana

just get a KM5D or D50 won't regret one. Your kit lense should last you for some time, before u add your arsenal.
Old 18th September 2005   #5
sail2horizon

Hi guys,
Thank you for the kind suggestion, no offence but i don't think i would like to jump into Dslr yet... i know nuts about photography hehehe.. Is it wise for me to start with FZ5(*cheaper) than FZ20 & FZ30 and learn all the basic manual controls and maximise the camera function. In that way i can spare some $$ if i want to upgrade to a better & more controls camera in future.. even maybe to dslr..
Old 18th September 2005   #6
cLarbRyan

I would get the FZ5 over FZ20(although I have it) becos if you upgrade to dSLR, you would like a small prosumer from time to time..
Old 18th September 2005   #7
incubus

hi, maybeure better off with FZ20. FZ10 is quite recommended cos of its price now, but resale value has dropped quite a bit. if i remember correctly FZ5 does not have a hotshoe for ext flash tho. it all depends on your cash flow and how fast u learn photography.
either way, ull enjoy photography
have fun
Old 18th September 2005   #8
dominator

FZ20 got hotshoe and FZ5 is smaller with fast focusing without hotshoe...

Considering getting DSLR...i will keep my FZ5 but if it's a FZ20 then most likely i will sell off. Having a small prosumer to companion a DSLR will be nice imo, they will be handy in some situations
Old 18th September 2005   #9
unseen

I suggest FZ5 if you plan to learn.
Flash photography is a totally different field from non-flash photography.
If u can't master non-flash photography, a hotshoe is just gonna create more troubles for you.

Make do with what you have on the FZ5, you'll go far. The basic/auto mode is more than enough to pull you through 90% of normal indoor photos (dinner, family, etc). The remaining 10%, you most probably won't be able to take it anyway unless you have like $6k to spend on dSLR and Lens.

FZ30 is close enough to a dSLR minus the changable lens, noise, possible fungus plus the noise. You won't most prob won't need it for the ease of use of changing aperture + shutter.

I still don't see the advantages of FZ20 over FZ5 esp in your case. The hotshoe is not an advantage (I'll bet you $50 that you will spoil more than 50% of your shots if you just mount a $50 flash on your camera given your level of knowledge now). Yesh, and there's no TTL/iTTL/eTTL, so even if you have a hotshoe, it's less than a 50:50 thing if you can't control light yet. You're unlikely to be needing manual focus. (I guess less than 1% of all prosumer camera users do anyway)

Once you're comfortable with light, you can just about roughly shoot in manual/AV/TV mode, you'll then be experiencing the need/want for upgrade.

Last edited by unseen; 18th September 2005 at 03:08 AM.
Old 18th September 2005   #10
cLarbRyan

I truly agree on everything with unseen! Trust me..i rarely use the manual focus unless i want to lock focus. The flash hotshoe is a ISO one, therefore it depends on the flash to fully control the amount of light. I sometimes find the internal flash works better then ext flash but it's battery consuming.
Old 18th September 2005   #11
sail2horizon

HI guys,

Once again thank you for the advise. After much review and thinking ....I beleive FZ5 is a good platform for me(as a beginner) to start learning the basic and wonders of this camera. Guess what, just got myself FZ5 this afternoon

Need all of your great techniques and guidance along the way though..!!
Old 18th September 2005   #12
tao

I strongly recommend you consider getting a used FZ10 too, what with people selling it for as low as <$400 nowadays.
Old 19th September 2005   #13
sORe-EyEz

get FZ30 if ease of handling is important 2 u. i tried my hands on it at de prev IT Show. must say i really like de layout of controls, i can adjust settings faster den on my FZ20.

improvements like flipout LCD, manual zoom ring, front & rear dials, threaded lense 2 screw on filters r so irresistable!!
Old 19th September 2005   #14
unseen

hee congrats.. try learning up about aperture and shutter speed etc and their relationship. Then maybe try shoot in aperture piority. should help u grasp the stuff faster.
cheers
Old 19th September 2005   #15
Flexer77

FYI guys,

FZ20 is nearly out of stock. MS and CP do not have any more stock left. Last week I checked, AP still had 1 silver one left.
Old 19th September 2005   #16
tao

buy 2nd hand lor... saw some people selling their FZ20 under warranty for only around $650, cheaper or same price as the FZ5.
Old 20th September 2005   #17
wrx_sti_22b

Originally Posted by sail2horizon
Hi guys,

Ai yo, beginner dun get FZ30 lah... too extravagent... unless you really very well off & the cost is not a problem...
Closed Thread