Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 44

Thread: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

  1. #21
    Member catseye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    682

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Quote Originally Posted by s2s1
    When I log my complaint online, I tried Singtel self-diagnostic web.
    http://www.singnet.com.sg/technical/helptools/


    The result I get not bad, 328kbps (I'm using 512kbps unlimited).
    If you use 512kbps unlimited also, plz test ur speed from link above and share me ur result.

    Thanks for the link ....tested twice : 444.47kbps, 439.83 kbps.

  2. #22
    Member catseye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    682

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL
    For prolink i'm not sure. For speedstream / alcatel / cisco systems .. there is a page for you to check your attenuation.

    Best is if you make alot of noise to SNBB tech support say line drop/line lags/line this line that... speed slow etc etc... they'll definitely send a linesman down to your place to do diagnostics.

    Do note that the minute they step into your home and find that the problem is on your part, you'll need to pay. IF its their problem (old line or problem within their own infrastructure, then its free.)

    Try connecting the modem directly to the phone point, disconnecting all other phones that are sharing the line and try again.
    Hi dEthANGeL, can you share the URL for the speedstream attenuation check?

    Thanks!

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Quote Originally Posted by catseye
    Hi dEthANGeL, can you share the URL for the speedstream attenuation check?

    Thanks!
    Which speedstream modem are you using?

    I've got both the 5260 and 5660. If you're using the 5100 .. i'm not able to help as i think Singnet locked it using password.

  4. #24
    Member catseye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    682

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL
    Which speedstream modem are you using?

    I've got both the 5260 and 5660. If you're using the 5100 .. i'm not able to help as i think Singnet locked it using password.

    Too bad ... it is the 5100.

    Thanks anyway.

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Quote Originally Posted by catseye
    Too bad ... it is the 5100.

    Thanks anyway.
    Try googling see whether you can find a way into the 5100 .. think there is provided yours is not locked by SNBB.

  6. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    AMK
    Posts
    638

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Test again on Sunday 2:17AM and get 404.47 kbits/sec.
    I think my tel line is really old......

  7. #27

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    I got this .. u keen can sell u
    Brand new unused ..

    http://www.singnet.com.sg/technical/...e/prolink8000/
    Last edited by simon80; 18th September 2005 at 01:04 PM.

  8. #28

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Efficient Networks.

    Efficient my ass... mine sucks. DSL layer not detected for long periods on some days... uber fustrating. I would say stay away from Efficient Networks. =)
    HEats up hotter than an overclocked AMD chip.... not very stable leh.

  9. #29

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Quote Originally Posted by moos blues
    Efficient Networks.

    Efficient my ass... mine sucks. DSL layer not detected for long periods on some days... uber fustrating. I would say stay away from Efficient Networks. =)
    HEats up hotter than an overclocked AMD chip.... not very stable leh.
    Mine works fine ~
    sometimes cant detect it though .. restart the com and the problem will be solve

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Quote Originally Posted by moos blues
    Efficient Networks.

    Efficient my ass... mine sucks. DSL layer not detected for long periods on some days... uber fustrating. I would say stay away from Efficient Networks. =)
    HEats up hotter than an overclocked AMD chip.... not very stable leh.
    Sure? Using a 5260 with a USR8000 router for 24/7 for the past few years running ssh / web / ftp / mail / sql DB servers ... no issues...now running on a Cisco Systems 827 router ...

  11. #31
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    AMK
    Posts
    638

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL
    Sure? Using a 5260 with a USR8000 router for 24/7 for the past few years running ssh / web / ftp / mail / sql DB servers ... no issues...now running on a Cisco Systems 827 router ...
    Your account is static ip? Where do u host these? At home or company? How much do u pay for the broadband?

  12. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Quote Originally Posted by s2s1
    Your account is static ip? Where do u host these? At home or company? How much do u pay for the broadband?
    I host the servers @ home... almost static IP (with the help of a dynamic DNS provider).. i'm with a corporate provider... they're no longer taking in home users sadly, you might have heard of them - Qala Singapore.

  13. #33
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    AMK
    Posts
    638

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL
    I host the servers @ home... almost static IP (with the help of a dynamic DNS provider).. i'm with a corporate provider... they're no longer taking in home users sadly, you might have heard of them - Qala Singapore.

    No, nvm heard about that. I'm not in network line but just want try host my self ftp and mail server. May I ask u few Q:

    1) Is the Dynamic DNS u use free? If not, how much do u pay?
    2) Do you need install a software locally track ur ip?
    3) Is it stable? Will the Dynamic DNS sometimes not working as lost tracking ur latest ip?
    4) Do you or external access face any prob, e.g. download/upload ftp, send email, when ip take change during the process?
    5) Last but most important! Have u get hacked?

  14. #34
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Quote Originally Posted by s2s1
    No, nvm heard about that. I'm not in network line but just want try host my self ftp and mail server. May I ask u few Q:

    1) Is the Dynamic DNS u use free? If not, how much do u pay?
    2) Do you need install a software locally track ur ip?
    3) Is it stable? Will the Dynamic DNS sometimes not working as lost tracking ur latest ip?
    4) Do you or external access face any prob, e.g. download/upload ftp, send email, when ip take change during the process?
    5) Last but most important! Have u get hacked?
    1. Free. Check out http://www.dyndns.org
    2. Yes. You can try Dynsite. Its firewall / router friendly
    3. Nope. So far dyndns is pretty darn reliable.
    4. Nope. Refer to 2. (it updates it automatically once it senses and checks there is any IP change)
    5. Nope. If you know what you're doing, you shouldn't. But if you aren't sure (especually with mail server and FTP) .. its a big security risk your PC would become a zombie.

  15. #35

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Quote Originally Posted by moos blues
    Efficient Networks.

    Efficient my ass... mine sucks. DSL layer not detected for long periods on some days... uber fustrating. I would say stay away from Efficient Networks. =)
    HEats up hotter than an overclocked AMD chip.... not very stable leh.
    Which model you are using???

    I have been using SpeedStream 5260 directly connect to my PC for years and never encounter any single drop of line or PC hang due to modem.

    I do encountered PC hang in the past with Prolink USB modem....

  16. #36

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL
    Which speedstream modem are you using?

    I've got both the 5260 and 5660. If you're using the 5100 .. i'm not able to help as i think Singnet locked it using password.
    Hi dEthANGeL, can you share the URL for 5260?
    Thanks

  17. #37
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Quote Originally Posted by freeworld
    Hi dEthANGeL, can you share the URL for 5260?
    Thanks
    You need to telnet into the modem's command line interface to access the page for the 5260. You still want it? If there's nothing wrong with your speed / stability ... no need to go check

  18. #38
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    AMK
    Posts
    638

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL
    1. Free. Check out http://www.dyndns.org
    2. Yes. You can try Dynsite. Its firewall / router friendly
    3. Nope. So far dyndns is pretty darn reliable.
    4. Nope. Refer to 2. (it updates it automatically once it senses and checks there is any IP change)
    5. Nope. If you know what you're doing, you shouldn't. But if you aren't sure (especually with mail server and FTP) .. its a big security risk your PC would become a zombie.
    Thank you!
    I'll try it when I am free. But I think I need check my lousy Prolink ADSL modem support port forwarding or not. It's because there r 4 pcs behind my modem.

  19. #39
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    AMK
    Posts
    638

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Singtel replied my online enquiry:

    I refer to your email of 17 September 2005 regarding internet
    connectivity.

    We had identified these possible situations that could have been
    causing your connection problem. Please kindly carry out the following
    checks to isolate the cause:

    1) Hardware/modem issue
    a) If you are using an USB modem and have too many devices (for
    example printer, web cam etc) connected to the PC via the USB
    ports, try removing some of them to see if the situation
    improves.

    b) The modem driver could be corrupted. To rectify this problem,
    refer to the modem installation guide to un-install and re-
    install the driver. When in doubt or in need of assistance,
    do contact the modem vendor’s technical support for help.

    c) If you suspect that the modem is faulty, contact the modem
    vendor and engage their expertise in checking the modem.

    2) Telephone line condition
    a) Check to ensure that the cable is plugged into the correct socket.

    b) Ensure the cable is plugged in securely.

    c) Check that the telephone/fax machine sharing the ADSL line must
    have microfilters attached to each of them.

    If a microfilter is already in place, and disconnection still occur,
    it is possible that the microfilter is faulty or incorrectly fixed. To
    verify that a microfilter is correctly fixed, please refer to the
    following website:
    http://www.singnet.com.sg/technical/...nect/index.htm

    If the microfilter is fixed correctly, and connection problem still
    persist, please try a direct connection. Direct connection means that
    all devices using the telephone socket sharing the ADSL line are to be
    removed. Only the cable from the modem is plugged into the main
    socket.

    3) Wall socket issue/telephone cable (RJ11) problem
    a) If disconnection happens even via a direct connection, change the
    telephone cable (RJ11) that connects the modem to the telephone
    wall socket and monitor the connection.

    b) If disconnection still happens, try to connect via another
    telephone wall socket.

    If the connection problem persists even after carrying out the above
    actions, please kindly contact the technical help desk at 1800 8486933
    (8am to 12midnight daily) for online test and troubleshooting. We
    would need you beside your PC in order to assist our online test and
    troubleshooting. If suspected to be line issue, arrangement will be
    made for SingTel Line Department to contact you for internal line check
    at your premises. The line check is chargeable at $20.00.

    4) Sometimes, personal computers (PCs) infected with spyware/virus may
    cause connection problems. May I suggest that you do the following to
    check for any possible spyware/virus in your PC:

    a) Run an online virus scan via the following website:
    http://housecall.antivirus.com
    http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/d...d=ie&venid=sym

    b) Download anti spyware utilities to check for and remove any
    spyware via the following websites:
    http://www.singnet.com.sg/tou/misc/spyware.asp

  20. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: ADSL Modem - Which Brand?

    Standard reply for SN ... guess you better bug the tech support..

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •