Thread: Pictures appear dark in photoshop

Default Pictures appear dark in photoshop

Hi all clubsnappers,

I'm a newbie who just got a 2nd hand Canon G3. How come the pictures I taken looks ok in the digicam playback but when I transfer to my com using photoshop, the pictures look very dark. Does the problem lies in the source (from cam) or photoshop settings which I need to do?

Thanks.

Deregistered

Default Re: Pictures appear dark in photoshop

Make sure your screen's contrast and brightness is set correctly, if your brightness/contrast is at 20% of course everything looks dark.

The pics are ok and normal from what I see here. Mine is very dark.

Quote Originally Posted by pchmj
    Hi all clubsnappers,

I'm a newbie who just got a 2nd hand Canon G3. How come the pictures I taken looks ok in the digicam playback but when I transfer to my com using photoshop, the pictures look very dark. Does the problem lies in the source (from cam) or photoshop settings which I need to do?

Thanks.
    First off the LCD screen on digicams is not accurate, it's only intended to give you a rough idea of how the shot came out.

With PhotoShop you'll need to follow this basic proceedure to get the most out of the image quality.

1) Warm up your monitor (leave it on) for at least half an hour and preferably 40 minutes before performing the step below.

2) Go in to Control Panel and click on the Adobe Gamma (colour) Icon and set up your monitor according to the instructions. When asked if you want to use a single gamma (grey box) uncheck it and use the RGB boxes. Save your changes and reboot computer. PhotoShop will now display images far more accurately than before.

Cheers
    Ian
    The Ang Moh from Hell
    Professional Photography - many are called, few are chosen!

Blog Entries

why not post the "dark" image here
    and let those with calibrated screens
    tell you if it is dark or not

Sounds like screen contrast issue or your monitor is old, just like mine in the office.