Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Sony/Konica-Minolta > Konica-Minolta legacy

Konica-Minolta legacy The essentials of imaging. Forum for past Konica-Minolta cameras and equipment.

Old 7th September 2005   #1
deslim27

Default Imaging Resource Review for 5600HS

Wah.. they bother to review this old flash leh..

http://www.imaging-resource.com/ACCS/56H/56H.HTM
Old 7th September 2005   #2
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Default Re: Imaging Resource Review for 5600HS

Originally Posted by deslim27

must be too free lah...
Old 7th September 2005   #3
Drudkh

Quote:
Canon, too, has a wireless flash system, but the granddaddy of them all is Konica Minolta's, which was developed nine years before Canon introduced their system.
Sponsored Link
Old 8th September 2005   #4
TME

Having read about the Nikon and Canon flash systems, my feeling is that the KM system is quite a bit behind.... for example the SB-800 allows u adjust flash exposure for each flash from the SB-800... can the Minolta 5600HS do the same? As far as I know, I think we can't control the flash exposure of the individual flashes right?
Old 8th September 2005   #5
Drudkh

Originally Posted by TME
Having read about the Nikon and Canon flash systems, my feeling is that the KM system is quite a bit behind.... for example the SB-800 allows u adjust flash exposure for each flash from the SB-800... can the Minolta 5600HS do the same? As far as I know, I think we can't control the flash exposure of the individual flashes right?
What do you mean individual flash exposure?
Didn't the 5600HS has manual mode and allows flash power output in 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, 1/16, 1/32?
Old 8th September 2005   #6
TME

Originally Posted by Drudkh
What do you mean individual flash exposure?
Didn't the 5600HS has manual mode and allows flash power output in 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, 1/16, 1/32?

No, that is not what I mean... if u watch the video from Imaging Resource, u will find that the SB-800 mounted on the camera allows u to change the flash exposure for each individual slave flash (max is 3 groups I think). I.e. for flash A, +1.0EV, for flash B, -2.0EV, for flash C, +1.7EV... plus u can also at the same time alter the flash exposure of the SB-800 on the camera. That's quite cool... cos u dun have to move from your shooting position at all to get different shadow intensities from a given flash arrangement... u can easily under or overexpose the scene by pushing some buttons... I dun think the 5600 can do that. There is no such function anyway... Must read Friedman's archives again and see how he did it... I think he had to go round to each of the 6 flashes to change their exposures manually. And that is just changing the power of the flash... the Nikon system allows u to do it in EV steps of 0.3...
Old 8th September 2005   #7
sulhan
Advertiser

Originally Posted by deslim27

Come on....

Old but....blends very well with the newbies....
Its a truely versatile flash system. Not too much "techy buttons"
just nice for my taste and photog needs. I really like its manual power selection
that is very easy to change.

Last week..i had a problem with the flash - and now i solved it .....my
5600HS juz got out of operating theatre and finally 100% cured.

rgds,
sulhan
Old 8th September 2005   #8
sulhan
Advertiser

Originally Posted by TME
No, that is not what I mean... if u watch the video from Imaging Resource, u will find that the SB-800 mounted on the camera allows u to change the flash exposure for each individual slave flash (max is 3 groups I think). I.e. for flash A, +1.0EV, for flash B, -2.0EV, for flash C, +1.7EV... plus u can also at the same time alter the flash exposure of the SB-800 on the camera. That's quite cool... cos u dun have to move from your shooting position at all to get different shadow intensities from a given flash arrangement... u can easily under or overexpose the scene by pushing some buttons... I dun think the 5600 can do that. There is no such function anyway... Must read Friedman's archives again and see how he did it... I think he had to go round to each of the 6 flashes to change their exposures manually. And that is just changing the power of the flash... the Nikon system allows u to do it in EV steps of 0.3...
Well....

Once you try it out your self.....then you would find that adjusting the lighting and having the need to come back to your camera position to check your actual shadow profile - its a pain without asistant....You cant access the lighiting shadow profiile from one flash position......you still need to move away from camera...

These features are one of those type of features like found on your video cassette player.....long list but you probably use a portion of it in its life.....heheheh....

Feature..feature..feature...features....it will never end....

rgds,
sulhan
Old 8th September 2005   #9
deslim27

Originally Posted by sulhan
Well....

Once you try it out your self.....then you would find that adjusting the lighting and having the need to come back to your camera position to check your actual shadow profile - its a pain without asistant....You cant access the lighiting shadow profiile from one flash position......you still need to move away from camera...

These features are one of those type of features like found on your video cassette player.....long list but you probably use a portion of it in its life.....heheheh....

Feature..feature..feature...features....it will never end....

rgds,
sulhan
Very true, Sulhan.

Setting up lighting like this definitely will take awhile, unless you need it for specific application, else unlikely you will use it.
Old 8th September 2005   #10
denizenx

http://www.friedmanarchives.com/flash.htm

have read b4 last time.. minolta's is like canon's work in ratios (forgot how many groups) instead of individual EVs

Last edited by denizenx; 8th September 2005 at 02:21 PM.
Old 8th September 2005   #11
deslim27

Originally Posted by denizenx
http://www.friedmanarchives.com/flash.htm

have read b4 last time.. minolta's is like canon's work in ratios (forgot how many groups) instead of individual EVs
Minolta wireless flash is ah gong of all wireless.. so should say Canon works like Minolta (probably more advanced now) kekeke.

Minolta works 1:2 ratio, only 2 group.. this method can setup very fast.
Old 8th September 2005   #12
sulhan
Advertiser

Hiee Pals...

My usual usage for wireless is for home portraiture experiments...
Where I have one 3600HS and one 5600HS.

As one is weaker power than the other, its automatically at a ratio of one another.
I use the 3600 basically for depth lightings and the 5600 for main lighting (Where mdelling lighting high freq strobing comes in handy).

So i basically need to control one flash power and the distance of the other.
Using Simple mathsworking with distance from subject)

5600 : 3600
56m: 36m

1.5m : 1m ---> gives you equal power illumination from both = 1:1
(1/2power@5600HS) : 1m ------> gives your ratio 1:2

Something like that......as usually all is by estimation ....

Well, you can see here that the power ratio can easily be done with these two flashes by adjusting either power on the 5600HS(D) or distance of 3600HS(D).

I just do not like to stick to some specs or settings but basically use in a specific setup which is easily repeated with consistencies at home...

rgds,
sulhan
Closed Thread