Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Night Sceneries

  1. #1

    Default Night Sceneries

    hi all,

    some photos i taken with my FZ5 using night scenery mode. pls give comments





    above 2 photos are taken from my place.







    above 3 photos are taken at sentosa.

    anyway, if u realised, around the yellow lights, there are some purple colour ring. any idea why and how to remove them?
    Last edited by commander; 29th August 2005 at 01:27 AM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default Re: Night Sceneries

    For #1.. use Aperture 4.0 or 2.8 try try.. it'll let in a bit more ambient light, the surrounding would look brighter.
    the rest.. err.. looks over exposed.. hmmmm The lens flare (purple thing) may not appear if u use bigger apperture. not too sure about it though.. try try n see..

  3. #3

    Default Re: Night Sceneries

    First manually set yr white balance and use longer shutter speed
    头可断,血可流,倩女不可不追求 carpe diem,when in doubt, hoot first,apologise later:p GALLERY

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    203

    Default Re: Night Sceneries

    hmmm i think all of the shots would look better with more background . . or just widen the shots or sth cos it looks quite crammed up. . substance wise, not really jaw-droppers but keep shooting haha good luck!

  5. #5
    Deregistered eejal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    End of the Line
    Posts
    1,215

    Default Re: Night Sceneries

    And you must be staying in Tamp, bro? kekrekr....dat water pump house seems all too familiar.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Night Sceneries

    Higher aperture longer shutter speed will help you a lot...

  7. #7

    Default Re: Night Sceneries

    yoz bros,

    yup, i am staying in tampines!! haha. u too?

    but the way, i am using the longest shutter speed already, at 8 sec and i full zoom it at 12x.

    aperture wise, i cannot remember le. i am using the nite scenery mode on my FZ5.

  8. #8
    Senior Member dominator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Amazon Forest
    Posts
    1,662

    Default Re: Night Sceneries

    Quote Originally Posted by commander
    yoz bros,

    yup, i am staying in tampines!! haha. u too?

    but the way, i am using the longest shutter speed already, at 8 sec and i full zoom it at 12x.

    aperture wise, i cannot remember le. i am using the nite scenery mode on my FZ5.
    Till now I never use the night sence mode...totally cannot make it! Manual is good!
    Cleanse your thoughts, not by the foods you eat.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default Re: Night Sceneries

    serious your frames are overexposed.. except for 1. Since there's no exif, I can only guess that nightmode switches to iso400.

    Longer exposure times will make the light part a totally white patch, while the dark parts remain dark.
    Higher aperture number may not do it for your night shots.
    Don't believe me, you try to do a F2.8 VS a F8.0
    make sure shutter speed adjusted such that there's no overexposure or under exposure.
    using F2.8 you will see the background, while F8.0 you will only see the lights. As you're focusing close to infinity (more than 6m for the FZ cameras) F2.8 VS F8.0 won't make much diff in the DOF.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Night Sceneries

    pardon me for my ignorance, wat is exif? where can i find this file?

    sorry if this sound stupid to u all

    didn't know FZ5 have so many function unexplored

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default Re: Night Sceneries

    exif is the data attached to your jpeg file (original jpeg file)
    hmmm you may need some tools to view it.
    I recommend:
    this

    read the text file, install it, then you can see the exif data of every file in your explorer without needing to install anything.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Night Sceneries

    hi unseen,

    i just install the exiftip using the method taught in the install.txt but i did not see anything different before i install it.

    is it the correct way to do it?

    pls advise, thanks!!

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Sembawang
    Posts
    61

    Default Re: Night Sceneries

    not sure abt the program u installed, but for me just right click on the mouse and there will be a selection 'view EXIF'. my guess yours will be abt the same as mine. the photos that u posted have no exif data.

    btw unseen, how can i remove exif data?

  14. #14

    Default Re: Night Sceneries

    hi robey,

    just ctrl-a select the entire layer then ctrl-c to copy it, then ctrl-v and paste it into a new background.. then the exif info would be gone..

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default Re: Night Sceneries

    hee u dun even need to right click and select view exif.
    the one i put up, you just need to hover your mouse over the photo and you will see the exif details.. major time saver..

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NTU and Wdls
    Posts
    2,622

    Default Re: Night Sceneries

    My screenshot...
    yes, just pause over the photo file..
    if no exif they'll tell u got no exif..



    update:
    *just discovered that some of my OTHER picture collections haf got exif too... wah.. now i can see how they take those chiobu photos we always see online..
    Last edited by unseen; 31st August 2005 at 02:42 AM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •