Page 85 of 100 FirstFirst ... 3560758083848586879095 ... LastLast
Results 1,681 to 1,700 of 1994

Thread: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSarY !

  1. #1681
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75
    i think EG has options to have the case come with or without the hdd, rite? i purchased the case-only, then plonk a 40GB hdd into it.
    Is it using IDE interface and those hard disk commonly use by the PC ?

    If yes, then can go Sim Lim to buy hard disk liao
    寒冰不能斷流水 枯木亦會再逢春

  2. #1682
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkForce
    meow,

    So quiet ....

    Guys I am thinking of getting a portable storage device to download my RAW files from CF cards while shooting outside. Thinking of getting CompactDrive PD70X

    http://www.eastgear.com/shop/product...roducts_id=444

    Any comments ?

    Thanks
    Erh .. i'm using its older brother, the PD7X ... thought you know? Still remember the Shanxi model shoot ... i was with you and i was using it ...

  3. #1683
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,844
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkForce
    Is it using IDE interface and those hard disk commonly use by the PC ?

    If yes, then can go Sim Lim to buy hard disk liao
    yep. its IDE interface. takes a little practice to get dat darn metal base plate off b4 installing the hdd tho...
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed. ― Deeksha Mittal

  4. #1684
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkForce
    Is it using IDE interface and those hard disk commonly use by the PC ?

    If yes, then can go Sim Lim to buy hard disk liao
    Notebook hdd... but gotta becareful with the latch locking the 4AA batts inside ..quite scary that portion ... eastgear selling the replacement cover for the CF slot area.

  5. #1685
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL
    Erh .. i'm using its older brother, the PD7X ... thought you know? Still remember the Shanxi model shoot ... i was with you and i was using it ...
    DA,

    Very sorry. I totally did not notice cos my concentration was on the strage lah. You got a portable hard disk har ? Did not notice loh.
    寒冰不能斷流水 枯木亦會再逢春

  6. #1686
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75
    yep. its IDE interface. takes a little practice to get dat darn metal base plate off b4 installing the hdd tho...
    i had no issues leh ... mine is just a puny 10GB ...

  7. #1687
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkForce
    DA,

    Very sorry. I totally did not notice cos my concentration was on the strage lah. You got a portable hard disk har ? Did not notice loh.
    I got mah .. .... PD7X .... i know la .. you were mesmerised by "leaves"

  8. #1688
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSarY !

    Thanks DA and WF,

    That device so scarely one har ? Maybe I just pop by eastgear to get a complete set with replacement cover for the CF slot area. Ask them do for me then I don't have to worrry loh.

    Thanks
    寒冰不能斷流水 枯木亦會再逢春

  9. #1689
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,844
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL
    i had no issues leh ... mine is just a puny 10GB ...
    dunno me lah.... took me 10mins to pop the cover off. plugged in the hdd, screw everything back. powered it up.... then discover got hdd error. checked the error code, and discover need to re-format the hdd to FAT32 (originally a spare notebook hdd, formatted to NTFS). took another 10mins to pop the cover... wash, rinse, repeat.... u get the idea?

    40GB was the smallest one i had. actually its way too big for my purposes. nowadays kinda hard to find new <20GB hdd.
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed. ― Deeksha Mittal

  10. #1690
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL
    I got mah .. .... PD7X .... i know la .. you were mesmerised by "leaves"
    You so big size, how come I did not notice ? I myself also don't understand.

    OK loh , next time when meet I will take a good look at you . OK ?
    寒冰不能斷流水 枯木亦會再逢春

  11. #1691
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkForce
    Thanks DA and WF,

    That device so scarely one har ? Maybe I just pop by eastgear to get a complete set with replacement cover for the CF slot area. Ask them do for me then I don't have to worrry loh.

    Thanks
    You can get a spare cover also ... 1 around $1.95 i think ....

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkForce
    You so big size, how come I did not notice ? I myself also don't understand.

    OK loh , next time when meet I will take a good look at you . OK ?


    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75
    dunno me lah.... took me 10mins to pop the cover off. plugged in the hdd, screw everything back. powered it up.... then discover got hdd error. checked the error code, and discover need to re-format the hdd to FAT32 (originally a spare notebook hdd, formatted to NTFS). took another 10mins to pop the cover... wash, rinse, repeat.... u get the idea?

    40GB was the smallest one i had. actually its way too big for my purposes. nowadays kinda hard to find new <20GB hdd.
    no need so thorough lah .. that's why i didn't get a 40GB ... cos too big is 1 thing ... if data loss .. really

    and you're supposed to use the utility to format the hdd anyway

  12. #1692
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75
    dunno me lah.... took me 10mins to pop the cover off. plugged in the hdd, screw everything back. powered it up.... then discover got hdd error. checked the error code, and discover need to re-format the hdd to FAT32 (originally a spare notebook hdd, formatted to NTFS). took another 10mins to pop the cover... wash, rinse, repeat.... u get the idea?

    40GB was the smallest one i had. actually its way too big for my purposes. nowadays kinda hard to find new <20GB hdd.
    Think I will get something slicely more than 40 G loh.

    Since I only shoot in RAW (6M per file) , if go for tour say for a week or so , 40G is just enough for me only.
    寒冰不能斷流水 枯木亦會再逢春

  13. #1693
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,844
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL
    and you're supposed to use the utility to format the hdd anyway
    according to the manual, it works only for pre-formatted hdd. my 40GB was salvaged from an older laptop.
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed. ― Deeksha Mittal

  14. #1694
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL

    no need so thorough lah .. that's why i didn't get a 40GB ... cos too big is 1 thing ... if data loss .. really
    Like that then get two set each 20 G loh :P
    寒冰不能斷流水 枯木亦會再逢春

  15. #1695
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkForce
    Think I will get something slicely more than 40 G loh.

    Since I only shoot in RAW (6M per file) , if go for tour say for a week or so , 40G is just enough for me only.
    oh yah .. you shoot in raw most of the time ..

  16. #1696
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75
    according to the manual, it works only for pre-formatted hdd. my 40GB was salvaged from an older laptop.
    One of my company director just got one (don't know which brand). It is pre-format and work fine. Then he itchy hands go and format it as NTFS.

    Just now he call me for help to format it back to fat32 but my boss say that is personal issue so I should not help.

    Now I act blur forget to call him back loh. If not I also dare not tell him "My boss say your problem is non-offical so I cannot help you !!! "

    I am just a small fly only lah ...
    寒冰不能斷流水 枯木亦會再逢春

  17. #1697
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by dEthANGeL
    oh yah .. you shoot in raw most of the time ..
    Actually is all the time expect once when the client request to shoot in jpg.
    寒冰不能斷流水 枯木亦會再逢春

  18. #1698
    Moderator nightwolf75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    really MORE diaper changes
    Posts
    17,844
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkForce
    One of my company director just got one (don't know which brand). It is pre-format and work fine. Then he itchy hands go and format it as NTFS.

    Just now he call me for help to format it back to fat32 but my boss say that is personal issue so I should not help.

    Now I act blur forget to call him back loh. If not I also dare not tell him "My boss say your problem is non-offical so I cannot help you !!! "

    I am just a small fly only lah ...
    hahaha...

    one idiotic thing abt windoze is dat u can format from FAT32 to NTFS. BUT there's no way of reversing it once u're done. i had to go and dig out a copy of partition magic 8.0, install into my PC and use it to re-format it to FAT32... took me 1hr+ to jump thru all the hoops to get it to work...
    If Life worked on auto mode then manual mode for photography would have never existed. ― Deeksha Mittal

  19. #1699
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,652

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75
    hahaha...

    one idiotic thing abt windoze is dat u can format from FAT32 to NTFS. BUT there's no way of reversing it once u're done. i had to go and dig out a copy of partition magic 8.0, install into my PC and use it to re-format it to FAT32... took me 1hr+ to jump thru all the hoops to get it to work...
    With the help of a IDE to 2.5" IDE interface converter .... i usually take the hdd out and use gdisk. Saves me a whole lot of hassle.

  20. #1700
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    newbie land
    Posts
    1,971

    Default Re: Sentosa Thread XXII(aka "22") - MOvinG from SyDney To HoNg KoNG!! HapPy ANniVerSa

    Quote Originally Posted by nightwolf75
    hahaha...

    one idiotic thing abt windoze is dat u can format from FAT32 to NTFS. BUT there's no way of reversing it once u're done. i had to go and dig out a copy of partition magic 8.0, install into my PC and use it to re-format it to FAT32... took me 1hr+ to jump thru all the hoops to get it to work...
    Well,

    Later if he come to me persoanlly, I thinking of using DOS fdisk to kill the ntfs partition then use a Win 98 System to format it.

    Hope he don't come loh. He think I too free ...

    Hope they are not CSer too .....
    Last edited by DarkForce; 29th August 2005 at 02:57 PM.
    寒冰不能斷流水 枯木亦會再逢春

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •