Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Need Help - Genuine Fractals

  1. #1

    Default Need Help - Genuine Fractals

    hi all, I need help. Have an image about 2160X2590 and need someone with software like Genuine Fractals to help me extrapolate the file to a larger print size. Anybondy with such a software please pm me or reply below. Help needed urgently. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Planet Nikon
    Posts
    21,905

    Default Re: Need Help - Genuine Fractals

    How large do you want to go?

  3. #3

    Default Re: Need Help - Genuine Fractals

    increase the size using PS by 5% each time...stop till your desired size. I heard the results pretty good.
    DR KOH KHO KING

  4. #4

    Default Re: Need Help - Genuine Fractals

    Quote Originally Posted by GitS
    hi all, I need help. Have an image about 2160X2590 and need someone with software like Genuine Fractals to help me extrapolate the file to a larger print size. Anybondy with such a software please pm me or reply below. Help needed urgently. Thanks!
    There are freeware alternatives. A good one is Irfanview downloadable from the site of the same name. Lanczos, Mitchell and B-spline are the three most useful algorithms in that application from my experience. They each work well with different kinds of pictures depending on the types of texture and detail involved.

    YMWV.
    Last edited by kahheng; 22nd August 2005 at 01:59 PM.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Need Help - Genuine Fractals

    Download a trial version of Qimage and set it to output to file. It can interpolate using all the algorithms Kahheng mentioned as well as several more advanced algorithms such as vector and pyramid which keep artifacts to a minimum. It's inbuilt sharpening algorithm also adapts well to the output size to give you a file ready for print.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Need Help - Genuine Fractals

    Quote Originally Posted by Zerstorer
    Download a trial version of Qimage and set it to output to file. It can interpolate using all the algorithms Kahheng mentioned as well as several more advanced algorithms such as vector and pyramid which keep artifacts to a minimum. It's inbuilt sharpening algorithm also adapts well to the output size to give you a file ready for print.
    That's a very good suggestion.

    BTW, it might sound strange but different software may and do implement the various interpolation algorithms differently though the mathematical formulae used may go by the same names. Different coders tend to add their own tweaks.

    It's best to try out a few apps.

    Qimage is a terrific application, which frankly is worth a lot more than the asking price.
    Last edited by kahheng; 22nd August 2005 at 04:18 PM.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Need Help - Genuine Fractals

    Agree. Since some algorithms do get minor tweaks from time to time as well. Even the photoshop bicubic resampling now has the sharper or smoother option which works pretty well in most cases.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    131

    Default Re: Need Help - Genuine Fractals

    Quote Originally Posted by Kho King
    increase the size using PS by 5% each time...stop till your desired size. I heard the results pretty good.
    Yes Yes Yes... If you have PS, go to Image>Image Size , ensure you have the bi-linear interpolation option enabled and increment the size by 10% (5% is too slow) and repeat as often as is necessary... Does the job Genuine Fractals does and won't cost a penny.!
    Last edited by stroma; 23rd August 2005 at 08:53 AM.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Need Help - Genuine Fractals

    GF printpro is a thing in the past already... As surveyed by me some one year back. Those upsize from photoshop is seemingly sharper, and pixels closer...

    Don't think there a need to use that anymore, cos photoshop is surpassing it.

    Cheers,

    PBS

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Some equitorial, tropical isle
    Posts
    2,398

    Default Re: Need Help - Genuine Fractals

    I second PBS comments. Photoshop does a pretty decent job.
    Try it and be amazed.

  11. #11
    Senior Member sykestang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    studiospace
    Posts
    5,550

    Default Re: Need Help - Genuine Fractals

    Obviously you guys have not use Geniune Fractals PrintPro 4

    I use CS2 and the PrintPro4, blow up images to 120" x 80" from 6MP file. I can tell you CS2 increment blow up by size of 5%-10% cannot come close to the final quality as compared to PrintPro4!

    GitS, if you need help, give me a call 96456423. Else I believe ESPN can be of help also.
    Visit me at my studio: http://www.studiospace.com.sg

  12. #12

    Default Re: Need Help - Genuine Fractals

    Some previous discussions:
    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=12851
    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=32260
    http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthread.php?t=30776
    Take note of post #2 and #7 in the last thread. No wonder I had a sense of Deja Vu reading this.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Need Help - Genuine Fractals

    thabks guys for your replies. really appreciate i. will contact if i need further help.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Need Help - Genuine Fractals

    yeah read an article that compares gen frac with the 5% method and it says that there's really not a big diff at least for the photo tested..
    if you want u can email the photo to me for enlarging..
    i jus did a record macro with enlargement of 3% 5x so each time i press its done 5x as fast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •