Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How Do I Unlock Layers In PS?

  1. #1

    Default How Do I Unlock Layers In PS?

    ok, for eg.

    i had saved my image & wanted to go back to change my font or blending options, how do i go about doing it?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Some equitorial, tropical isle
    Posts
    2,398

    Default Re: How Do I Unlock Layers In PS?

    If you had saved in psd format its layers should still be there.
    Once you save to jpg, the layers are flattened and you are unable to seperate layers.

  3. #3

    Default Re: How Do I Unlock Layers In PS?

    wow, that's fast..thanks

    ok which means if i save in jpg format, there's no way back in unlocking?

    does imagehosting sites accept psd format?

  4. #4
    Senior Member jOhO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,485

    Default Re: How Do I Unlock Layers In PS?

    after saving in jpg the layers are flattened (and locked). but there is still a layer, called the BACKGROUND.

    to unlock that, double click on the name and just rename the layer.

  5. #5

    Default Re: How Do I Unlock Layers In PS?

    Can unlock "background" meh?
    Gallery | Facebook Page Spreading the Good photography.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Bedok North
    Posts
    288

    Default Re: How Do I Unlock Layers In PS?

    Quote Originally Posted by CYRN
    Can unlock "background" meh?
    Just duplicate the Background layer.

  7. #7
    Deregistered satan_18349's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    hell 極樂世&
    Posts
    1,498

    Default Re: How Do I Unlock Layers In PS?

    Quote Originally Posted by CYRN
    Can unlock "background" meh?

    Yes. Double-click on that and press OK...

  8. #8

    Default Re: How Do I Unlock Layers In PS?

    sorry i still don't get it, when i double-click on blackground and stuffs,

    it doesn't say break into the previous layers, only a new layer name.

    is there any way whereby i can see clearly the previous steps. (eg, layer 1 saturation, stroke, etc etc)

  9. #9
    Moderator Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,779

    Default Re: How Do I Unlock Layers In PS?

    Quote Originally Posted by A-Von
    sorry i still don't get it, when i double-click on blackground and stuffs,

    it doesn't say break into the previous layers, only a new layer name.

    is there any way whereby i can see clearly the previous steps. (eg, layer 1 saturation, stroke, etc etc)
    no. it's all gone.
    sigh.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Some equitorial, tropical isle
    Posts
    2,398

    Default Re: How Do I Unlock Layers In PS?

    Quote Originally Posted by A-Von
    sorry i still don't get it, when i double-click on blackground and stuffs,

    it doesn't say break into the previous layers, only a new layer name.

    is there any way whereby i can see clearly the previous steps. (eg, layer 1 saturation, stroke, etc etc)
    No, once you save as jpg it, all the layers are flatten (merge into one).

    The rest who say can unlock background is talking about a different thing. When you open an image, it is by default called a background layer. This background layer is "locked" and you are only allowed limited editing. To "unlock" it you make a copy of it and then edit on that. I think they probably misunderstood your question. Sometimes happens in CS as some folks just tend to write w/o thinking much.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •