Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 34

Thread: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

  1. #1

    Default My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    I was shocked when I received back my roll of Kodak TMAX400 from Fotohub, it turns out that almost all my frames were not exposed at all, except for a tiny small bit in frame two. Sigh. I've examined the shutter unit of my EOS 500, it still opens/closes and does not jam. The 50mm f/1.8 worked fine on my 300D too. This is the third time I've been shooting film with the EOS 500 and the first two rolls of Kodak Gold 200 turned out just fine. So I was wondering what could have caused almost ALL 36 exposures to be totally not exposed?

  2. #2

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    lol

    just try another roll.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,737

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    sounds like the film roller inside is jammed, it stuck at frame number 2 and cannot advance further

  4. #4

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    Ensure you did not set your EOS 500 with -2 exposure compensate accidentally ...
    See my Photo Gallery at the Clubsnap

  5. #5

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    roll back the wasted roll of film and use it to verify if the film roller is indeed jammed

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Serangoon Nth
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    Quote Originally Posted by n0d3
    I was shocked when I received back my roll of Kodak TMAX400 from Fotohub, it turns out that almost all my frames were not exposed at all, except for a tiny small bit in frame two. Sigh. I've examined the shutter unit of my EOS 500, it still opens/closes and does not jam. The 50mm f/1.8 worked fine on my 300D too. This is the third time I've been shooting film with the EOS 500 and the first two rolls of Kodak Gold 200 turned out just fine. So I was wondering what could have caused almost ALL 36 exposures to be totally not exposed?
    When you say underexposed, you mean the print? This is not accurate as it does not tell the full 'story'. Look at the negative, does everyframe has a definate black border? If the negatives looks pale and whitish, it is exposure problem during picture taking. The possiblity of the film wrongly processed is there also.

    T Max has very wide exposure lattitude, up to 5 to 8 stops, so most exposure problems can be recovered during printing stage.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,737

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    He said "unexposed", not "underexposed".

  8. #8
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    24,053
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    forgot to remove the lens cap?
    Mirror did not go up?
    Shutter did not open?

    Just shoot a roll of colour negs in bright sunlight and send for processing to test camera. If another roll comes out unexposed the it's time for the service centre

  9. #9

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Astin
    sounds like the film roller inside is jammed, it stuck at frame number 2 and cannot advance further
    Hmmm, if it was indeed stuck at frame number 2, won't the whole frame be black since I've been exposing it for like 34 times?

    Quote Originally Posted by megaweb
    Ensure you did not set your EOS 500 with -2 exposure compensate accidentally ...
    Nope, I didn't.

    Quote Originally Posted by user111
    roll back the wasted roll of film and use it to verify if the film roller is indeed jammed
    Doesn't seem to be jammed.

    Sigh.

  10. #10

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega
    forgot to remove the lens cap?
    Mirror did not go up?
    Shutter did not open?

    Just shoot a roll of colour negs in bright sunlight and send for processing to test camera. If another roll comes out unexposed the it's time for the service centre
    Ok, will try shooting another roll soon.

  11. #11

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    tmax 400 is a traditional black n white film ... does fotohub knows that they cant use c41 to process?

  12. #12

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    They sell TMAX400 and they're supposed to be quite experienced so I guess they know. So what should happen to negatives in the case if they mess up the processing?

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Western SG
    Posts
    1,537

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    Have the same problem before.

    Open back cover and shoot.
    Use Tv and try 10s see shutter jam or not. (timing out for mine)
    some stain/grease on my shutter so had it changed at Canon Service Centre.

  14. #14
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,467

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    hi n0d3

    pls clearify if your problem is unexpose or under exposed
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  15. #15

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    I believe I said not exposed (unexposed).

    Cheers!

    Quote Originally Posted by n0d3
    I was shocked when I received back my roll of Kodak TMAX400 from Fotohub, it turns out that almost all my frames were not exposed at all, except for a tiny small bit in frame two. Sigh. I've examined the shutter unit of my EOS 500, it still opens/closes and does not jam. The 50mm f/1.8 worked fine on my 300D too. This is the third time I've been shooting film with the EOS 500 and the first two rolls of Kodak Gold 200 turned out just fine. So I was wondering what could have caused almost ALL 36 exposures to be totally not exposed?

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Serangoon Nth
    Posts
    352

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    [QUOTE=n0d3]I believe I said not exposed (unexposed).

    Cheers!



    opps, sorry ! must go for eye check-up - maybe is the effect of using ECF all the time.

    have a great day

    DT

  17. #17

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega
    forgot to remove the lens cap?

    He was using a SLR. Not possible to shoot if the lens cap was not removed.

    For rangefinder - YES! real possibility!

  18. #18

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    My feeling is that the film never advanced.

    I had a similar experience several years ago with my Contax 645. I shot something like 20 rolls. When I developed them, about one third of the films were completely blank! The other 2/3 were completely fine.

    I think it does not matter if the processing was screwed up. There would still be some images. But they were completely blank! Unexposed!

    Later I found out that the problem was the way I put the film back into the film holder. But when shooting, the camera sounded very much like the film advanced. I think if I had looked at the film counter, it would have shown the frame to be at 1!

  19. #19
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    24,053
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    Quote Originally Posted by student
    He was using a SLR. Not possible to shoot if the lens cap was not removed.

    For rangefinder - YES! real possibility!

    sometimes i shoot without looking through the viewfinder
    so it is a possibility yes?
    anyway it is just to lighten things up a bit

  20. #20

    Default Re: My whole roll of film turned out unexposed.

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega
    sometimes i shoot without looking through the viewfinder
    so it is a possibility yes?
    anyway it is just to lighten things up a bit
    OK, just for discussion, and some light-hearted banter!

    Of course, one can always press the shutter in any camera without looking at what you are shooting.

    BUT

    1 Is that a reasonable supposition?
    2 How long will the exposure time be, given the fact that the lens cap is closed and the sensor is not receiving light at all?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •