Thread: Some night shots (gallery updated)

1st 2 shots ... the shop lightings are overexposed

overall , nice shots
    See my Photo Gallery at the Clubsnap

Tom, what lense were you using for the skyline shots. I noticed the problem of converging lines but if you keep the lines straight, the top of the buildings get chopped off. Time to get a shift lens.

Mega: Yup. Actually these night shots were post processed. The original ones have quite big contrast between bright and dark. No way to expose correctly, unless i have small small ND filters to cover those highlights. Level was used in PS. And I did some perspective adjustment for the last shot in this page: http://www.openlens.com/~tomshen/upd...02_21_25.htm#1

Too lazy to adjust all shots, especially those ones taken with my 20mm upwards. To be honest, I found these night shots NOT interesting, keke.

Kid, I am a casual landscape photographer... Can enlighten me what's the function of a shift lens pls? I use 20mm, 50mm and 50-500mm for my night shots.
    Last edited by tomshen; 9th October 2002 at 01:09 PM.

Originally posted by tomshen

Kid, I am a casual landscape photographer... Can enlighten me what's the function of a shift lens pls? I use 20mm, 50mm and 50-500mm for my night shots.
    Oei!!! My name is KIT lah!!

A shift lense would also be useful for landscape. I know what it does but can't really put it in the exact technical terms. Basically, a lense with shift function allows you to align your subject parallel to the film plane, that means having the lines straight. Then you can actually shift the lens up/down/left/right to include the rest of the building(in your case) in the frame. For you, Canon has 3 lenses in the line up. The TSE-24mm, TSE-45mm and the TSE-90mm. They each costs above 2k last time I checked. You could ask for a demostration from Cathay but unfortunately, you probably won't be entertained unless you really want to buy it.