Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: can someone recommend me a camera

  1. #1

    Default can someone recommend me a camera

    Looking for something less than a $1000.
    with manual control which can take night shot of scenary as well as person.

    which model currently is good?
    hopefully something that use Smartmedia and normal AA batteries

    Thanks.
    Last edited by lufu; 13th February 2002 at 09:49 AM.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hougang, SG
    Posts
    1,338

    Default Re: can someone recommend me a camera

    Originally posted by lufu
    Looking for something less than a $1000.
    with manual control which can take night shot of scenary as well as person.

    which model currently is good?
    hopefully something that use Smartmedia and normal AA batteries

    Thanks.
    U got lots of choices...this would require a DC wif manual controls.

    Olympus C-2100uz, 2.1MP, 10x IS zoom ($950)
    Olympus C-3020z, 3.3MP, 3x zoom ($850)
    Olympus C-2040z, 2.1MP, 3x zoom ($750)
    Olympus C-700uz, 2.1MP, 10x zoom ($900)

    All use SM card + AA batts.

  3. #3

    Default

    And oso, don't forget the Fuji's.......

  4. #4

    Default Re: can someone recommend me a camera

    Originally posted by lufu
    Looking for something less than a $1000.
    with manual control which can take night shot of scenary as well as person.

    which model currently is good?
    hopefully something that use Smartmedia and normal AA batteries

    Thanks.
    how cum sm and not cf? juz wondering...

  5. #5

    Default Go for olympus c-2100

    If u're not fussy about getting the latest models, why not go for Olympus C-2100. The price has dropped by half since it's intro in 2000. You can get it for 900+. Its 2MP, 38-380mm lens, takes night shots. My friend bought the latest equivalent, olympus c-700. It sucks bigtime in night shots. Extremely noisy. Its smartmedia based and uses AA batts.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hougang, SG
    Posts
    1,338

    Default Re: Go for olympus c-2100

    Originally posted by maddog
    If u're not fussy about getting the latest models, why not go for Olympus C-2100. The price has dropped by half since it's intro in 2000. You can get it for 900+. Its 2MP, 38-380mm lens, takes night shots. My friend bought the latest equivalent, olympus c-700. It sucks bigtime in night shots. Extremely noisy. Its smartmedia based and uses AA batts.
    Noise in long-exposure pix can be greatly reduced by upgarding the firmware version.....F.O.C by Olympus Singapore if within warranty period.

  7. #7

    Default

    is the Minolta Dimage S404 good? It seems pretty impressive


  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hougang, SG
    Posts
    1,338

    Default

    Originally posted by lufu
    is the Minolta Dimage S404 good? It seems pretty impressive

    See the specs urself at http://www.dimage.minolta.com.

    The lens thought has 4x optical zoom, is slower than competition at F3.0 and it takes only CF type I.

    Maybe u wanna consider other 4.1MP DCs? Such as.....

    1) Olympus C-4040z --> 3x optical zoom, 4.1MP, F1.8 lens, SM, fixed LCD, AA batts, NR feature, remote control, IS0 100 ~ 400, and full manual controls

    2) Canon PowerShot G2 --> 3x optical zoom, 4.1MP, F2.0 lens, CF Type II, swivel LCD, Li-Ion batt, NR feature, remote control, IS0 50 ~ 400, and full manual controls.

    Out of the 2, the Canon is the more popular one wif some handy features, but the Olympus is good too, wif a brighter lens than the Canon.


  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bukit Batok West Avenue 2
    Posts
    1,734

    Default

    Minolta's camera takes only CF... So if you wanna use SM, er... can skip them... Hee hee.....

    P/S: Me not aniti Minolta lah~ Me personally use Minolta... How can condemn my own wife?

  10. #10

    Default

    thanks, seems like Minolta is not a good choice, actually if I don't really need printout and even if I print out, I won't print more than 8R, so will 2MPixel be enough?

    Heard that if you have a 4MPixel camera and you set it to 2Mpixel and take picture, it will turn out better compared to a camera which max at 2Mpixel. True??

  11. #11

    Default

    Thats true to a limited extent. Yes, the pictures are marginally better if u do it that way.

    However, It would be better to take and save it in the highest resoultion and then downsample it using software.

  12. #12

    Default

    I'm selling my 2 weeks old Finepix 6800Z with 256 mb of smartmedia n 2 batteries and all thats included in the box for $1100, its in good condition, no dead pixels... its a gift, and i didn't get to use it much. If u're interested, sms me at 98592470.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    L2TPYSG
    Posts
    4,057

    Default

    2100 update firmware?????????? where? can meh? how call them? how to check firmware? mine is starry starry night all the way beyond 4 secs!
    PM me leh..
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hougang, SG
    Posts
    1,338

    Default

    Originally posted by denizenx
    2100 update firmware?????????? where? can meh? how call them? how to check firmware? mine is starry starry night all the way beyond 4 secs!
    PM me leh..
    Call 1800-OLYMPUS.

    Gotta bring ur DC down to Oly Sg....F.O.C if within warranty, but payable if not.

    Get a EXIF reader program....the program will display all info of the pix.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    L2TPYSG
    Posts
    4,057

    Default

    got my EXIF... what's ur version huh? is it the v352-p73?
    aiyo mine just expired
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hougang, SG
    Posts
    1,338

    Default

    Originally posted by denizenx
    got my EXIF... what's ur version huh? is it the v352-p73?
    aiyo mine just expired
    Same version.

    It seems that the upgarded firmware is a modified version of the existing one......so u won't see any change in version no.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    L2TPYSG
    Posts
    4,057

    Default

    aiyo... hmm just call anyway... hehe... but mine is a new cam anyway... the previous one died in snow...
    "I'm... dreaming... of a wide... angle~
    Just like the ones I used to know~"

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •