Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: nikon d5300 continuous shot in timer mode

  1. #1

    Default nikon d5300 continuous shot in timer mode

    Hi all, i recently bought my first dslr d5300... Im just wondering how to take continuous shots with timer. Tried the setting but like for example 2s timer/3shots, the timer will reset back to 2s after each shot.

    Any setting i can do to make it like "2s timer,shot,shot,shot" instead of "2s timer,shot,2s timer,shot,2timer,shot"?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    81

    Default Re: nikon d5300 continuous shot in timer mode

    need to change the single shot to continuous shot?

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ST4Ever View Post
    need to change the single shot to continuous shot?
    Yeah. Did change the setting to continuous shot but once i set the timer.. The setting overwrites that continuous shot.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    553

    Default Re: nikon d5300 continuous shot in timer mode

    Read the manual.

  5. #5
    Moderator nitewalk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    4,628
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zac999 View Post
    Hi all, i recently bought my first dslr d5300... Im just wondering how to take continuous shots with timer. Tried the setting but like for example 2s timer/3shots, the timer will reset back to 2s after each shot. Any setting i can do to make it like "2s timer,shot,shot,shot" instead of "2s timer,shot,2s timer,shot,2timer,shot"?
    Pardon me for my lack of comprehension, but are you trying to fire off a bracket of 3 shots without remote shutter release hence you want to try using 2s release then allow the camera to fire a series of 3 bracketed shots?

  6. #6

    Default Re: nikon d5300 continuous shot in timer mode

    Quote Originally Posted by Zac999 View Post
    Any setting i can do to make it like "2s timer,shot,shot,shot" instead of "2s timer,shot,2s timer,shot,2timer,shot"?

    Try the "interval timer shooting" setting: http://www.dummies.com/how-to/conten...-nikon-d5.html

  7. #7
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: nikon d5300 continuous shot in timer mode

    I know D5100 and it has interval shooting mode built in, so D5300 should have it too, you can set 3 frames at 2 sec interval, go check out your user manual for details.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  8. #8
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,394

    Default Re: nikon d5300 continuous shot in timer mode

    Quote Originally Posted by kandinsky View Post
    Try the "interval timer shooting" setting: http://www.dummies.com/how-to/conten...-nikon-d5.html
    Clear statement there:
    Autobracketing, high dynamic range (HDR), and multiple-exposure are disabled.
    Which means, TS' idea of using the interval settings won't work.
    Here the Dummy Manual for Autobracketing: http://www.dummies.com/how-to/conten...kon-d5300.html
    If TS wants a 2s delay then this needs to be added as timer: http://www.dummies.com/how-to/conten...kon-d5300.html
    EOS

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nitewalk View Post

    Pardon me for my lack of comprehension, but are you trying to fire off a bracket of 3 shots without remote shutter release hence you want to try using 2s release then allow the camera to fire a series of 3 bracketed shots?
    Yeah. Sorry im really new to photograghy.. Eh like for example me and my friends are at a pool side wantin to take a series of shots when we are jumping into the water. Interval shooting cant be it ya? I want it like 3fps in burst mode. Hmm

  10. #10

    Default Re: nikon d5300 continuous shot in timer mode

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    Clear statement there:

    Which means, TS' idea of using the interval settings won't work.
    It depends, doesn't it? TS did not specify upfront what he/she was trying to achieve, we don't know whether it was just needed for a simple sequence or "Autobracketing, high dynamic range (HDR), or multiple-exposure". So the interval timer setting seems like a suitable option, based on the limited info provided.

  11. #11
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,394

    Default Re: nikon d5300 continuous shot in timer mode

    Quote Originally Posted by Zac999 View Post
    Yeah. Sorry im really new to photograghy.. Eh like for example me and my friends are at a pool side wantin to take a series of shots when we are jumping into the water. Interval shooting cant be it ya? I want it like 3fps in burst mode. Hmm
    This would be a burst shot, not a bracketed shot.
    EOS

  12. #12
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,394

    Default Re: nikon d5300 continuous shot in timer mode

    Quote Originally Posted by kandinsky View Post
    It depends, doesn't it? TS did not specify upfront what he/she was trying to achieve, we don't know whether it was just needed for a simple sequence or "Autobracketing, high dynamic range (HDR), or multiple-exposure". So the interval timer setting seems like a suitable option, based on the limited info provided.
    Right you are I had the word 'bracket' already in mind, although TS didn't state it.
    EOS

  13. #13
    Moderator daredevil123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    lil red dot
    Posts
    21,627
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Higher end models have this feature where u can set up to 9 shots when timer is activated and set the interval between each shot or burst. The ability to set the interval between each shot is not available in the D5xxx series of cameras though.
    Last edited by daredevil123; 23rd September 2014 at 10:24 AM.

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    Clear statement there:

    Which means, TS' idea of using the interval settings won't work.
    Here the Dummy Manual for Autobracketing: http://www.dummies.com/how-to/conten...kon-d5300.html
    If TS wants a 2s delay then this needs to be added as timer: http://www.dummies.com/how-to/conten...kon-d5300.html
    I have read the selftimer settings but still not able to shoot 3fps after the timer ticks off. It just resets after every shot taken.

  15. #15
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: nikon d5300 continuous shot in timer mode

    Get a intervalometer, those made in china is good enough, it can do what you want.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  16. #16

    Default

    Thanks all! I tot i was missing out something or doing it wrong that the cam cant do that 3fps with timer. Problem solved i guess... Thanks again ppl! Cheers

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •