Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Usergroup Discussions > Alternative Photography

Alternative Photography Toy cameras, pinhole, panoramic and other forms of alternative photography.

Old 6th August 2005   #1
stnicholas81

Default U2 Holga - inspired by U2 ipod

As a sucker for all things black & red, My fav colors i decided to go a U2 Holga as inspired by U2 ipod. What do you all thinK? no, its not my orginal idea, i saw colored holga b4 but no red ones so here it goes: with my custom sig on the lens cap. =)

Old 6th August 2005   #2
nightwolf75

cool!

looks like u can start gathering like-mind holga users for a gathering on how to mode the holgas!

btw, ur lubitel arrived yet?
Old 6th August 2005   #3
StreetShooter

It should come with fungus on the lens to give the appearance of a Joshua Tree in the background of every picture you take.
Sponsored Link
Old 6th August 2005   #4
singscott

Dun forget Bono signature must have it.
Old 6th August 2005   #5
stnicholas81

Nevermind bout Bono sig, i got my own on the lens cap liao. But this being my first time doing it, the painting can be improved a lot, haha but i am quite satisfied. got a bit of paint build up ard the area though. The paint i used was called Mr. Hobby. Can get them at all hobby stores like those at Sunshine plaza. SOme shops sell the tamiya paint a bit chepaer but its really up to you, cause the color shades are a bit diff.

Nightwolf-> still waiting for my lubitel =) don't worry, i wont try a similar stunt on it. =D
Old 6th August 2005   #6
nightwolf75

Originally Posted by stnicholas81
Nevermind bout Bono sig, i got my own on the lens cap liao. But this being my first time doing it, the painting can be improved a lot, haha but i am quite satisfied. got a bit of paint build up ard the area though. The paint i used was called Mr. Hobby. Can get them at all hobby stores like those at Sunshine plaza. SOme shops sell the tamiya paint a bit chepaer but its really up to you, cause the color shades are a bit diff.

Nightwolf-> still waiting for my lubitel =) don't worry, i wont try a similar stunt on it. =D

erh... u might not have much space to mod ur lubitel. the body is some wat similar to the holga, just not as much space for u to paint. have fun tho! the lubitel is a very low-cost way to intro u to 6x6 MF photography (short of using a holga!).
Old 6th August 2005   #7
ericp

St Nick's, great idea, but be careful, you may want to seal the paint with a clearcoat. Hobby paints are not usually designed to be "man-handled" on a regular basis, and may come off ... so you may end up with red palms & fingers at some stage.

I may just do mine up bah-zhang style ...
Old 6th August 2005   #8
stnicholas81

never mind la its the fun of it, no pt if the cost of painting it runs more than the cam itself haha. but i had fun painting it.
Old 6th August 2005   #9
ericp

No need to get the expensive hobby clearcoats, just go to any hardware store and get a can for less than $5 ... maybe a "satin" finish will suit the holga better. And you can probably get a silver or gold marker and "sign" on it before sealing with the clearcoat
Old 7th August 2005   #10
nightwolf75

keke... mebbe i shld send my seagull TLR for u to paint over too? dun really like the chinese characters printed on the casing.
Old 7th August 2005   #11
stnicholas81

Originally Posted by nightwolf75
keke... mebbe i shld send my seagull TLR for u to paint over too? dun really like the chinese characters printed on the casing.
get the lomo Red/ Gold ltd edn one =)

Old 7th August 2005   #12
nightwolf75

get the lomo Red/ Gold ltd edn one =)

haha... mine's the black version. din know they have a red one too!
Old 7th August 2005   #13
enivre

I want this!
Old 7th August 2005   #14
nightwolf75

Originally Posted by enivre

I want this!
izn't this wat u are using now? think its the kiev 88, with the eye-level TTL prism??
Old 7th August 2005   #15
stnicholas81

wow is that expensive? ahah tempted to get leh. i saw a black & red hassey in shanghai also, fell madly in love with it.

this is becoming a fancy camera thread, but i LIKE!
Old 8th August 2005   #16
enivre

wow is that expensive? ahah tempted to get leh. i saw a black & red hassey in shanghai also, fell madly in love with it.

this is becoming a fancy camera thread, but i LIKE!
that's no hassey.. that's a hassey-wannabe.. aka Kiev...
Old 8th August 2005   #17
stnicholas81

but good for beginner? after i tired of my incoming lubitel maybe i may want to try smthg serious~! haha
Old 8th August 2005   #18
nightwolf75

but good for beginner? after i tired of my incoming lubitel maybe i may want to try smthg serious~! haha
its not called the Hasselbladski for no good reason...

http://kievaholic.com/mediumformat.html

not a bad hassy replica, if u dun mind russian QC...

if u buy a new one (btw, they have a new kiev88CM kit set), its pretty afforable. just dat once u plus shipment, u might as well buy a used hassy 500CM. so, if u are travelling to US, get it there. or if u got frens there, ask them to ship over?
Old 8th August 2005   #19
stnicholas81

how much is a basic set in US? haha i do have a commercial photog friend in NY. MO with me leh, can save on shipping. haha
Old 8th August 2005   #20
nightwolf75

how much is a basic set in US? haha i do have a commercial photog friend in NY. MO with me leh, can save on shipping. haha
SERIOUS??

keke... its going for USD599 (wonder why the Americans love to have such pricing?) at their kiev camera USA site.
http://www.kievcamera.com/kiev88CM.shtml

wat i love abt this package is dat it comes with 2 backs and a 80mm lens. more than enuf for most purposes. but, as enivre pointed out in his other thread, the QC is a bit dicey. this 88CM is supposed to be the improvement over 88 kit set.

u have to email them to get the specific freight charges for overseas shipping.
Closed Thread