Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 5th August 2005   #1
erictan8888

Default pls help.... need to confirm if this is true of the VR 70-200mm ?

hi,

read this on a website:

"I was not impressed with the image quality of the 70-200 and the lens back-focused on both the D2H and D70 and although the AFS was fast it was not accurate and really seemed to hunt.I was not impressed with the image quality of the 70-200 and the lens back-focused on both the D2H and D70 and although the AFS was fast it was not accurate and really seemed to hunt." (http://www.fredmiranda.com/reviews/s...&cat=28&page=1)

is it really true that this lens got back focus on the D70??????
CP got one lens left.... john 316 has one.... dun know AP got or not...
this lens is really HEAVY !!!!!
VR works like a charm..... wasted did not bring own CF card....
need to see and try the lens again....

pros: fast, VR, build like a tank.... tapered...
cons: COST $$$ and WEIGHT !!!! (wow, still feel the strain in my hand due to weight)

just need to check: does this lens back focus on the D70 and other cameras???
pls advise....
Old 5th August 2005   #2
espn

You will regret if the weight isn't there

No, I've not experienced any that BF on the F80/D70/D100/D1X/D1H/D2X/D2HS/D2H.

I've used up to 6 different sets of the 70-200VRs.
Old 5th August 2005   #3
TMC

He prob got a lemon, if you are afraid of backfocussing, bring a set of batts and do a test when you are buying.
Sponsored Link
Old 5th August 2005   #4
snowspeeder

From the link you provided, the lens has an overall rating of 9.6!!
Isn't that not good enough?

Originally Posted by erictan8888
hi,

read this on a website:

"I was not impressed with the image quality of the 70-200 and the lens back-focused on both the D2H and D70 and although the AFS was fast it was not accurate and really seemed to hunt.I was not impressed with the image quality of the 70-200 and the lens back-focused on both the D2H and D70 and although the AFS was fast it was not accurate and really seemed to hunt." (http://www.fredmiranda.com/reviews/s...&cat=28&page=1)

cons: COST $$$ and WEIGHT !!!! (wow, still feel the strain in my hand due to weight)

pls advise....
Old 6th August 2005   #5
Zerstorer

Back/front focusing is a body issue. All it needs is just some adjustment.
My 85 1.4 and 50 1.4 both front focused initially, after 2 trips to the service centre they managed to get it right.

You don't have to worry about such things as long as you have a warrantied set.
Old 6th August 2005   #6
Adzz

Sometimes, its amazing how just one opinion can affect a person so much, where one should have known of the capability of a 70-200 VR Lens...
Old 6th August 2005   #7
Clown

hi,

read this on a website:

pls advise....
so.... are you planning to buy one?
Old 6th August 2005   #8
jOhO

dun buy lar.. it sux.

*waiting to get hammered*
Old 6th August 2005   #9
simon80

buy and sell it away at half price ..
pm mi ..
Old 6th August 2005   #10
King Tiger

Default Photo of JBD taken by 70-200mm VR F2.8

Hi erictan8888

Please see this link http://forums.clubsnap.org/showthrea...=124881&page=8erictan8888
and decide yourself.
Old 6th August 2005   #11
Soapa1125

AFS 70-200mm is a must have item! if budget wise can get also AFD 80-200!

Must Have!!!
Old 6th August 2005   #12
erictan8888

Originally Posted by Adzz
Sometimes, its amazing how just one opinion can affect a person so much, where one should have known of the capability of a 70-200 VR Lens...

not affect a person so much.... if this was a $300 lens, there would not be so much concern...

but this is a $3000 lens..... and i think you dun buy a $3000 lens every now and then....
sure this warrants for some caution......

wow king tiger: the colours are very beautiful..... hmmm....

thanks for all comments..... very tempted to buy liao....
only concern is still the weight....
if used handheld for 2 hours, dun know the hands can tahan or not. this lens is heavy: 2 KG !!
was thinking if going to use with tripod, then save some $ and get the 80-200mm instead.
hmm.... undecisive...
Old 6th August 2005   #13
Danntbt

not affect a person so much.... if this was a $300 lens, there would not be so much concern...

but this is a $3000 lens..... and i think you dun buy a $3000 lens every now and then....
sure this warrants for some caution......

wow king tiger: the colours are very beautiful..... hmmm....

thanks for all comments..... very tempted to buy liao....
if used handheld for 2 hours, dun know the hands can tahan or not. this lens is heavy: 2 KG !!
was thinking if going to use with tripod, then save some $ and get the 80-200mm instead.
hmm.... undecisive...
...and spend a couple of hundreds u save to buy a CF tripod leg and some more for a magnesium head which still adds up in terms of weight....souundss "LOGICAL".......
Old 6th August 2005   #14
majere2sg

hmm.... undecisive...
It only abt 1.4kg and remove the tripod collar should be a bit lighter. Depends on whether u need VR or not.. If you dun mind bringing a tripod around, get a 80-200mm then. I not used to having any tripod around and also i find it slower to adjust the tripod so I would prefer a lens with image stabiliser..
Old 6th August 2005   #15
erictan8888

my bad....sorry... hee hee... thought 2 kg....
but 1.4kg is very heavy liao....

wonder if they make a lighter lens f2.8 throughout, then no need VR also can...
but i guess wanna have f2.8 throughout and light is "mang mang deng"

the more i think, the more question i have...
one last one:
if attach this lens to D70 body and use the suppliednikon neck strap over neck and walk around, will the neck strap break due to the weight ? or break neck due to weight, ha ha
(dun know the neck strap can tahan this weight or not....)

the last thing you want is to spend $3000 on a lens and the strap break and body plus lens (which is about $5k) drop on the floor.....

pls advise....
Old 6th August 2005   #16
snowspeeder

There's no logical reason why the supplied neck strap will snap (unless someone intends to sabo you by cutting part of it) -- don't let your emotions get in the way of your decision making. 3K is not a small sum, but neither should any amount affect any important decision making process. That's the best way to know that your decision is correct at the end of the day...with no regrets.

Other options for straps would be the Optech strap or the new Neoprene straps which are great for weight reductions and comfort.

Though the lens has VR features, it does not guarantee sharp pics. There can still be camera shakes if your hands are not stable enough. If your hands get tired easily, try a little weight training to strengthen it.

one last one:
if attach this lens to D70 body and use the suppliednikon neck strap over neck and walk around, will the neck strap break due to the weight ? or break neck due to weight, ha ha

the last thing you want is to spend $3000 on a lens and the strap break and body plus lens (which is about $5k) drop on the floor.....

pls advise....
Old 6th August 2005   #17
Luval

use it from a friend before........ dun mind my language.. it DAMN fast.. AFS is so sweet .. not to talk about the bokeh..mann...
Old 6th August 2005   #18
Clown

one last one:

pls advise....
you'll be the first to break the strap cuz of the lens lor..
Old 6th August 2005   #19
espn

don't be like that lah.

I ever mounted the glass on a D100, hang the strap (optech) on my shoulder, walk around normally, the strap didn't give way.

*espn runs from the person who loan him the glass.
Old 6th August 2005   #20
nemesis32

If you think it's too heavy, too costly and you dun need AFS, get the 80-200 AFD then. Half the price and it's actually better value for money.
Closed Thread