Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Before Digital, Beyond 35mm > Medium Format

Medium Format The next step up from 35mm

Old 4th August 2005   #1
nightwolf75

Default anyone tried buying a hassy kit set from ebay?

has anyone tried? cos the prices for a 500CM looks blardy tempting... but they need paypal for transactions. after the recent breach of security in USA, dun really trust the online security on US's side...
Old 4th August 2005   #2
singscott

Why ebay. Where here in clubsnap there a cheap 553 ELX for sale My lai of course
Old 5th August 2005   #3
nightwolf75

Originally Posted by singscott
Why ebay. Where here in clubsnap there a cheap 553 ELX for sale My lai of course
hey, scott!

cannot lah. way too pro and out of budget for me.

OT: mebbe shld organise another MF shoot again...
Sponsored Link
Old 5th August 2005   #4
icarus

Talking

Originally Posted by nightwolf75
hey, scott!

cannot lah. way too pro and out of budget for me.

OT: mebbe shld organise another MF shoot again...
Count me in if there is a MF shoot!
Old 5th August 2005   #5
nightwolf75

Originally Posted by icarus
Count me in if there is a MF shoot!
will think abt it.. need to find some way to shoot something for free. based on the last experience, not a good idea to organise a model shoot cos it takes too long to set up our cameras.
Old 5th August 2005   #6
icarus

Exclamation

will think abt it.. need to find some way to shoot something for free. based on the last experience, not a good idea to organise a model shoot cos it takes too long to set up our cameras.
nw75, got any free models to shoot? I can't wait to do some 6x6 portraits on MF...
Old 5th August 2005   #7
nightwolf75

nw75, got any free models to shoot? I can't wait to do some 6x6 portraits on MF...
free models? heck... if got, tell me! nowadays, very wary of people asking for TFP.

anyway, when u free, PM me? mebbe we can work somthing out?

rite now.. need to set up my paypal and vpost to buy things on ebay...
Old 5th August 2005   #8
icarus

Lightbulb

free models? heck... if got, tell me! nowadays, very wary of people asking for TFP.

anyway, when u free, PM me? mebbe we can work somthing out?

rite now.. need to set up my paypal and vpost to buy things on ebay...
Sure, i will be free after my penang trip..PM u when i get home..

OT: i just got myself 5 boxes of 120 Provia 100F... yummy... can't wait to use them hehe
Old 5th August 2005   #9
nightwolf75

Sure, i will be free after my penang trip..PM u when i get home..

OT: i just got myself 5 boxes of 120 Provia 100F... yummy... can't wait to use them hehe
no sweat.

dang... 120 provia?? u shld get them scanned when u come back!
Old 5th August 2005   #10
icarus

Talking

no sweat.

dang... 120 provia?? u shld get them scanned when u come back!
Nah.. i am not bringing my TLR there... too slow liao hahaa

bringing 35mm provia 100F instead
Old 5th August 2005   #11
singscott

Timing? When the outing going to happen I am keen.
Old 5th August 2005   #12
singscott

Oh by the way pro photo is offering velvia 100F for $6.00 a roll. But expiring at sept.
Old 5th August 2005   #13
icarus

Oh by the way pro photo is offering velvia 100F for $6.00 a roll. But expiring at sept.
Where's Pro Photo? I bought 2 rolls of velvia 100F at $6.60 a couple of weeks back
Old 5th August 2005   #14
icarus

has anyone tried? cos the prices for a 500CM looks blardy tempting... but they need paypal for transactions. after the recent breach of security in USA, dun really trust the online security on US's side...
Me tempted too.. but how safe is it to buy from ebay?
Old 5th August 2005   #15
sabrewolf

I prefer velvia 50 especially for people, give them warm tint, provia 100 tend too be bluish for me.
Old 5th August 2005   #16
singscott

Where's Pro Photo? I bought 2 rolls of velvia 100F at $6.60 a couple of weeks back
Is at plaza singapura unit #04-13
Old 5th August 2005   #17
singscott

Me tempted too.. but how safe is it to buy from ebay?
Really depend on your luck. I have friend who brought 500c with old chrome carl zeiss 80mm lens in very good condition at s$750.00. Then an other one got a mint 503cw kit with a CFi 80mm for only S$1680.00. Then there a unlucky friend got tricked by a china man, paid S$1000.00 for a 120mm marco but got nothing. Then a lot tricks on ebay, one even sent e-mail with ebay logo and the works saying ebay going to close your ebay unless you resigter on the e-mail. Beware it is a scum. Only log on offical ebay web site. Not on e-mail directed web site. This to steal your ebay password and your crebit card information. Check seller rating for inconsistence do alittle resreach go a long way.
Old 5th August 2005   #18
nightwolf75

Really depend on your luck. I have friend who brought 500c with old chrome carl zeiss 80mm lens in very good condition at s$750.00. Then an other one got a mint 503cw kit with a CFi 80mm for only S$1680.00. Then there a unlucky friend got tricked by a china man, paid S$1000.00 for a 120mm marco but got nothing. Then a lot tricks on ebay, one even sent e-mail with ebay logo and the works saying ebay going to close your ebay unless you resigter on the e-mail. Beware it is a scum. Only log on offical ebay web site. Not on e-mail directed web site. This to steal your ebay password and your crebit card information. Check seller rating for inconsistence do alittle resreach go a long way.
thanks, scott, for the advice! i'm currently monitoring a couple of 500 kits on ebay. still have not set up my paypall or vpost account yet.

btw, once icarus comes home and if we really plan for a MF gathering again, will PM u?
Old 5th August 2005   #19
singscott

Keep me inform la
Old 6th August 2005   #20
ericp

... Beware it is a scum. ...
Freudian slip or deliberate ? That's real funny ...

I thought Velvia 100 is the film to go for, not 100F ? Pity I haven't seen 120-sized Astia 100 here, that's very nice for portraits, have used the 35mm version.
Closed Thread