Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > General Discussions > Kopitiam

Notices

Kopitiam Informal, irreverent coffeeshop chat (with limits, of course).

Old 4th August 2005   #1
ParkertR

Default Vacuum Cleaners hazardous to DSLRs!!!

"...do not use a vacuum for the inside of your camera as it generates a lot of static electricity that can damage the internal components of your camera. If you need to use a vacuum to clean the inside of your camera, use a portable battery powered vacuum designed to do this job."

Ok, this has been paraphrased cos i can't find the website i found it on just warning!!! dunno how true is but it's still scary :S
Old 4th August 2005   #2
jsbn

I'm not very sure abt u guys, but I dun think anyone would have the guts to try such a stunt on his $1.7K++++ investment.

Its a lotta money involved to use ur vaccum cleaner to suck the innards ya noe?
Old 4th August 2005   #3
Sjourn

aaaa...... ...I have actually done it a couple of times.....so far so good on my D70. btw, I was using a big vacuum also...really effective on difficult dust.
Old 4th August 2005   #4
jsbn

Originally Posted by Sjourn
aaaa...... ...I have actually done it a couple of times.....so far so good on my D70. btw, I was using a big vacuum also...really effective on difficult dust.

BARIS! HORMAT SENJATA!
*plays fanfare*
*Fighter planes roar overhead*
Old 4th August 2005   #5
Drudkh

Originally Posted by jsbn

BARIS! HORMAT SENJATA!
*plays fanfare*
exaggerated la.
Old 4th August 2005   #6
Sjourn

Originally Posted by jsbn

BARIS! HORMAT SENJATA!
*plays fanfare*

LOL ....in a proverb:"if old one don't go, how new one come....?"

C'mon guys, time to give your cams a good suck (don't think otherwise) with your vacuums....
Old 4th August 2005   #7
yqt

ah ha!! now I know!! when you want to off load your stuff I know which one to stay far far away from
Old 4th August 2005   #8
Halfmoon

Halfmoon make mental note not to buy D 70 from the forum by Sjourn....

Maybe try those car vacuum is better idea right????
Old 4th August 2005   #9
singscott

I knew of a professional photog that use a vacum cleaner on his 1D MKIIs At first I go like wow how come I never think of that. Then I go is it safe? Guess not
Old 5th August 2005   #10
yanyewkay

how vacuum cleaner produce static elect?
Old 5th August 2005   #11
poohbear

Actually like sjourn , gave a vaccum treatment for my cam when got dust in CCD , turns out fine leh .

Pooh's Vaccum treatment cum spa package, only SGD$9.90 , the only spa , your camera will need. haha
Old 5th August 2005   #12
icarus

Originally Posted by poohbear
Pooh's Vaccum treatment cum spa package, only SGD$9.90 , the only spa , your camera will need. haha
Okok give me a Pooh's DSLR spa treatment, got volcanic mud or not? my dslr's body can use some cleaning
Old 5th August 2005   #13
Sjourn

See....I'm not alone in this...Pooh, want to go into business making special cam vacuums anot? heehee.

normally static is a charge stored e.g if a person walking over carpet barefooted will be acculmulating charge and if touches a metal object will release the charge. Best way to discharge before handling electronics is just to hold a metal casing like computer casing.

My cam is still in tip top cond, so when u see in b/s: "D70, spa treated, dustless"
Old 5th August 2005   #14
jsbn

Originally Posted by singscott
I knew of a professional photog that use a vacum cleaner on his 1D MKIIs At first I go like wow how come I never think of that. Then I go is it safe? Guess not
Oh gosh... Another one dat deserves Attention at Arms.
Old 5th August 2005   #15
yanyewkay

wun the vacuum suck out the spoonge and stuff around the mirror box and mirror mechanism with all the spring and stuff.. i think i better not try.. i can live with a bit of dust inside
Old 5th August 2005   #16
Sjourn

U don't shove the whole tube inside la....Leave about 2 inch away from the opening so the suction not too strong....and it's just a 10 sec thing.
Old 5th August 2005   #17
Halfmoon

Originally Posted by poohbear
Actually like sjourn , gave a vaccum treatment for my cam when got dust in CCD , turns out fine leh .

Har??? Camera SPA???? Got aroma one or not??? hahaa......
Old 5th August 2005   #18
kahheng

Originally Posted by ParkertR
"...do not use a vacuum for the inside of your camera as it generates a lot of static electricity that can damage the internal components of your camera. If you need to use a vacuum to clean the inside of your camera, use a portable battery powered vacuum designed to do this job."

Ok, this has been paraphrased cos i can't find the website i found it on just warning!!! dunno how true is but it's still scary :S

They are also hazardous to pet rodents and pet giant hissing roaches.
Old 5th August 2005   #19
Ansel

Originally Posted by yanyewkay
wun the vacuum suck out the spoonge and stuff around the mirror box and mirror mechanism with all the spring and stuff.. i think i better not try.. i can live with a bit of dust inside
If I use my vacuum cleaner, it will prolly suck out the mirror too!

So better don't try!
Old 5th August 2005   #20
jbma

Tried it before. Switched to low power and don't put the nozzle too close to the inside. I don't see any static electricity. Anyway teh hose is all plastic so how to get electricity?
Closed Thread