![]() |
|
|||||||
| Consumers Corner Want to find out or give info on where, how much, how good, what to buy? Here is where you should be. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#1 |
|
|
Does anyone know if one orders stuff from bhphoto, will the goods be subjected to 5% GST on arrival to singapore?
TIA |
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
|
I have bought a few things from them. No GST if below a certain amount.
|
|
|
|
|
#3 | |
|
|
and that amount is S$400.00
|
|
|
|
| Sponsored Link |
|
|
#4 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
|
Hmmm....I thought GST is only chargable by GST registered companies.... Since BHphoto is not a singapore registered company, they are not obligated to collect GST for the Govt, Some countries charge import duty.... But I dun think singapore charge import duty cos whenever i send stuff home, I never need to fill up any tax declaration form. Hope this helps....
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
|
That's not really true... I bought a tokina 12-24 from TMC last mth... almost got charged GST... the lens itself is worth $850. Customs stopped it cause I insured the lens... so the value was stated outside the box... Would have been made to pay 5% GST if they had insisted that the lens was brand new... Luckily TMC kept the receipts and warranty card... so I got away with it... so... I think that any item sent to Sg has the chance of being taxed... whether customs wants to or manages to detect the items is another story... just my 2cents worth... hope that it helps...
|
|
|
|
|
#7 | |
|
|
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 | |
|
|
Londonray: What is TMC? |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
|
well... u can ask them declare as commercial samples
![]()
|
|
#10 |
|
|
>= S$400 and you have to pay GST.
If it is delivered using Singapore post, you just pay the GST. If you use FEDEX, DHL and UPS, you also have to pay an administration fee of S$10 and the GST. From my experience, FEDEX will send you the GST bill one week later and you have to pay them either at their office or through check. Using UPS, you pay the GST bill when they deliver the goods to the courier guy. HTH. |
|
|
|
|
#11 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 | |
|
|
I too bought a lens from TMC, Cost 750$. But they made me pay 45$ GST. (6%), Had to pay the postoffice people before collecting. I guess its your luck. |
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
|
Here's a neat trick if buying used equipment from individuals. If you must declare a value of more than $400 for insurance purposes, ask the seller to include a birthday card in the box wishing you a happy birthday. Works great for getting away with GST free shipments, well, until the customs officer asks for your IC to prove it's your birthday.
|
|
|
|
|
#14 | |
|
|
Wah! Thanks Terence for the tip. Anyway can tell them it is either a very early birthday present or a very belated one. haha ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 | |
|
|
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#16 |
|
|
The limit is $400 for tax free shipments. I've always wondered why can't the first $400 of any package with a value above that amount be deducted prior to calculating GST.
|
|
|
|
|
#17 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#18 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#19 | |
|
|
out of curiousity.... say if you work in HK or some other countries... then you go home for holiday and you bring home D2x, trinity lens and a 200-400mm lens..... and they charge you GST.... like that heavy damage sia.... Den if you go home like once a year got chance kena GST 2 times a not har? Hard to differentiate personal articles or commericial goods leh.... |
|
|
|
|
|
#20 | |
|
|
![]()
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |