Thread: newbie here! wjich compact camera would u choose? and why?

Default newbie here! wjich compact camera would u choose? and why?

Hi there, as my titled, i have do googling for few days about compact camera, but still struggling which one to buy cause is too much to choose. Here are something im interesting in budget below $800.
    Wifi
    HD video
    Size (not bigger than g16)
    Viewfinder
    Build in flash
    Zoom (x10 up?)
    Flexible lcd screens (adjustable)
    Please advice! Thanks in advance!

(Here are something im interested so far)
    Sony rx100 iii
    Lumix LX7
    Lumix GF6
    Lumix GM1
    Sony HX60V
    Canon powershot SX700HS
    Canon powershot G16

If you can do without the flip screen (something which I feel is more essential in bigger cameras than a compact), u can consider the Panasonic LF1.
    hi

Default Re: newbie here! wjich compact camera would u choose? and why?

A couple of points to note.

- Viewfinder, I'm not sure if you are referring to the "small-box" for your eyes to look thru? Some models like Canon PowerShot, the viewfinder is "fake", it's not what you see. when you zoom in and out, the viewfinder still remains the same. It's different from Sony's RX100 series where it's electronic viewfinder.

- 10X zoom. Do you have any reference for what you want to shoot? The main reason being that 10x or 20x zoom don't make any sense. E.g. A lens marked 18mm-200mm is 11x zoom and another lens 150mm-500mm is 3.3x zoom only. At the moment, I'm assuming that the 10x zoom is probably around 24mm - 120mm (~there about)

If you have the budget for Sony RX100 III, I'll just go for that. At the moment, it's still >$800 ( more like ~$1000). Mainly due to the 1 inch sensor (biggest among the P&S class) and tilt screen. But I still find that it's abit expensive for a P&S. Maybe you can check out the RX100 II instead. (I do not know the difference between the mk II and mk III, additional readings required on your own)