Thread: Lighting for videography

Default Lighting for videography

Hi there,

I'm new to videography.. As I'm a guitarist who wishes to video my friends and I, what kind of lighting do I need to achieve the same, clear; bright lighting effects as the video covers from famous YouTubers (Boyce Avenue, Tyler Ward etc.)? Do I need an expensive set-up?

By the way, my room lighting is orange in color, so I definitely need good white lighting.. And I own a normal entry-level DSLR 650D.

I've also came across a few lighting equipment from the marketplace. There is this kind which is like disco light (which emitting white light) but comes in 3s and the other which is wider, big and with light tubes. Which one is preferable? Do I need multiples of them?

Thank you guys
    Appreciated!
    Like an army, falling, one by one by one.

Default Re: Lighting for videography

for this video, the main light is from the singer's left, soft lighting.

and there is a kicker light, or accent light from the singer's right and slightly far back, slightly harder.

you also can tell how the lighting set up from observe how the highlight and shadow fall the pillar behind the singer.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

It is not complicated, you can search for many video lighting set up tutorials in Youtube.

Here is one for you;

btw, you can skip the set up the head/hair light, unless you are posing against dark background.

and also, it is fine to use existing ambient light for budget constrain and convenience, as long it is bright enough, and you don't have to shoot in very high ISO,
    set custom White Balance is a MUST for whatever lightings you use.

Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    It is not complicated, you can search for many video lighting set up tutorials in Youtube.

Here is one for you;

YouTube Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gkUqBJoxZ-I