Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Sony/Konica-Minolta > Konica-Minolta legacy

Konica-Minolta legacy The essentials of imaging. Forum for past Konica-Minolta cameras and equipment.

Old 29th July 2005   #1
Drudkh

Default Konica Minolta 50mm f/1.4

Just got a called from GENO calling from Alan Photo. They have 2 pieces of the above mentioned lens. It has the new name "Konica Minolta" labelled and he said the build is slightly different from the old Minolta. Price at $313 inclusive of GST.

Don.
Old 29th July 2005   #2
deslim27

Originally Posted by Drudkh
Just got a called from GENO calling from Alan Photo. They have 2 pieces of the above mentioned lens. It has the new name "Konica Minolta" labelled and he said the build is slightly different from the old Minolta. Price at $313 inclusive of GST.

Don.
Buy! Buy! Buy!! 313 is cheaper than the Minolta version

Edit: Hmm.. you mean the lens cap is "KM" or the lens labeled as "KM"..
Old 29th July 2005   #3
Pro Image

Don.
The quality should be on par with Canon f1.4 and Nikon f1.4 but at least it's so much cheaper!
Sponsored Link
Old 29th July 2005   #4
Drudkh

Originally Posted by deslim27
Buy! Buy! Buy!! 313 is cheaper than the Minolta version

Edit: Hmm.. you mean the lens cap is "KM" or the lens labeled as "KM"..
not sure, should be everything lor, since now KM release the lenses with "KM" label.
Old 29th July 2005   #5
deslim27

not sure, should be everything lor, since now KM release the lenses with "KM" label.
But those are new lenses mah.. if they so free to change the existing one.. might spend the time to make new models!!
Old 29th July 2005   #6
deslim27

Originally Posted by Pro Image
The quality should be on par with Canon f1.4 and Nikon f1.4 but at least it's so much cheaper!
You got all the samples from N/C/M to compare mah!
Old 29th July 2005   #7
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Originally Posted by deslim27
You got all the samples from N/C/M to compare mah!
hmm i think he got a full range of convertors to test...

body to lens:
Nikon to Minolta
Canon to Minolta
Nikon to Canon
Canon to Nikon
Minolta to Nikon
Minolta to Canon
Old 29th July 2005   #8
GENO

Guys, the lens is new of KM packing. the old version is heavier..more glass?? or its no longer made in japan...to me, it does not look very solid like the old one...but its cheaper..
Old 29th July 2005   #9
TME

As long as it is good enough lor.... but I realise that heavier lenses seem to be made of better glass... I mean is it true that better glass is heavier? Is there is a correlation? Cos those expensive lens are always super heavy (constant aperture notwithstanding)....
Old 29th July 2005   #10
sulhan
Advertiser

Default Hmm....Hybrid?...Plastics and glass?

Originally Posted by GENO
Guys, the lens is new of KM packing. the old version is heavier..more glass?? or its no longer made in japan...to me, it does not look very solid like the old one...but its cheaper..
Well....i think its probably because they use plastic barrels mounting internally instead of metal machined internal barrels...

rgds,
sulhan
Old 29th July 2005   #11
Del_CtrlnoAlt

sekali buy liao, tomorrow they announce a 50mm f1.4 G SSM...
Old 29th July 2005   #12
sulhan
Advertiser

Default Or maybe anew feature...

Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt
Pimple removing lens....50mm f1.4 G SSM+PRM....aiyoh.....
I'll probabaly head to AP straight from airport tomorrow if i want to get it...
no SSM oso nevermind....

rgds,
sulhan
Old 29th July 2005   #13
deslim27

And add $1000 to the price tag?
Old 29th July 2005   #14
GENO

dont think they will come out with that lah...to me , KM will go for the new version 28-70mm/ F2.8 G(D) SSM and 200mm/F4 G(D) marco SSM..
Old 29th July 2005   #15
GENO

Originally Posted by sulhan
Well....i think its probably because they use plastic barrels mounting internally instead of metal machined internal barrels...

rgds,
sulhan
the front of the len's head is diff... i dont like it..looks plastic ..maybe it is...
Old 29th July 2005   #16
sulhan
Advertiser

Default My 50mm f1.7 have been very On the bola (ball)...

Yo bros...

What i feel about the 50mm f1.7.....its been very capable....and been a trustworhty companion...here are a couple of shot from today to share....50mm f1.7 oooh!!!!
i'm loving it!!!

Lately i have been carrying the two primes.....50 + 100.....i find that i think more with primes...ahahah

rgds,
sulhan

__________________________________________________ _________
find me in google.....just type sulhan....hah i made it to the first spot!!!
Old 29th July 2005   #17
GENO

Originally Posted by sulhan
Yo bros...

What i fell about the 50mm f1.7.....its been very capable....and been a trustworhty companion...here are a couple of shot from today to share....50mm f1.7 oooh!!!!
i'm loving it!!!

Lately i have been carrying the two primes.....50 + 100.....i find that i think more with primes...ahahah

rgds,
sulhan

__________________________________________________ _________
find me in google.....just type sulhan....hah i made it to the first spot!!!
u need a 24mm , and the 135 STF ..
Old 30th July 2005   #18
Del_CtrlnoAlt

Sulhan... i suggest u change nick to Optimus PRIME... hehehhee... or u can call Sulhan Prime....
Old 30th July 2005   #19
ileaf

hee hee, now there's only 1 box left!
Old 31st July 2005   #20
GENO

Originally Posted by ileaf
hee hee, now there's only 1 box left!
those who are looking for one, its a good buy...

or if u want to wait a little longer, another shop will be ordering 2 straight from japan..i will keep u all inform when the shipment comes in...